We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved this place! Stayed here with my partner and my son and we loved it! We were here from 27-31 May 2013 and the weather was perfect! The view from the condo is just breathtaking, especially watching the sun set - the condo has floor to ceiling windows so wherever you are, you have a glimpse of the ocean. Situated only 1min drive or maybe 5mins walk from the supermarket, used the kitchen to cook meals to save us from eating out all the time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only 10mins drive to Old Lahaina Town. Would definitely come here again when I return to Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustmama0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here for future guests to see. We're thrilled to hear that you loved the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and found our staff to have been both friendly and helpful.
We are also very excited to hear that you plan on returning again for our amazing views of various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets, the fully equipped kitchens we have in every unit here which does allow our guests to save some money on meals and also our second to none oceanfront location on the northern end of Kaanapali beach which is conveniently located a short walk or drive from a supermarket and many other shopping and dining options.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit the next time you make the journey from Australia to the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo and take care, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights during 6/4~6/9. This is our first time visiting Maui and it's our honeymoon.
It's a wonderful experience to sleep and listen to waves every day and night. I didn't see any other resorts at Kanapali having such great view at room than Aston Mahana.
We cooked everyday which saved us big money. We drink wines at balcony at nights, listening to waves, watching stars all over sky. It's unforgettably romantic.

Next time, we will surly want to stay here again.

Room Tip: For two, premium studio is enough and it's fine. It feels more close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha, all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are honored that we were able to be a part of your honeymoon trip all the way from Taiwan and wish you all the best in your life together.
We believe you absolutely correct in that there is no other place in Maui or possibly anywhere that features the same truly oceanfront views that we feature from every one of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units here at the Mahana. Whether it be from the floor to ceiling windows or from the private lanai in every unit you have the same views of sea turtles, whales during season, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing before the backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
As you also pointed out every unit here in addition to a washer/dryer for added convenience also features a fully equipped kitchen where you can save money by heading to the local store and eating some meals in your unit. There is also the complimentary gas grills down at our pool/jacuzzi deck where many of our guests like cook up some meals as well.
We thank you very much for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and look forward to hosting you and your family in the future for anniversaries and other occasions.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the 10th floor. We had a perfect view of the ocean and the turtles swimming below our window. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean every night. The room was clean and had everything we needed (it does not come with shampoo or conditioner, but we didn't need that). Our room was right near the elevator but we did not hear any sounds from it. It was also nice that he key to the room was a punch code rather than an actual key. One less thing to lose while in the ocean. We loved our stay here and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1003 and it gave us a perfect unobstructed view of the ocean and the great sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulipchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments about the Mahana at Kaanapali. I'm sorry to say that here at Aston we can't take credit for your "perfect stay" but we're very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself on the property and in unit 1003. This unit is not in the Aston rental program however features the same specatacular oceanfront views of various marine life including the sea turtles you saw, rainbows and daily beautiful sunsets with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai that you get from every unit here at the Mahana.
The only difference you receive had you stayed with Aston would be the full service of a 24 hour front desk where you check-in to receive your card keys and also complimentary pool towels, daily housekeeping service which includes all of the amenities of coffee, soap, shampoo/conditioner, laundry soap for the washer/dryer etc.. plus we have on-site maintenance should any issues arise.
We are again thrilled to hear you loved the Mahana at Kaanapali and very much hope you can return again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wonderful 10 day stay at the Mahana in May! We requested an upper floor, but were assigned room 107. On our third day, we looked at another unit on the 7th floor, but stayed on the 1st floor because of the incredibly amazing oceanfront view and walk out access to the pool and beach. Watching the sunset and turtles swimming in the ocean on the lanai, or in lounge chairs in the grassy area in front of our unit was fantastic. Listening to ocean waves inside and outside the condo was very relaxing. The one bedroom condo with floor to ceiling windows was very nice with all the amenities we needed, including a kitchen, washer and dryer, and very comfortable bed. We had some maintenance issues which were resolved as soon as we reported them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub were clean and never crowded.
There is a grocery store, restaurants and farmer’s markets nearby. We enjoyed the 28 mile Haleakala sunrise bike tour, Feast of LeLe luau, exploring Maui, and renting snorkel equipment for $8 at Boss Frog’s or other stores. We went down the boardwalk and snorkeled near Black Rock. The front desk has a code to access the boardwalk. A van tour to Hana was fun, but would drive it next time. The hula pie and fish are good at Dukes, but a bit pricey.
We are already planning our next trip to the Mahana!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyvBasehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and we're thrilled to hear both that you are planning on coming back but also that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. While we hope that our guests don't have any issues we're also very happy to hear that our on-site maintenance staff was able to help you right away so you could enjoy the amazing oceanfront views from your floor to ceiling windows of sunsets and turtles. As you found out because of our second to none oceanfront location just steps from the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach the views are spectacular from every unit at our property no matter what floor you are on.
As well, every one of our units whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom also feature fully equipped kichens and washer/dryers for our guest's convenience in addition to the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area.
We're thrilled to hear you are coming back to see us again and the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to seeing you soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we recently stayed for 4 nights at the aston mahana in kaanapali in maui. this is a condo venue. ours had a separate large bedroom, and living room, dining area with kitchenette. this was more than adequate for our needs. everything was very clean, but the furnishings are in need of updates. there were little rips and other signs of wear in the furniture and dresser drawers were on their last legs. while this was not that big a deal, the owners really should fix it up a bit.

the aston mahana is located along the stretch of beach in kaanapali. you really cant lie on the beach, it's too narrow, but there are very nice lounge chairs on the grass right behind the beach. there is a pool and spa right there as well. you may also take a short walk down to the beach area of any other hotel/condo and put your hotel provided towel down. the beaches of hawaii are all public. the beach is great for walking.

the hotel is easy to get too, convenient to shopping and the town of lahaina, and about 45 minutes to the airport.

there is no restaurant within, but there is a little snack bar that is open from about 8-5, i think. dukes is a short walk away and has great breakfasts (and other meals that we didnt try).

the staff was quite friendly and helpul.

best part was the view. from our 7th floor room it was absolutely spectacular. big pictures windows, unobstructed views of the ocean, large lanai with lounge chair, and table and chairs for 4 - a bottle of wine and a gorgeous sunset helped us recuperate from our 1:30 am adventure going up to haleakala for the sunrise.

i recommend this condo as a good value. it's a bit cheaper than some of the other places nearby, but isnt quite as fancy or well equipped (depends on your needs-it was just fine for us).

Room Tip: for a special experience, even if youre out of the room all day, it's really nice to get up in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whrestlersmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to express your comments here on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled to hear that you found the unit to be very clean and that the entire staff was friendly and helpful. It is always the goal of our entire staff from the 24 hour front desk to our daily housekeeping staff and on-site maintenance crew to exceed the expecations of all our guests.
We're also happy to hear you loved the spectacular oceanfront views provided from your unit via the floor to ceiling windows and private spcacious lanai that along with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer we feature in every unit here, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom.
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with some of the furnishings and will definitely follow up and inspect all of our units on the seventh floor to make sure we work with any of our owners to upgrade their units. Both Aston and all of the owners in our rental program take great pride in providing an upscale, clean and comfortable experience in the unit to all of our guests in addition to the world class oceanfront views we feature from every unit.
We very much hope you will return again very soon and give us another chance to help you build lasting memories of the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pros: Great location. All rooms have great view of the sunset. No need for a sunset tour. Good beach next to the hotel with nice track along the sea shore. Plus the concierge very helpful for activities. Just dont bank on their complimentary breakfast.

Cons: The hotel does lack any restaurant or a bar next to the pool. Even the coffee place is open sporadically. Need to drive to Lahaina or walk to the local taco shack for good meal. So overall not so great for couples but really good for families.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views of sunsets appearing in front of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai in addition to various marine life and almost daily rainbows.
Although as you pointed out we don't have a bar or restaurant on property every unit here whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has fully equipped kitchens in addition to the four complimentary gas grills we feature at our pool/jacuzzi area. There is also a coffee cart on property that is open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. that serves snacks and light breakfast/lunch fare.
Of course, as you also mentioned our second to none oceanfront location on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach is a short walk or drive from many shopping and dining options.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali welcome all of our guests with the Aloha Spirit whether it be single travellers, couples, families or small groups. We will do our best to exceed the expectations of all our guests.

Mahalo again for your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here before and was a little disappointed.....but decided to try it again! Overall, it was a good experience, but I can't give it a higher rating for several reasons. Basically, it is a nice place, but you need to have reasonable expectations as this isn't a 4 or 5 star resort.
There are, though, lots of terrific things about this property:
PROs:
-Very pretty area, quiet
-nice grounds
-nice units
-spectacular views
-beautiful scenic beach
-a few nice dining options within close proximity (ie: Duke's)

CONs:

SMOKING!! -- It's great that smoking is not allowed on MOST of the grounds (Hawaii Laws), HOWEVER, if you intend to use the BBQ grilling facilities and outdoor garden patio tables, be prepared to be enveloped in smoke as this is where the smokers all congregate ALL the time. I don't know what the facility was thinking allowing the cooking area to be a smoking area also. As a result, I wasn't able to utilize and enjoy this outdoor cooking/dining garden area because for health reasons I cannot be around cigarette smoke. I don't know why they don't designate some far removed area as a smoking area if they feel so compelled to accommodate smokers. I wouldn't put the smoking area right by the outdoor cooking/dining area, which is also a lovely garden area, which is also right by a major path into and out of the facility. I was shocked and puzzled by the property's insensitivity to their non-smoking guests.
-very difficult to park at night (not enough spaces when prop is full)
-can't swim at the beach in front of the property with all the coral; you have to walk down to the next property's beach area to swim which is a pain when you're carrying all your beach paraphernalia
-pool area is in shade most of the day
-no beach chairs on the beach - we had to rent chairs elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewEnglandTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments and for coming back to the Mahana for a second time. We're very happy to hear that you returned again due to the spectacular views we have from every unit here due to our second to none oceanfront location which is also conveniently located within a short walk or drive to many other shopping and dining locations. We also believe as you said that all of our units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali are very nice and provide added comfort and convenience for all of our guests with the full kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit.
On your cons side I would like to point out that the area you mentioned is the only designated smoking area on the property and is on the parking lot side of the building. We have installed two gas grills in this area for the convenience of guests who may want to enjoy some cooking while they smoke however we also have four deluxe complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area where smoking is not allowed as with the rest of the property including the beautiful lawn area where we provide plenty of chairs for our guests to enjoy the spectacular oceanfront views.
I have to admit that I had not heard of any problems finding parking at our facility for which there is no charge but will monitor this situation and also had not heard before any complaints on the pool area being in the shade, in fact we have very nice shaded canopies provided at the pool area for the guests who'd like to escape the sun.

We do hope you can return again and enjoy all of the great things we have to offer at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $298 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing