We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that great of a place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here in mid September with my wife and it was not what I expected. After staying at alot of Marriott's over the years, this is the first one w/o any room service!!! The pool was ok but it was very crowded, with chairs and chaise lounge's right on top of each other. There is only one restaurant on the premise, and it is only open for dinner. So you are on your own for breakfast. We rented their "cabana's" (for $50/day) which are situated a little ways off the pool with a view of the ocean and gave you a little bit of privacy, as opposed to having someone you don't know sitting 24 inches from you, but there were basically just cushioned chaise lounge's.......with these you got 1 server for about the 60 or so chairs, I mean "cabana's, taking drink orders starting at 10am....if the server got back you you by 11am, consider it your lucky day. The location of the hotel was great if you are interested in trying out the local restaurants and shops, which we did and really enjoyed. The beach right in front of the hotel is small and you can't go in the water b/c of the rocks and coral, but we walked a few minutes north on the beach and that was fine, and we were able to swim, snorkel and surf. Our room was good, bedroom and living room with a decent view, however the walls were pretty thin and there seemed to be a nightly 100 yard dash between the children staying at the hotel outside in the hallway. We ended up cutting our stay short and finishing our vacation at a full service resort 20 minutes away, which we very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank silverbullet90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    500
    162
    74
    67
See reviews for
805
696
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early September in the Lahaina Tower. It was beautiful. We had a garden view room but it also had a great view of the ocean. It was nice to sit on the deck and have coffee in the morning and listen to the waves-my favorite part of the day. The room was lovely-everything was clean and new. The building and grounds were immaculate. We had a lock off unit so it only had a mini kitchen with a mini fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot etc. but we made use of the bbq's which were great. We also used the laundry room and it had plenty of washers and dryers. We are ocean swimmers so didn't use the pools though they looked nice. The beach in front of the property isn't that great but we just walked north a bit and it was nice and sandy. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. For a grocery store you would need a car and have to either head a bit north to Honokawai or south to Lahaina. We had a great time and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as close to the water as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susandiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My hubby and I went here for our honeymoon. We stayed courtesy of his parents who own a timeshare here. Our room was a 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a kitchenette and living room. The LR and bedroom had tv's and dvd players. The kitchen had a mini fridge, coffee maker w/ coffee, toaster, microwave and sink. It included dishes and cleaning items. The layout of the room was a bit strange (we were later told the unit was converted from a regular hotel into timeshare suites) but it was so nice having two bathrooms. We did not pay for cleaning, which meant for the entire 7 days we received no cleaning service. The maid did come in once to give us more towels, pick up the used towels and to make the bed (didn't change the sheets). Both shower drains were backing up (maybe from all the sand?) by the 2nd day. Oh, the pillows are horrible! But the unit was very clean when we got there which was great... I'm very particular about this!!! The amentities on site are awesome... a couple pools, lots of lounge chairs, restaurants, excursions team (we booked 2 excursions through them: parasailing, a dinner cruise and they also gave us lots of helpful advice about our trip to Hana and things to do in the area). My husband and I each got a 25 min massage which was $55. NOT worth it! They also offer tennis and scheduled activities. Self parking is free, valet had a reasonable per day charge. Within walking distance there's shopping and restaurants. This was a very relaxing vacation, as there wasn't a lot to do (water sports, shopping, etc). Piece of advice, bring warm clothes! We were both very cold at night due to the wind. I will definitely stay here again but will keep in mind that it's not going to be the most luxurious vacation ever. But it was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaykat4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am an owner at the Marriott in the Lahaina tower, so I spend two weeks a year there. I just returned. The units in the two new towers are great if you get the larger ones with a full kitchen.
The way they built the Lahaina tower, it puts the 10 story parking garage adjacent to the pool. There is a wind tunnel effect, that can make it pretty unpleasant to use that pool. They also located the BBQ's there, next to a parking garage.
The other issue I have is no wifi at the pool. In today's age of devices, it would be nice.
The original market/cafe has been replaced by a Starbucks. They still have the little grill with a limited menu. It would be nice if they offered a real lunch restaurant. It's a 10 minute walk to the Hula Grill, which is great. Avoid the Maui fish and Pasta restaurant, it's terrible.
In an effort to save money, they've reduced the size of the " all you can drink " cups. It's annoying to walk back and get frequent refills.
Lastly, the timeshare/ points sales people seem to run the place, it's overwhelming. Avoid them at all costs. They will try everything to get you to a presentation, including calling you at home weeks before your arrival. The owners update? More sales pressure. The concierge? Try's to get you to a presentation, they get a bonus. It's like one big marketing machine.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lahaina or Napili tower, make sure you get the large unit, not the little side second be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Good govt rates. Very clean and nice.self park is 14 dollars. Time share sales pressure as expected. Studio room smaller than pics on Internet. Small frige.dishes wash in bathroom sink.free laundry room. 4 of 6 washers broken...not good.very quiet and nice beach

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Marriott Ocean Club boasts the highest return rate of its owners, and I can see why- the location is ideal on Kaanapali Beach - beautiful ocean views, access to pools in various location, and the proximity to great amenities along the beachwalk.

My daughter loved the surfing lessons they offered right in front of the property- and of course Starbucks is right there.

Lahaina is a close drive a a real gem - busy of course but the art galleries are inspiring. We were lucky enough to meet Steve Tyler and Mick Fleetwood when His restaurant had its grand opening. It made the already perfect trip that much better!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altagirl214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel is well kept, the pool is kept clean but a little cool, nice bar overlooking the ocean, friendly staff. But the best thing about this place is the great location to go snorkeling right next to black and that is why everyone comes here. We ended up swimming with 4 turtles which was the highlight of the trip and all because of the location next to black rock. Great view to watch the wales if you come at the right time of year. There are definitely some nicer hotels out there with better amenidies but this hotel met our expectations for this trip. I don't think it's a great hotel if you have little kids but for adults or adults with 10 yr + olds it works perfectly. The breakfast buffet was rather expensive $30 per person had all that you would expect but I'm in Hawaii so I'd expect a little Hawaiian flare. Overall I gave it a very good rating, it's probably a little less than very good but much better than average.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakpowermachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Property: Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing