We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best timeshare in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best timeshare in Maui”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club from 06-29-12 to 07-13-12. We have stayed at this resort several times. We have not stayed here in a few years, and were eager to see the renovated suites. We last stayed in Maui at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Villas about two years ago.

We stopped at Walmart after leaving the airport and bought some of our groceries. The Walmart is not a Superwalmart with a full grocery store, so it is somewhat limited in its groceries. It does not have a deli, nor a produce section. It has also "gone green" by not giving out plastic bags. You have to bring your own or buy one of theirs for 50 cents each.

We arrived at MMO around 5:00 pm. Check-in was quick and easy. The first week we had a one bedroom garden view. It was a little tight for my 3 kids ages 9, 6, and 3, but was just fine. We were delighted to see we actually had a nice partial ocean view from our balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains.

The rooms were renovated tastefully. One of the best things was the mattress on the pull-out sofa. I never thought I could actually call one comfortable, but it really was. I have a bad back and need a firm mattress, and it definitely fit the bill, with memory foam to boot!

I was hoping the new renovations would include washer/dryers in the rooms, but was disappointed to see that wasn't the case. However, we found it fairly easy to use those provided by MMO located near the pool. They were free, and starter detergent was provided. Sometimes they were all being used though, and we had to come back.

As far as the resort itself, not much has changed, except for three things: 1) They added a Starbucks on-site and moved the Market Pantry over next to it. I'm not a Starbucks fan, but I'm sure this made many people happy. 2) The lobby-level kids recreational room was re-vamped. Unfortunately, the changes on that were not for the better. I liked the room much better before. All that is in the room now is a pool table,a fuze-ball game, and a ping pong table. All the video/arcarde games were taken out. The carpet has a bad odor of feet to it, which needs to be addressed. The old room had so much more to offer. Needless to say, we didn't spend much time in it. 3) They now have a movie rental kiosk in the lobby. The movies offered are limited and cost about $6.00 per night, but are still a nice addition.

I didn't note any other changes to the resort. The pool for us, is still the major draw. It is the most beautiful pool of any resort I've ever stayed in--with waterfalls, swim-through grottos, waterslides, a pirate ship pool, and multiple hot tubs. The other draw for us is the close proximity of the resort to beautiful Kaanapali Beach. It is about 75 feet away--so close that we would venture back and forth throughout the day. The beach is not very wide, but it is not crowded and absolutely breathtaking. The snorkeling is mediocre at this part of the beach, and it gets rocky about 15 feet into the water, so aqua shoes might be considered.

Our second week at the resort we stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view villa. It was absoutely heaven. The view is one of the best ocean views I've seen, over-looking the pool as well. We loved to get up in the morning and enjoy our breakfast on one of the three balconies.

Nighttime at this resort feels magical to me, with the impecabble landscaping, the lighting, the sounds of the ocean nearby, the waterfalls running at the pool, and music being played from the restaurant at the resort.

After staying here, I would unequivocally give MMO a better rating than the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, due to the better location (closer to the restaurants on Kaanapali beach and Whaler's Village), the better pool, and the closer proximity to the ocean.

We enjoyed Fourth of July fireworks on Kaanapali Beach. The fireworks are actually lit off from Lahaina. They are kind of far away, FYI. What I thought was amazing was that Maui allows people to buy their own fireworks. We bought some at Walmart and lit them off on the beach--something we are prohibited from doing in California.

While here, we went snorkeling at Kapalua Bay in Kapalua, just north of Napili (about a 15-20 min drive from MMO). It is easily the best snorkeling we have found on Maui, and one of the most beautiful beaches as well. I highly recommend it.

One big concern I want to bring up, which I hope Marriott changes soon, is the spacing between the bars both on the balconies and on the guard rail in the hallways. The gap between the railing is so wide, that a toddler could easily fall through and fall to their death. I hope Marriott wakes up and changes this soon, before they have a tragedy on their hands.

Our last day at the resort, a child defecated in the main pool. Unfortunately, this caused the pool to be closed for several hours, but I give the resort credit for their quick response.

The weather was great while we were out there, highs around 84 degrees and partly to mostly sunny most days. It was windy on several of the days.

We can't wait to come back to this resort. It is truly paradise for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cmhrun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    490
    157
    71
    64
See reviews for
766
674
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There was not much to do in this hotel! The check-in staff was friendly and courteous. We stayed in a ocean view one bedroom on the top floor, which had a nice view of the ocean. There were barely any food options that we had to drive to the near by mall to get food every day. I would not stay in Lahaina. Go for Wailea, it is much nicer although slightly upscale.

Room Tip: ocean view one bedroom is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parthu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Uintas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've been going to Maui for years. In the beginning, prior to when it was converted to a time share, we stayed at the Marriott . Having heard less than stellar things about the hotel-to-time- share Marriott conversion, we switched from the Marriott to the Hyatt years ago. However , after experiencing the Marriott Lahaina Tower , we've said adios to the aging , desperately in need of renovation Maui Hyatt. After all, we paid about the same at the Marriott for a near new, 2-bedroom , 2 bath + huge jacuzzi, 3 TV, washer & dryer and fully equipped kitchen space for 8 as we would've paid for a small conventional room for 2 at the Hyatt. It's a no brainer! HOWEVER , be sure to get a room in one of the new "towers", ( Lahaina or Napili), otherwise you might end up in the old part of the Marriott whose reviews caused us to switch to the Hyatt years ago! Of the two new towers, I'd suggest requesting the slightly older , but closer to the beach Lahaina Tower over the further from the parking structure and beach Napili Tower. Our room was a beachfront room. It had HUGE windows with a spectacular unimpeded views of the ocean that almost gave us the impression we were suspended in the air - AWESOME! And of course , the Kaanapaili location can not be beat. The 10am check out is a low point, but after spending a great week at the Marriott , we were hardly bothered ! You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: The parking stalls are minscule- rent small cars, or be skinny ! The parking garage does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What can I say other than this place is a "10!". We have never been to Maui before and are so glad we stayed here at this resort. The 1 bedroom king size bed, 2 full bath with pullout couch was perfect and nicely decorated. The service was impeccable. The pools and beach area were all amazing and the cocktails and bartenders were awesome! We loved the beach and brought our own snorkel gear and snorkeled right at the resort. We could not find one thing wrong with this place at all. We rented a car for a week and enjoyed Whalers village right next door and Lahaina just a few minutes away. We ate at Cilantros Mexican food, Bubba Gump's, Captain Jacks and Kimos and enjoyed it all! We will definately be back and miss it already!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrySargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been staying at the Maui Marriott on Kaanapali Beach since UT first opened as a Marriott Hotel in 1982. We been back almost every year and when the property was converted to timeshare villas we bought a two bedroom three bath ocean front Villa.

Since then the property has added two more towers and now offers facilities up to three bedrooms and a full kitchen. Villas can be rented from Marriott and a less expensive than multiple hotel rooms on the Kaanapali strip. The area is one of the best beaches in the world and activities abound for everyone!

We obviously enjoy are trips as we go year after year and have grown accustomed to the Aloha spirit of the staff. Tip: If you pay a small price to join Redweek.com you can rent a week or two directly from owners and big savings. Read the tips at the site to learn how to safely do that and your have a great place at a price equal to just a hotel room on the beach. The beach is right there at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are nice and the staff are friendly. I'm sure kids would love the pools! The grounds were very nice. Self parking is 14 and valet is 16, so we just went ahead and paid for the valet parking. One morning the valet retrieved our car and the tire was flat, and he assisted us with the changing. Very nice of him! The restaurant was delicious and there's a Starbucks too. There is no room service if that is important to you. Also, VERY nice military discount! I would stay again next time we are in Lahaina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

An amazing resort with a ton to do. Terrific rooms, great pools, and very relaxed atmosphere. Exactly what we were looking for in our trip. You're close enough to walk to all of the great parts of the beach, and to shopping at Whaler's Village.

Only negative was parking and that was only a minor inconvenience. There were only 100 spots in our Tower for self parking. If you didn't get one, you had to park on the other side of the resort and walk. I'm nitpicking on this

Room Tip: You don't need an Ocean Front Room. Ocean View or Mountain View a better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJFamilyofFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Property: Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing