We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant and conveniently-located beach resort with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“pleasant and conveniently-located beach resort with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We came to the Westin after 3 days at a noisy inn on the North Shore. At first we were assigned a ground floor studio which was dark and dank and equipped with a MURPHY bed! Because it is not safe to leave the back door open, we were instructed to keep it closed and locked all the time, and of course it would be practical to close the curtains so passers by on the beach couldn’t look in. We took the chance of asking Larissa at the front desk if it might be possible to move to a higher floor. She said she would look into it and get back to us. We grabbed some snorkeling gear and headed down the beach for a few hours--miles of gorgeous beach. When we returned, there was a voice mail that they’d found a new room for us. When we got to the Reception desk, Larissa gave us a key to a 6th floor room to check out (Room 613), and we knew we wanted it immediately. It was a huge ocean view suite and so high up and private, that we didn’t need air-conditioning. We left the screen door open during the day and night and were blessed with pleasant and mild trade winds the remainer of our time in Maui. What a dream it was to have the ocean waves as the only background noise. The suite had a full kitchen, washing/drying machine, and a decent bathroom. This room was truly our idea of a Hawaiian beach hotel, and we had a fantastic 4 days there. Many many thanks to Larissa and her friendly customer service and can-do attitude. She was always friendly and hospitable, and she helped make our vacation top notch and a very positive experience. All rooms are ocean view with staggered balcony (great idea!), and the facilities are superb: beautiful pool, gorgeous beach –simple with plenty of palm trees. Free towel service, and the parking situation is reliable, too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFliege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    472
    95
    50
    11
See reviews for
431
1,025
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I have no idea how this could have been ranked #1 on TripAdvisor. This has definitely made me question my confidence in TripAdvisor. Our room had disgusting carpeting with bad stains throughout. We had to see 3 rooms before we found one that was clean & sanitary. The pool area is tiny. Pictures posted on the website are deceptive giving the illusion that the resort is much nicer than it really is. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monicat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMarf18, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
The Aston Mahana has a comprehensive unit evaluation program. Units must meet minumum requirements to remain in the Aston rental program. We are committed to provide the unit that best fits our guest's expectations. We have many fully renovated units located right on the ocean. Also ask about our Premium Category to reserve those units that have been completely renovated with upgraded furnishings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Unbelievably close to the ocean! We stayed in #1001- beautifully decorated corner unit. Felt like I was in someone's home (nicer than my own:) Did miss not having a beach right out from hotel-but gorgeous beach just a short walk away. Full kitchen was helpful-did breakfast and lunches in the condo. Small pool- though we did not use it much. Rented boogie boards and snorkel equipment. We would definitely stay here again. Had a good dinner at Kimo's in Lahaina. Recommend "Maui Revealed" travel guide- spot on!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Wow! Was our first response to the incredible view as we entered our condo rental unit at the Mahana. It was like having a front row seat at the I-MAX. Floor to ceiling windows in every unit give you a breathtaking view of the Ocean, which is literally 40-50 feet from the high rise towers of the Mahana. We enjoyed watching the beautiful and ever-changing colors of the surf, sailboats going by, and incredible sunsets. There are much more expensive resorts nearby, which can not offer the kid of beach and ocean views you get at the Mahana. The lobby is nicely decorated and updated, the elevators are fast and efficient, and the pool area is inviting. This is a condo property with no onsite restaurant, but there are great restaurants nearby, including one of our favorites, Duke's Beach House, at the Honua Kai Resort next door. The units are well built to minimize noise transference, and this condo resort seems to attract a quiter crowd. Not alot of small children. We intend to return to the Mahana on our next visit to Maui. Highly reccommend booking through a by-owner vacation rental site, so that you can choose your specific unit. Some of the units have not been refurbished. Since these units were built in the late 1970's, you definetely want one that has been updated. Floors five and above (There are 12 stories) will offer the most spectacular ocean views. We enjoyed the covenient location on Kaanapali Beach, just a short drive from Lahaina Town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Mahana is priced well for what it offers. The property is right on the ocean. Each unit has an eye-popping, expansive view of the turquoise water and nearby islands - Lanai and Molokai. The units are spacious and sparkling clean - each has a large lanai (porch) that gives a front row seat for watching sunsets and dolphins. We are an active family but still loved our "chill" time on the lanai - breakfast, wine at sunset, and dinners. There are clean, new BBQs by the pool that help the wallet when you're feeling motivated to cook. Listening to the ocean at night and having the breeze off the water brought Maui up close and personal. The pool and jacuzzi are small but very pleasant, and never really crowded. The poolside bathrooms were nicer than some of the high end hotels. Adjacent to the east end of the hotel is a nice beach for swimming/sunning. The property has no restaurant or bar, but the nearby glitz hotels are an easy 3 minute walk down the beach. It was refreshing to stay in a smaller property that felt like home yet we were pamepered with daily maid service and.always fresh towels. We can't wait to come back. From the first second we arrived unitl the moment we left, we loved staying at the Mahana. The only down side was the bed in the master bedroom (#608). It's too mushy for anyone with a bad back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We rented our condo (#1204) through VRBO website. The condo was amazing! The view from the bedroom and the living area looked directly out into the ocean. I sat on the lanai every morning and night mesmorized by the view. The unit was completely updated with a full kitchen. We stopped at Walmart near the airport to purchase bottled water, milk, eggs, etc. for our stay. There are two grocery stores near the Mahana, but prices are higher than Walmart.

The beach in front of the Mahana is perfect for snorkling. We snorkeled along the reef and found many fish and a turtle. Our favorite beaches were Napilli and Kapalua. They both had beautiful sand and calm waters. D.K. Fleming was a fun beach for body boarding. Honalua Bay is a black rock beach where many of the snorkling excursions stop at. I suggest getting there early in the morning 8-9 A.M. for a good parking spot. Many people parked on the side of the road and returned to find a ticket, so be careful. All four beaches are just a short drive north of the Mahana.

We also attempted the Road to Hana trip. We only made it to mile marker 32 which ended up being the best place to end the day. Twin Falls at mile marker 2 (beginning of Road to Hana) is a great place to stop and hike to three different waterfalls. You can swim in all three spots. Mile marker 32 has the Waianapanapa State Park. The park has a black rock beach, a lava tube, and a cave you can swim in. Not to mention the view is amazing. My son got car sick from the drive so be cautious.

We went on a snorkel and dolphin adventure to the island of Lanai'i through the Pacific Whale Foundation. There store can be found in Lanai across from the Banyan Tree and marina. I booked our excursion through the Expedia tour operator in the downstairs lobby of the Mahana. It was very reasonably priced and includes light breakfast and lunch.

Overall, the Mahana was a great place for our family. It never felt overcrowded. It was a relaxing and beautiful place to spend our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our first stay at the Mahana. The unit was a two bedroom corner condo with updated accommodations, including very nice bathrooms and kitchen. Great view and right on the water. The location was quiet compared to the hustle around Whaler's Village, but it is close enough to get to those locations. Snorkeling is great right in front of the unit. The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. Aston does a good job of managing their properties and we try to stay with them when we travel. There is no restaurant or gym, but they have arrangements with another managed property a few resorts away to provide those services and bill to your room at the Mahana.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buster1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing