We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent View, Location and Convenience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent View, Location and Convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is our third stay at the Mahana and the first booking direct through Aston. While we prefer to select and book directly with an owner, we were not disappointed. We found the front desk staff to be attentive, pleasant and welcoming. Our second-floor unit had a fantastic view—just steps to the water. We are certain, a similarly located room at a major hotel, would be two or three times the price. We really appreciate the convenience of a kitchen and washer/dryer. Add the fact we have room to spread out a bit, and it almost feels like home. Sadly, the décor in the unit screamed ‘rental.’ It really wouldn’t take much to update the artwork, bedspreads and so on. The kitchen, however, was very nice and well-equipped. The housekeeping staff replenished the towels and made the beds daily. This was nice and not something we get when we book a condo directly with an owner. Parking is ample and close. Understand this is not a hotel resort with a fancy pool, shops and restaurants. It is a very nice and comfortable condo building in an excellent location.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor 3 times and love the view and sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for always choosing the Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui and for allowing the staff here at Aston host you. We're thrilled that you found our 24 hour front desk staff to have been pleasant and welcoming and that you enjoyed the comfort of our daily housekeeping services, as well should there ever be a need we have on-site maintenance staff.
We continually work with, and our owners take great pride in, keeping their units updated, clean and comfortable but will definitely follow up on your comments. Of course, the spectacular oceanfront views, fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer are available in every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.
We very much hope you will join us again for your fourth trip to Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    470
    94
    50
    11
See reviews for
425
1,019
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had a standard room on the ninth floor. Great view. Room was nicely decorated, well-furnished, clean, and well-maintained. Kitchen has the necessary utensils, and there were beach chairs in the closet. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Take the orientation on the first day; we got a continental breakfast and won a free ticket to the Drums of the Pacific luau. The concierge is very helpful to give you ideas and book events and tours. We used the barbeque by the pool twice; bought fresh fish at the Times market across the street (for less than half of what a restaurant would charge), grilled it, and watched the sunset as we ate dinner (yes, there is a green flash). The beach in front of the building is pretty rocky, but if you walk to the south end of the property (about 100 yards), you can swim on a nice sand beach. Buy a mask and snorkel and see all the beautiful reef fish. This was our first time on Maui, and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Standard studio room is very good for 2 people. No need to pay extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabberCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for allowing our friendly and helpful staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to make your first time on the beautiful island of Maui a wonderful one.
As you found out every unit here at the Mahana has spectacular oceanfront views of beautiful sunsets, various marinelife and the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. In addition to the fully equipped kitchens in every unit the pool/jacuzzi deck also has the complimentary gas grills you so enjoyed.
We very much hope you can make a second trip to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali where our staff awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our week at this hotel was great. Wraparound views and a cozy beachfront balcony were just perfect. Easy access to great restaurants and a snorkel shop to rent equipment means everything you could want is right there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstormyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. It's the goal of the entire staff here to show you the Aloha Spirit and exceed your expectations and all of our owners as well hope all of our guests feel as you did about your unit, home away from home.
We very much hope you will be back to join us again for the spectacular oceanfront views and all the conveniences of our fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We reserved a Premium one bedroom condo unit at Aston Mahana. When we checked in, we were assigned a unit on the seventh floor. Upon entering the seventh-floor unit, there were 2 large palm trees and the leaves were completely obstructing the 'ocean view.' We're were absolutely 'horrified' since this was not what paid for-- that is, 'ocean front view' implies that we can completely see the ocean, not lots of palm tree leaves blocking the view!

I really think the Aston Mahana should warn customers that some units are 'obstructed-view premium ocean front' so there is no confusion and customers are aware that this is one possible unit they may get.

We immediately called the front desk and asked to look at another premium unit with an ocean front. Ara quickly found us another unit on the 10th floor and it was absolutely stunning and gorgeous!

Thanks Ara for working with us! We appreciate it. The Mahana is a great place to stay in Maui!

Room Tip: Be very careful when you reserve your unit -- be specific about whether there are palm trees which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Traveler_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We're very happy to hear that Ara was able to make sure that all of your expectations were met. We have 125 units, studio, one and two bedroom in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana and all are oceanfront with spectacular views, fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for extra convenience. I'm not aware of any where the swaying palm trees "block" the view but it is always our goal to make sure we show the Aloha Spirit to every guest and make sure they have the best experience possible.
We very much hope you will return again to join us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Mahana is the only place I look to use while visiting Maui. This oceanfront place is so close to the water that when one is sitting on a sofa it feels as one is in the middle of the ocean. We have visited this place the last seven years. The people t the front desk are very kind. The night we got there Rick was so nice to give us a two bedroom room because it was 4 of us since we had requested before a one room 2 bath for a group of 3, but then my nephew joined us so we needed an estra room. Rick took the time to find us that room. The next day Karen showed me another 2 room on the 12th floor and we decided to take it because it was phenomenal.
Thanks to all the Mahana staff and Mr. Brian Cox who manages this place so nice.

We will be looking forward our next visit next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are the best, but save the 12th floor for us when we visit next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauithegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for always choosing to stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. From myself, Rick, Karen and the entire Aston staff we really appreciate your great comments and always look forward to hosting you.
We hope to see you again soon for visit number eight.

Mahalo and take care.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Aston condos are on the beach with a short walk to the sandy shoreline. Our room had ocean views with a huge picture window, 2 balcony's with sliding doors with ocean views. The apartment was easily 750 sq. ft with 1 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. We all agreed the room exceeded our expectations. The amenities are minimal because the condo is full service with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a nice pool and Jacuzzi, poolside snake bar, excursion booking onsite, and FREE PARKING. Our next trip to Hawaii will be at an Aston Resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations with our second to none location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach and the spectacular oceanfront views of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and beautiful sunsets.
As well, it's great that our spacious units, every one from the studio to the one and two bedrooms, all have the same fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer that provided you the convenience of home.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much look forward to hosting and showing you the Aloha Spirit again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Unit 914
Do you want to watch sea turtles without buying an expensive ticket on a boat? From our balcony we watched sea turtles cavorting in the morning and again in the evening. If you want to snorkel, Black Rock Beach is 100 yards away and is reported to be among the best locations in Maui.

This is a beautifully decorated unit, well-equipped, well cared for, and in a location that can’t be beat. It’s no longer possible to build as close to the beach as is The Mahana. Within walking distance there’s a grocery store whose prices beat Safeway, as well as a Snorkel Bob’s and a variety of restaurants and shops.

The west facing, ocean-front property is a spectacular place to start the day with coffee or end the day with a glass of wine. Terrific views of Lana’i and Molokai. The owners sent us in advance super -helpful suggestions of places to see, restaurants to visit and tips for a successful visit. The bed is top-notch. The Mahana staff was helpful. The resort is conveniently located to Lahaina and Ka’anapali and Kapalua, so history, activity, romance, shopping and more are waiting for you to experience.

We highly recommend The Mahana. Can we give it 10 stars?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide in depth comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. All of the owners in the Aston rental program here including unit 914 take great pride in keeping their units up to date and our helpful staff including the 24 hour front desk and on-site daily housekeeping and maintenance strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations by keeping the units clean and comfortable.
As you found out the oceanfront views of various marine life, neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and daily beautiful sunsets are spectacular and the good news is these same views are available from every unit here at the Mahana.
We very much thank you for the "10 star" rating and for your recommendation and all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit when we can host you again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing