We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from 505”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a lovely condo/hotel for a stay in Maui. We are a family of 4 and our unit was a 1 bedroom / 2 bathroom ocean front suite. The view is spectacular and the bed is very comfortable - fold out couch not so comfortable, but not surprising. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the not so great pool and grounds and immediate beach front. The pool is very small - heavily used by guests from very young in age to elderly and it is hard to stay out of each other's way. Of course there is the whole beach front just steps away, so the small pool is not a deal breaker by any means. A few of the neighboring hotels have much more extensive grounds with restaurant(s) and shop(s) along with larger pools. The beach area right in front of the hotel is not great - narrow and sloped and no shade. About a 100 yards away though the beach gets much wider. In general the Ka'anapali area is lovely with lots to do close by. We would definitely come back to this area and would be happy to stay at the Aston Mahana again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and for commenting that you will be back again to stay in one of our comfortable units all of which have the same spectacular oceanfront views. I do believe our more intimate pool area with jacuzzi tub and complimentary gas grills fits the atmosphere of tranquility and privacy our guests aspire to. We are a short distance away from many dining and shopping options but with our second to none oceanfront location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach and fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit our guests enjoy the relaxation of viewing the various marinelife and beautiful sunsets from their private lanais or our lawn area.
We very much look forward to your return visit.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was one of many return visits to Maui and the Mahana & we we were not disappointed. We have visited Maui often since our first trip Christmas of 1965-66. It is always interesting to see the changes. The Mahana is our home of choice while there. It seems to improve each time we visit. It is a true home-away-from- home & a perfect base from which to explore Maui. Quiet, yet in walking distance to shops, the boardwalk and restaurants. The ocean-front units are the perfect venue for whale-watching and gorgeous sunsets. Nice to have a coffee-bar in the facility. Our unit was clean and comfortable and we were very grateful for a second bathroom. The directions for using the movie-viewing x-box seemed incomplete and we were unable to view the movie (which was free) on the one rainy day we had while there. Hope to be visit again soon,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 127dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for always choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and for making us your home away from home. The entire staff is happy to hear you found your unit to be clean and comfortable and that things continue to improve every time you return.
We very much look forward to hosting you again here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapli at our second to none convenient location steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach where every unit has the same spectacular oceanfront views you described.

Until then take care and aloha.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have once again returned home after staying at this resort, and once again Loved every minute. The staff, location, accommodations and experience was just what we wanted and expected again. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a great beach, comfortable beds, friendly staff and relaxing and peaceful get away.

Room Tip: Room 417.. but I hate to tell you, because we want it available again when we go~~ LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobiwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for once again choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're honored that you continue to choose us and excited to hear that our friendly staff allows you to relax and continue to recommend our property to other travellers.
We look forward to seeing you again and will do our best to get you the same unit you prefer but just remember the same specatacular oceanfront views are available from every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo and take care, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our time spent here. The room had everything we wanted, except tongs for the BBQ. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The pillows weren't real flash but if that is the only thing wrong with a room you can live with it. The views are great. We hope the next people to stay in this room enjoy the tongs we have supplied for you!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. We will definitely follow up on your comments regarding the BBQ tools as it was my understanding that they were provided at our complimentary gas grill area next to the pool/jacuzzi. Mahalo for leaving some in the unit anyways though. We're excited to see that we otherwise exceed your expectations and that you found your unit to be clean and comfortable and of course the oceanfront views to be spectacular.
We very much hope you can join us again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I highly recommend Aston Mahana Condo's in Maui. The units are beautiful but the view the the living rooms and balconies is breathe taking. All Units are Oceanfront and just steps from the beach. I have stayed at Mahana many times. Each time I stay I can't wait to return. I have stayed at Mahana many different times of the year my favorite is now February. This past February 2014 is the first time I traveled to Maui to see the Whales. This experience was unbelieveable. I booked two Whale Watching Boat Tours. I saw the most whales from our living room window and balcony. The living room is floor to ceiling window. The view is spectacular anytime of the year. The units are very spacious. The staff at Mahana are wonderful. Very friendly and will do their best to make your stay a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your taking the time to post you comments here, our entire friendly staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is honored to have you return again and again to join us.
We will continue to do our best to exceed your expectations and help you to create lasting memories no matter what time of year you come.

Mahalo for always choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

When we pulled into the area, I thought wow this is nice. That's when it stopped, we opened the door to this tiny room with mirrors. I couldn't find the bed until my husband opened a cabinet and there is was, are you kidding? So I went to the front desk and she gave me a key to an old room, looked like from the 60's.... After talking with some guests, we asked for a room in a newer remodeled floor, Lynne from the Aston said nothing else was available, we booked this place well in advance, you think they may have tried a bit harder or put us in a good room to start with. We only stayed one night, but there was a waste of a day in what should have been paradise....

Room Tip: I would check into The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, you'll be much happier!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N2nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your comments, we do apologize for your disappointment in your unit here at the Mahana. We are a little puzzled with the description of a tiny room as all of our units, whether they be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, are very good size and all come with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer. Our studio units are 540 square feet and every unit has it's own private lanai for where our guests enjoy the spectacular oceanfront views afforded from our property due to our location steps from the beach.
In the Aston rental program all of our units must meet the same high standards and our staff takes great pride in making sure they are clean and comfortable and make every effort to exceed the expectations of all our guests.
We thank you for your comments and hope you were able to otherwise enjoy your time on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I went on our first trip to Maui March 6-13. We decided on Aston Mahana because of the location (all rooms are oceanfront) and the fact that it is a condo so it would have the amenities we were looking for. Check-in was a breeze. Very easy to find hotel. The location is steps away from the ocean. Super market and other shops (rentals) and restaurants are minutes away. Parking was never a problem. Lounge chairs on property is always available. Yes, there is shade to the building most of the day, probably due to the fact it is 12 stories high...but nonetheless finding a sunny area on the grass or on the beach beside it was never an issue. WiFi was included and all the kitchen appliances were up to date. We were upgraded to a premium studio suite and it had everything we needed. We watched the sunset every evening from our balcony. If you want to eat, there is Duke's next door or the condo gives you a coupon to eat at Kaanapali shores if you would like. Honestly, for the price, you cannot beat the value.
Staff were always friendly. They even let us stay by the poolside and gave us towels to shower after we checked out and stuck around for a bit to wait for our flight.
No negatives with this place...can't wait to come back! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Sun_beachlover_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for all of your great comments. All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapli are humbled by your praise of our friendly staff and the great value you received here. It is evident by all of your comments that we achieved our goal of exceeding the expectations and showing the Aloha Spirit to everyone we encounter.
We can't wait to host you again in the near future and treat you to the breathtaking oceanfront views we provide from every unit here.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $309 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing