We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced waterfront accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced waterfront accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed a week in Aston Mahana, location is pretty good, all rooms are waterfront and the view onto the ocean is simply amazing. The decor in our room was slightly dated and the room doesn't feel particularly luxurious, however if you don't want to spend thousands of dollars, it's very comfortable and definitely does the job. A supermarket and several shops are a few minutes away, Lahaina a short car ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that you found our views to be amazing however we're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations on the unit itself. We do have over 120 units here at the Mahana, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom, all featuring fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's comfort and all of our owners take great pride in keeping them up to very high standards.
Our entire staff hopes you will make a return visit and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and show you the Aloha Spirit.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    472
    95
    50
    11
See reviews for
431
1,025
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mahana is truly magical! If you want to have a relaxing time on Maui go to Mahana! We've experienced a lot of different condos on Maui & know that Mahana is the best! You are literally on the ocean! Every single room offers an ocean front view! Crashing waves, relaxing spa & beautiful pool. Enjoy the folks at the incredible out door kitchen! Walk across the street to a local grocery store to bring back something to BBQ. There are no better views than the condos at Mahana!
OK now you must also know the Concierge Service here at Mahana is incredible! Concierge Susan Ramos has booked our many dive trips & zip line excursion. You owe it to yourself to chat with her at 808-661-7771 ext 6356. We met her the first of fourteen days at Mahana. Susan has given us many tips to enjoy our time on Maui & now she feels like a true friend! We've already booked our next trip back to Mahana! :-)

Room Tip: Any room at Mahan is perfect! That's what we love most is the fact that you already know you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicallovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your stay here on the beautiful island of Maui. We're thrilled to hear that you found the Mahana to be magical and very much agree that Susan and the entire staff here at the Mahana do a great job in showing the Aloha Spirit and exceeding the expectations of all our guests.
Our second to none oceanfront location here steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach gives us the advantage of allowing each and every one of our guests have absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here of various marine life, colorful rainbows and the beautiful sunsets that appear daily with the backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit here also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience plus at the pool/jacuzzi deck we have complimentary gas grills and there's even a coffee cart open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. for various drinks and snacks.
We're thrilled to hear you've already booked your next visit to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo again for the great comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I were just here on our first trip to Hawaii for our anniversary. The unit was perfect, everything we could possibly need and so much room and CLEAN. We had a full kitchen and washer and dryer which came in so handy. The views of the sunsets from the lanai were amazing. You go to bed every night listening to the waves. Walking on the beach every morning down to Black Rock is so relaxing and watching "Grandpa" the giant sea turtle make an appearance every afternoon around 2 adds to the charm. Dukes is right next door and a grocery store is a 10 minute walk away. Also the bus stop going to Whalers Village (shopping) is only 5 minutes away from the front entrance ($2.00). There is also a beach walk that goes from Whalers Village back to the Mahana (about 30 - 45 minute walk), all on a boardwalk. Everyone at the front desk is very helpful and you have an Expedia agent on duty to book any tours you would like to take. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a lanai that faces the ocean with the most beautiful of sunsets every night. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NannyT05190101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha and a Happy Anniversary from the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled to hear our daily housekeeping and maintenance staff provided you with a clean and comfortable unit. As with every unit here at the Mahana, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom they have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience.
We're also very happy that our friendly and helpful front desk staff made your visit a pleasant one.
We very much look forward to your return visit to see the spectacular oceanfront views of your favorite sea turtle and other marine life, colorful rainbows and of course the beautiful sunsets seen from every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo and again happy Anniversary.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Mahana. This visit was just as much fun as the 1st! The unit was very comfortable and spacious for two people. It's so nice having a washer & dryer in the unit to throw your wet towels and clothes in daily. Our unit and the entire grounds was relaxing and quiet. The Mahana property is very well kept is within easy walking and short driving distance to many places to shop and eat. We enjoyed it all! The very best thing is the VIEW from the lanai or from the floor to ceiing windows in the family room! Gorgeous sunrise and sunset views, views of Lanai and Molokai! And spectacular ocean front views of the incredible Pacific from just yards away! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropiCal303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for always choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we're thrilled to hear you returned and found it even better than your first visit. The entire staff here from our 24 hour front desk to daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance crew are here to show all of our guests the Aloha Spirit and exceed their expectations.
Of course, our absolutely second to none oceanfront location steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach allows us to provide the incredible views you referred to from every single unit here whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom which all have the private lanai and floor to ceiling windows. Every unit here also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer as well as the complimentary gas grill at our pool/jacuzzi deck.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy to hear you'll be back and look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairoa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a gorgeous room on the 3rd floor. Stunning views of the ocean, excellent amenities, modern clean room. Only reason it gets 4 stars is cos the Mahana doesn't have its own restaurant, but you can just stroll down to Dukes next door, so no biggie.

Room Tip: We had room 302. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and we're thrilled you're going to come back again to see us. Stunning views, gorgeous room and excellent amenities, can't thank you enough for those words. The entire staff here works very hard to exceed the expectations of all our guests. Of course the Mahana's second to none oceanfront location steps away from northern Kaanapali beach helps as every single unit here whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has those same stunning oceanfront views of various marine life, colorful rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing daily with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molkai and Lanai.
Yes, it is true we don't have a restaurant on property however every unit here has a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and at our pool/jacuzzi deck we have complimentary gas grills. We also do have a coffee cart in the lobby open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. for various drinks and light meals as well as the fact we are a short walk or drive away from many other shopping or dining options should you be able to tear youself away from the views here.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much look forward to your return visit.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our Maui part of our honeymoon, and when we booked we requested a high level room, and specified we were staying for our honeymoon. We weren't disappointed - we were given a room on level 11 (there's 12 levels) with an incredible view. When we arrived in our room there was also a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine, which was lovely.

We had a studio apartment - we were expecting a tiny little shoe box with a tiny fridge. Instead we had a fully equipped kitchen with a full-sized fridge, and for a "studio apartment" it was huge! The balcony was great, as you could watch the sunset every evening, and we saw sea turtles in the ocean most mornings which was just amazing.

The staff were all very friendly & happy to help, and the hotel pool was great. It's so quiet at night and it was lovely to be able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean.

We were a bit surprised to find how far things are apart in Maui - not like in Waikiki when you can walk downstairs & find loads of different restaurants. You definitely need a car to get around, but as we preferred to have dinners close by without having to travel too far we enjoyed dinner at the Ka'anapali Beach Club (their pizza is amazing!) and also Dukes (can't beat their happy hour prices). There is a supermarket about a 15 minute walk away but if you're buying heavy things (eg alcohol) it can be tricky carrying them back.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we'd love to come back.

Room Tip: Request a high level room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha and congratulations on your recent nuptials from all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're honored that we were a part of your honeymoon and very happy to hear that our friendly and helpful staff was able to exceed all of your expectations. As you found out here at the Mahana we offer the best oceanfront location and spectacular views of various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets from every single unit here on the property whether it be our studio, one bedroom or two bedroom units. As well all of our units are very good sized and feature fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience.
Our comfortable pool/jacuzzi deck also features complimentary gas grills and we are within walking or a short drive away from many shopping and dining options as well.

G'day to you and mahalo for coming to see us all the way from Australia, the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Came here as part of our honeymoon. Finding the place was a bit tricky because the sign just says Mahana and not Aston from what we saw. Apart from that check in was great. Jean was very friendly and helpful and they even gave us a honeymoon gift. They initially gave us a room on a lower floor but we had wanted more privacy and switching was no problem at all.

We loved our oceanview room. The kitchen was well stocked with pots pans and cutlery etc. Bed was comfy. The sunsets were amazing. Dinner on the lanai was awesome. In truth we didnt get to use the facilities like the hot tub or pool because we were so busy doing other stuff but they looked clean and had a great view as well. There was also lots of BBQs for use.

Overall we had a great stay and would come back again.

Room Tip: Oceanviews were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your honeymoon here on the beautiful island of Maui. We do apologize about the sign however here at Aston we don't manage all of the condominium units here at the Mahana so our name is not on the sign. We are glad you found us without too much trouble and that Jean and the rest of the Aston staff here was able to exceed all of your expectations to allow you to have a great stay.
Every unit here has spectacular oceanfront views and also feature fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience. These spectacular oceanfront views are easily seen from the private lanai or floor to ceiling windows in each unit or even from the pool/jacuzzi deck where our complimentary gas grills are located. Yes, the sunsets are amazing, never get tired of them.

We very much hope you can return to see us again here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for anniversaries or just any time you make it back to the best (No Ka Oi) island in the world, Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing