We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Mahana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Mahana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

The hotel is in a nice location and has well sized rooms. The view from your room will be right on the ocean and the sunsets are gorgeous. Please be warned that the beach near the hotel is below par and the area is extremely windy.

The service was above average, but not as friendly as the ResortQuest we stayed at in Oahu. They are still good.

The bathroom was not designed well and needed to be cleaned better. My wife is obsessive about this, but I agreed with her and I am your typical guy. For some reason, we did not sleep as well in this hotel. We think it was related to the pillows, but this is probably different for everybody.

Good hotel, good value, and good location adds up to a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy Greenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    474
    95
    50
    11
See reviews for
431
1,026
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

We stayed at the Mahana in March and were there with over thirty-five of us altogether. After a disasterous trip over (missing luggage at the airport,cars sold out at the airport, getting lost for hours trying to find the place! etc.) When you are looking for the place look for The Mahana not Resort Quest Mahana, which is what we were looking for. We were happy to see oceanfront rooms for everyone. Front desk staff, Karen was very friendly and accomodating when I arrived. I wished we'd have known ahead of time that beach towels are provided. We were impressed with the service from the concierge, Jennifer. The next morning, she was a huge help in retrieving lost luggage from the airport as well as organizing all of us on our excursions etc. We had a big group with a lot of demands and some unhappy people, but Jennifer was very patient, calm and organized. She gave us great tips and saved us some money.
We went to the Luau at the Hyatt - alot more people that we thought but the food and show was pretty good. The Mahana has no restaurant but there are a few nearby - good dinners within a five minute drive at Seahouse, The Plantation Restaurant and WM, a restaurant across the street.
Do:
Whalewatch from your balcony - don't need to pay for a trip.
Molokini Four Winds snorkel in the morning not in the afternoon - our two and three-year olds had fun with lots of other kids on the boat and enjoyed the glass bottom area.
Lanai Sunset Day with Trilogy, the best experience - lots of room on the boat, whales, dolphins and great food!
Breakfast at Grandma’s In Kula on the way to the Tedeshi Winery.
CJ’s Deli nearby for inexpensive great home cooking and burgers!
Horseback Riding at Piiholo Ranch.
Sushi at Sensei Restaurant in Kapalua.
Save shopping for a day in Pai’a or Makawao - colorful little artists towns.
Overall a great experience and we’d definitely come back to the Mahana.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

We stayed at the Mahana for 7 nights. We rented from a private owner, so I'll just be reviewing the hotel. The staff was great, and the grounds were very well kept. The view was out of this world. We usually saw whales every morning. The view out the door to the elevator was great too! The whole place was VERY clean.

The wireless internet was weak though. It didn't work very well. About 50% connection and it would drop you every 5-10 mins. The reception was better by the pool, and it only worked on the balcony. We were on the 10th floor, it might be better on lower floors.

There is beach all the way south to the black rock, and there is a pathway in the back of the black rock to get over to the hotels on the other side. The Mahana is approx 1 1/2 miles from the black rock via the beach. I'm sure during high tide there may be one place you'd have to get your feet wet. Otherwise it is fine. A few runners on the beach. Tried that, and it was fun. The beach is on quite an angle and it was a tough calf workout. :)

The beach in front is unusable due to the reef in the water, but the portions just south and north are great. We only stayed on our beach 2 times our whole trip. Once just south of the mahana, and then another time in front of the Embassy.

Oh, Yoga at Kaanapali shores with Ava on Monday/Fridays at 9am, was great!! She charges $15 for 1 1/2 hours. You can use the gym at Kaanapali Shores for $10 too. It's okay as far as hotel gyms go. I've seen better and worse.

Also, it is VERY easy to get to the other resorts via the beach or the sidewalk. We ate breakfast in the condo watching the whales every morning, but did go to the embassy one day for lunch. Actually had decent food/drinks at the pool side cafe. I had one of the best mahi mahi sandwiches of the trip there. Drinks were good too.

The location was great. We jogged on Lower Honoapiilani. There is a sidewalk for about 2 miles out then you can run on the road. It doesn't have heavy traffic. There is nice shade on the road too. Our best running was on that road.

We really enjoyed our time at The Mahana. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2006

All of the good things that you've read on previous reviews are accurate. I consider myself a well-traveled individual and I would grade the condo as pretty nice. The staff gave me a great feeling about my choice of lodging...Extremely friendly and interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We ended up staying here for our honeymoon due to the flooding on the island of Kauai and I couldn't have been more pleased. It helped that they heavily discounted the rate. Can't say that that will happen to everyone, but it's nice that they did that for us since we already lost out on $1,300 for our accommodations in Kauai.

Some have discounted the quality of restaurants in the area...don't be discouraged. Check out David Paul's and Mala's in Lahaina, the Pineapple Grill in Kapalua Bay and Mama's Fish House in Aina. All of them are a bit spendy except Mala's but they're worth it. If you're up for fish tacos, check out Leilani's in Whaler's village. I'm no connoiseur of fish tacos but these are the best I've had. Not fried.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

While in Maui we stayed one week in Kihei and one week at the Mahana and when we go back we will spend our entire time at the Mahana. There was no comparison in condos and not much more money. The view is beautiful and to watch the whales everyday was something I will never forget. We stayed in 409 - 2br - and way bigger
than our house and way nicer. The kingsize bed was so comfy and to listen to the ocean while in bed was great. We also looked at a 1 br - 1006 which was beautiful - we will definately ask for those rooms next time. The staff were great and we even played night tennis. The pool was nice, the beach was great - nice to go for walks. We brought our 7 month old and she loved it. We would definately recommend the Mahana.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2006

We had reservations at the Mahana from 30 Dec - 2 Jan as part of our honeymoon. The hotel had a policy that reservations during this time must be cancelled by the 23rd. Unfortunately, my husband was hospitalized and it was determined on the 23rd that he could not take the trip. I alerted the Mahana's booking agent by 9:30 a.m. on the 23rd that we need to cancel. They wanted the hospital's verification, which I sent. In spite of these circumstances, they still charged us almost $400, and it took them this long to make that determination. I asked them to reconsider, or at least offer a credit for a future stay, but they refused. Please think twice about a place that does business like this.

Helpful?
28 Thank Out_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

TripAdvisor
I used Tripadvisor.com extensively to make my decision as to where I would stay during my vacation in Maui. What the majority of people have said about the Mahana is very true. The building is very clean and the employees are very pleasant. My wife and I stayed in Studio #1202. This is the top floor and has a spectacular view. The room was very clean and modern looking. Wireless internet access is available to all rooms. The antennas overhang from the roof, so the best reception is from your balcony. Sitting on the balcony with a cup of Maui coffee surfing the net and checking email suited me just fine. Parking is free and they even have a spot with a hose to spray off your rental vehicle before you return it. Everything was awesome. I can't think of any cons. Of course there is a reef in front of the building which prevents you from swimming, but about 120 yards to the left is an awesome sandy beach. Keep walking (to the left)about 1/2 mile until you are in front of the public beach park and you'll find an awesome snorkeling spot.

Buy the book Maui Revealed...it is a great tour guide.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank mauiman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing