We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Resort Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place is huge. It has a great location right on Kaanapali beach. Close to restaurants and shops via the boardwalk. The room was excellent, with 1 bedroom and 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and living room. All that said, we're just not the big resort kind of people. There are several pools and most of the other vacationers seemed happy to lounge by the pool reading a book. We got an amazing deal through a friend so we can't be too picky, but any place with a 10 story parking garage is too big for us.

Room Tip: The property is a bit of a maze, but I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomlriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

I am a platinum member with Marriott. So my wife and I decided to take advantage of their offer to stay for 6 nights. The property was overall ok. It appears to be an older property, but that in itself doesn't take away from the value. What surprised us was the lack of service there. There is no breakfast service, none, and yes I asked why. They really didn't have a good reason. It was something that they were looking into. I understand this is a timeshare, but really, do you really think that everyone wants to get up in the morning on vacation and cook breakfast? However, the bar was excellent, but they shut down early and you can't get a late night drink. The sales pitch was another story. High pressure and our sales person acted as if we pulled his away from the beach. He was rather insulting at times and I was close to walking out. His manager however was extremely nice, and he certainly smoothed over things with us. In short, the time spent there was good, but it lacks in service. Also, I am tired of having kids even where there was to be adults only. No control over that and I am sorry, but my days for being surrounded by kids are past. Marriot, please tell me why I buy here? There is no return on investment here and there isn't the value you believe it to be. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2travelersTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

As a long time Marriott guest, we apologize for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay with us. We continually evaluate our food and beverage offerings to meet the needs of our owners and thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to speak with you about your vacation and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. We look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The title may be a bit corny, but two weeks prior I was second guessing our decision to stay because of multiple poor reviews. Thank goodness I didn't change my mind. I have learned that when there are poor reviews to really read them thoroughly to really see what the poor review is about. Mostly its about a bad personal experience.

Second time to Maui, first time was at Ritz in Kapalua. Kapalua is beautiful but cloudier, and the Ritz, which is beautiful, is more secluded and located back from beach. This Marriott hotel/area is fun, high energy, and very family friendly.

If you are looking for a hotel with activities, great pools, lawn space, awesome service, great beach, fun bar, full service Starbucks and large condo style rooms this is the perfect family place.
We visited in March for spring break with 4 adults, 2 older teens and 2 twelve year olds.

Overall Resort: Nicely laid out with 2 separate towers. Main pool with water slides, little kids pirate ship. There are also two other pools, one at each tower that are quiet and smaller.
A lot of free activities offered each day for kids and adults. Families with little kids will love the spacious lawn space for them to run around on. Westin two doors down does not have this. Hyatt was very limited.

Rooms: We booked our room through Marriott time share website back in July for one bedroom/2 bath ocean view suite. Rooms are regular rooms that have been turned into a suite with a mini kitchen. (Good size mini fridge, sink, microwave, dishwasher, pots, pans, silverware etc. )Rooms are updated nicely, clean. They are not the Ritz or super modern but very comfortable.
Plenty of room for 4 people. Kids actually thought pull out sofa bed was more comfortable than bed at home. It had a memory foam mattress. Having 2 bathrooms was a huge plus with a teenage daughter!! The mini fridge actually held a lot. We had breakfast and lunch usually in room. We were on the 9th floor in a corner suite that had a huge lanai, plus a lanai off the bedroom. Beautiful view of ocean/mountains. We were in Molokai building.

Beach:
Beautiful beach right next to hotel. Little coral in water in front of hotel but walk down a little and its perfect. We sat in lawn chairs on edge of lawn near walking path as sun hits this area all day. Sat in chairs and watched the whales breaching while having a tropical beverage. Don't get to see and do that everyday! Get towels night before to put on chairs in morning. Yes you do need to get up early to lay out towels in a favorite spot, especially under any umbrella. Sorry but after going on spring break for years, this is something that you need to do at a busy time/resort. You don't like that? Than stay at a smaller resort/private residence. Around 9, I still saw plenty of spots open, just not under umbrellas, or right next to pool. I did not see many people renting umbrellas on the beach.

Restaurants:
There is Longboards (only open at night) Beachwalk which actually had a pretty healthy menu considering its quick. They also have breakfast which had many options. Its a walk up order place, take buzzer, get food and find a table to eat at. Is it cheap? No because again you are in Hawaii at a nice resort. Its less expensive than going to the Westin or Hyatt for a $30 brunch.
Full Service Starbucks that you are able to charge to the room. There are grills and a handy full service kitchen for anyone to use. Beachwalk also sells coffee mugs for a one time fee of $35 which you can refill with unlimited soda/coffee. Starbucks coffee is $2 off?? Not sure about that.

Walking path:
There is a walking path in front of hotel that runs along whole beach from almost downtown Lahaina to the black rock/Whalers village. Its a nice walk. If you are a runner as my friend is, they ran at 6 as the walking path gets crowed around 7-9. You won't get a good run in at that time or go run by golf course.

Activities:
Check your folder you are given at check in for a list of activities going on each day. (Didn't do this right away) There are many free adult group exercises from Zumba to yoga on the beach. Kids activities are fishing from the beach, hula lessons, shaved ice etc. to activities in a large room located in Lanai tower? There is also a room with a couple pool tables, etc. There is also a huge chess board in this area that our kids always look for on our trips.

Pool: Our kids have sort of become pool snobs so I normally don't review the pool area but the Westin 2 doors down is suppose be top 10 on trip advisor. Marriot main pool has 2 slides, plenty or space, volleyball and a nice little kids area with pirate ship. Its laid out nicely to watch little ones except for a back slide. If you want quiet salt water pools try the 2 smaller pools located at each time share building. We looked at Westin pool and honestly was not overly impressed. Too many levels, open areas not secured off properly to grotto below. Even our little pool snobs agreed that they were happy with our pool.

Service:
I know some of the poor reviews I had read were about poor service. I don't know if they got rid of these people or the reviewers were expecting a red carpet and everything perfect. We experienced nothing but helpful, smiling service representatives. No one bugged us about time shares. We went to the Welcome desk and that is where you are asked if you would like to sign up for 90 minute presentation in exchange for $300 off your room bill. I said no as we have done them before but our friends booked a time and that was that. Never got asked or bugged about it. In the welcome packet we received a sheet/card that included deals of a certain percentage off meals or free dessert at area restaurants. We used it when ever we could. That is worth a visit to the welcome desk!
Check in/check out was a breeze.

Concierge : Cherie was incredible!! She gave us awesome recommendations and we booked everything she recommended and were absolutely thrilled with everything!!!! I never did get to meet her in person as we had everything planned before arrival. She even gave me her cell number as their phones were being updated while we were planning. The other concierge we had contact with were also super helpful.

Housekeeping: Awesome job!! If you are renting through Marriott website like us you receive daily upkeep of fresh towels, beds made etc. I was confused about that as a sheet in our room said differently, so ask to make sure. We always tip our housekeeper early week and at end of stay. I promise you it makes a difference!! Our housekeeper was so sweet and thanked us like the poor thing has never been tipped before.
Valet: super nice guys, go with valet for $17 a day compared to $15 a day to self park. Worth every penny.
Pool servers/Pool patrol: Helpful, super nice, checking wristbands to ensure its only Marriott guests at our pool.

Excursions: I'm only going to list and write reviews on their pages.
Whale watching: Teralani sailing Saw a lot of whale activity, boarded right in front of Whalers village.

Horseback riding: Ironwood Ranch. Great trail ride, beautiful views, 90 minute ride was perfect. Friends did sunset ride and loved it

Surf lessons: Highlight of kids trip!! Royal Hawaiian Surf academy which is located at Marriott beyond the Starbucks. The instructor Kilanni (sp?) was amazing with our kids. Go earlier in morning as its less crowded.

Old Lahaina Luau: Stations set up all over on a beautiful location on Front street. Food was great, plenty of drinks included. Note, park in Safeway parking lot and walk over. Service was awesome!!

Front street: A must see to walk around of great shops/restaurants.

Restaurants: Average bill a night for 4 was about $130 no dessert, one drink each. Its a busy time of year, you need reservations unless there are only 2 of you.

Honu--Front street-- Don't let outside fool you. Adorable inside, great food and service

Sangria - Fairway shopping Center, close by. Service was great, braised beef tacos were ok, everyone else loved theirs. Avocado fries were awesome!!!

***Fleetwood on Front street Get ressie at 5:30 on rooftop bar area to watch sunset ceremony. Kids thought ceremony was cool, us adults loved it! Food was awesome Had to leave before 8 as next group of reservations were coming in! This was our favorite night/restaurant !!!

Kimo on front street. Met up with 2 other families from our neighborhood. Food was excellent!!!

Sansei Sushi in Kapalua Told by everyone best sushi on island and they were right!!! Its a small place so make reservations early. I booked ours 2 weeks out

Remember this is Hawaii, and yes its more expensive, know that going there so you don't need to complain about it afterward. Its an island, they can only make and grow so much!!

Room Tip: Research reviews. I requested a higher room and that our two families be in the same building. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank tamjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this property, love the walkway to whaler's village, the pools, and the rooms.
Nice amenities including workout room, spa, and restaurant. Our room had a full kitchen, very nice tvs, and comfortable beds

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful trip with family and friends this February. We were guests of another couple that are members. Understandably, they expected that as platinum members they would be treated as if their business was important.....it was the consensus
of all of us that this was not the case.
Service was adequate--property is quite nice. But as a guest of someone that has invested in their "club". I have one thing to say: save your money!! Just make reservations and stay there as a guest.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank rnmarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our owners are very important to us and we always want to know when we can improve. Our team would be happy to speak with you further and invite you to email our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or call 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this property. Service was outstanding and the beauty of the grounds was incredible. Very beautiful pools and an expansive sandy beach. Great location (near Lahaina but out of the traffic).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth trip to the Marriott Ocean Club. It is by far our favorite place to stay anywhere in Hawaii. This property has something for everyone and is on the best beach in Maui. Pool area is terrific. Attached Starbucks. Restaurants everywhere. Whalers Village shopping a quick walk. Great place to watch for humpbacks from February to April. Very friendly staff. Suites are terrific with a serviceable small kitchen. Gas grills outside on grounds. Terrific fitness center. This is a place to spend an entire week and decompress. The wifi works great so leave your cell in your room. Our high school teenage senior daughters did not want to leave. Just sensational.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We are thrilled to hear Marriott’s Maui Ocean Club is your resort of choice in Hawaii! Our team appreciates your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $425 - $795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing