We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views of the Ocean, Clean, Convenient: A Joy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is a treasure!

We booked through Travelocity after I read through many great Tripadvisor reviews.

Our studio condo had a direct view of the ocean, marble floors and countertops, a full kitchen with stainless steel refrigerator, new microwave, stove, dishwasher and disposal. The two-person shower had recessed lighting, and was separate from the sink area. It had lovely books to read, a sofa and table and chairs both in the kitchen and out on the balcony.

We slept with the screen door open each night to hear the wonderous crashing of the waves at night which was majestic and soothing at once!

Our views of the ocean were the most dramatic and beautiful I've ever experienced (and I've stayed at a lot of hotels and condos with views of the ocean!).

Speaking of noise, we couldn't hear any other people. The soundproofing must be incredible!

Every day, our unit received maid service from the hotel, even though each unit is individually owned.

There's a lovely pool, though staying here, we were just steps from the beach, and walked the length of the beach each morning and evening. Great exercise!

They do have a cafe, but we didn't try it. They also have stainless steel grills all around the resort, which they clean at least 2 times per day, if you want to grill your own meat or fish, and also lovely tables under tropical plants and tiki lamps.

Just walking from the resort, in the magical forest they've created, with the sounds of tropical birds was glorious! We walked from our resort to the health food store (where the farmer's market is held, and where I recommend buying your fresh fruit or a coconut to drink from). Or, to coffee. I highly recommend Java Jazz and Soup Nutz: truly the best coffee on the island, and the kindest service, too! They also have wonderful dinners (try any of their fish entrees!), and breakfasts (try the raspberry cream cheese french toast!).

The service was so-so, (meaning the staff seemed ho-hum), but the cleanliness of the resort also showed their level of attentiveness.

This was a magical experience for us: the honeymoon we never got a chance to take. And, I am so thrilled we found the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for a room above the 2nd floor. Book through Travelocity to receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post such a detailed commentary on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy that we were able to help you to have a magical experience here on the most beautiful island in the world, Maui.
As you found out our second to none location steps away from the quieter end of northern Kaanapli beach enables us to provide absolutely spectacular views from every unit here whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom. Every unit has it's own private lanai from where you can see the various marine life, colorful rainbows and the beautiful sunsets daily as they disappear between the neighboring islands of Molkai and Lanai.
Every unit here as well features a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience in addition to the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi deck.

We will continue to try and get better using our guest's comments and make it our goal to show the Aloha Spirit and exceed the expectations of all we come in contact with.

Mahalo and hope to see you again soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Upon arrival, the condo did not have our reservations and could not find them for about 1/2 hour, we were very worried -- they were not very pleasant at the front desk throughout the process -- finally the manager said "go ahead and give them condo 517". It was a very nice condo with incredible views, everything was very nice, but the front desk was never over friendly or really new about the attractions in the area.

The conceriege (sp?) was not helpful at all -- we ordered a Luau she told us was the best and it turned out they were under construction and it was horrible -- we paid $400 for 3 people for premire seats and they would not give us the better seats and the food was relally bad -- the bathrooms were porta potties behind a bambo wall that was falling down -- I would say that the Westin was the very best!!

All in all we had a great vacation except for those two things.

Room Tip: I would get a condo on at least the 4th floor to be able to take best advantage of gorgeous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sahess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here and we're very sorry to hear of your issues with confusion on your reservation and service at our front desk. We will use your comments to continue training our staff to get better as it is our goal to show the Aloha Sprit to all of our guests and exceed their expectations.
We're very happy to hear though that you found your unit to be very nice and the views to be incredible and that you were still able to have a great vacation here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and on the beautiful island of Maui.

We very much hope you will return and give us another chance to show you everything that the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali has to offer. Please contact me directly.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Well .. our second time around to be in fascinating Maui and staying @ the Mahana is coming to a close .. the weather was fantastic. As for the Mahana we were somewhat disappointed. oh .. to be clear there is no debate that the view you have from your room is beyond unbelievable, but as for the facility we were much less enchanted. The first time we were here the staff was super friendly and inviting .. this time we felt that friendliness and welcoming spirit was lacking.
,It seemed like every time you asked for an extra no matter how little there was a price tag to it.
The "yes" was always followed with the extra dollars it will cost you, the impression that was made on us was that something has changed.. management or something ... the policies enforced were focused on increase revenue.
For example.. they raised their facility fee 50% to $15 a day. That is okay and can be accepted .. but when we were told when trying to get clean pool/beach towels that we needed to wash the ones that we already had. Okay .. wash our own towels?.. I know of no other resort that asks the guest to wash the towels they are provided .. what in the world is the $15 facility fee is for?

We have a strong suggestion for the Mahana management. There are several vendors in Maui that rent water sporting equipment and they will deliver it to the Mahana. For example... you may want to rent a paddle board .. most rental companies give you a 24hr rental period. but staying @ the Mahana created a problem .. they have no area for you to store the equipment during the day or overnight. We personally had to have the rental company return just a few hours later after we received the paddle board to pick up the board due to the fact that we had no place to store .. so the way we look at it we were shorted the 24hrs because of the of no area to store . The only suggestion by the front desk staff was to tie the board to our car and leave it there overnight .. yeah that is a great idea !! ... So management if you are reading this ,create and provide an area that guest will have a place that is safe and secure so one can store such equipment,

As stated earlier .. the view you have from you room is absolutely stunning .. but beyond that this present trip has given us reason to consider another facility to stay at while we visit Maui.

Something has totally changed here ... the overall ambiance is not so inviting as we experienced the last time we were here a year ago.

The pros .. great views ... great snorkeling .. smaller resort so a little quieter ... walking distance to great eateries, grocery market, and casual shopping

The cons ... overall facility needs updating ... the staff needs to improve on customer service and friendliness

Not sure we will stay here again .. we will be looking at other places to stay and weigh the options .. we wish we were still overwhelmed with the Mahana Like we were the first time here .. but something has changed ... and it is not for the better

Room Tip: ask for the 12th floor .. you can hear guest above you .. the 12th floor is the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for having chosen the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali again for your time here on the beautiful and #1 rated island in the world, Maui. We are very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations when it comes to our level of service, it is our goal to show the Aloha Spirit to every guest and exceed all of their expectations.
This is a condominium property, which is the reason every single unit here offers a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer, however it does limit us a bit on what we can offer in the way of storage when it comes to large items such as paddle boards etc. but we will definitely work with the Association here to see if that is a possibility.
On the amenity fee issue, we do charge $15 per day however we hope that we are giving a lot of value as this includes unlimited access to our DVD now kiosk for movies and games (we have Play Station 3 machines in every unit), daily newspaper, use of the in room safe, and the daily replacement of the coffee/tea and laundry detergent. Also our property does not charge for parking or the in room wi-fi access. I do believe there was a misunderstanding as well on the pool towels as we provide a starter set in the unit upon arrival and as with the normal bathroom towels in the interest of protecting the environment we only replace the towels if they are left on the floor or in the tub and leave the towels that are left hanging. The front desk will replace the pool towels should a guest ask.
We are very happy to hear that you of course enjoyed our spectacular oceanfront views, the fully equipped kitchens and convenience of a washer/dryer in the unit.

We very much hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make it right and help you to create fond memories of your time at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. Please don't hesitate to contact me.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 5 days at this resort. The beach in front is no good for swimming but 100 meters along the beach is fine. Panoramic views out to Molokai and Lanai Islands. Sat there and watched dolphins going by. Large rooms and a full kitchen made this place very liveable. Ideal for 2 couples - we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. Very good supermarket at the end of the resort driveway if you need beers, food, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nod442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. Our second to none location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach allows us to provide spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here at the Mahana. While the ocean immediately in front does have a large reef that is why our guests enjoy the sites of so much marine life including the sea turtles that swim there daily. A short stroll in either direction allows for more open swimming should that be desired.
As you did find out in addition to the spectacular views of dolphins and other marine life you see colorful rainbows and absolutely beautiful sunsets right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. Every unit here, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, is good sized and features fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in addition to the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi deck.

We very much hope you will make the return trip from Brisbane back to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali where the entire staff awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit and exceed your expectations.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and not been disappointed. The price you pay this place is a bargain. We stayed in Unit 212 and it had everything we needed. The bed was lush the view amazing and the facilities excellent. The pool area was good. As we deliberately travelled out of season there was plenty of space. The beach is a disappointment but you can walk five minutes and get a better place but I was more than happy with the pool. A supermarket is only a five minute walk and the taxi to town is only $20. The staff were very friendly and the wifi worked brilliantly. I do not have a bad word about this place.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for having chosen the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali once again for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. We're very happy to hear you found the staff to be friendly and your studio oceanfront unit 212 to have exceeded your expectations. Every unit here at the Mahana, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience plus due to our second to none oceanfront location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach, every unit has the same amazing oceanfront views of various marine life, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.

We very much look forward to your third visit here to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed a week in Aston Mahana, location is pretty good, all rooms are waterfront and the view onto the ocean is simply amazing. The decor in our room was slightly dated and the room doesn't feel particularly luxurious, however if you don't want to spend thousands of dollars, it's very comfortable and definitely does the job. A supermarket and several shops are a few minutes away, Lahaina a short car ride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that you found our views to be amazing however we're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations on the unit itself. We do have over 120 units here at the Mahana, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom, all featuring fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's comfort and all of our owners take great pride in keeping them up to very high standards.
Our entire staff hopes you will make a return visit and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and show you the Aloha Spirit.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mahana is truly magical! If you want to have a relaxing time on Maui go to Mahana! We've experienced a lot of different condos on Maui & know that Mahana is the best! You are literally on the ocean! Every single room offers an ocean front view! Crashing waves, relaxing spa & beautiful pool. Enjoy the folks at the incredible out door kitchen! Walk across the street to a local grocery store to bring back something to BBQ. There are no better views than the condos at Mahana!
OK now you must also know the Concierge Service here at Mahana is incredible! Concierge Susan Ramos has booked our many dive trips & zip line excursion. You owe it to yourself to chat with her at 808-661-7771 ext 6356. We met her the first of fourteen days at Mahana. Susan has given us many tips to enjoy our time on Maui & now she feels like a true friend! We've already booked our next trip back to Mahana! :-)

Room Tip: Any room at Mahan is perfect! That's what we love most is the fact that you already know you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicallovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your stay here on the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear that you found the Mahana to be magical and very much agree that Susan and the entire staff here at the Mahana do a great job in showing the Aloha Spirit and exceeding the expectations of all our guests.
Our second to none oceanfront location here steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach gives us the advantage of allowing each and every one of our guests have absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here of various marine life, colorful rainbows and the beautiful sunsets that appear daily with the backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit here also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience plus at the pool/jacuzzi deck we have complimentary gas grills and there's even a coffee cart open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. for various drinks and snacks.
We're thrilled to hear you've already booked your next visit to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo again for the great comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $297 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing