We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of +++, but some - - - - also”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here before and was a little disappointed.....but decided to try it again! Overall, it was a good experience, but I can't give it a higher rating for several reasons. Basically, it is a nice place, but you need to have reasonable expectations as this isn't a 4 or 5 star resort.
There are, though, lots of terrific things about this property:
PROs:
-Very pretty area, quiet
-nice grounds
-nice units
-spectacular views
-beautiful scenic beach
-a few nice dining options within close proximity (ie: Duke's)

CONs:

SMOKING!! -- It's great that smoking is not allowed on MOST of the grounds (Hawaii Laws), HOWEVER, if you intend to use the BBQ grilling facilities and outdoor garden patio tables, be prepared to be enveloped in smoke as this is where the smokers all congregate ALL the time. I don't know what the facility was thinking allowing the cooking area to be a smoking area also. As a result, I wasn't able to utilize and enjoy this outdoor cooking/dining garden area because for health reasons I cannot be around cigarette smoke. I don't know why they don't designate some far removed area as a smoking area if they feel so compelled to accommodate smokers. I wouldn't put the smoking area right by the outdoor cooking/dining area, which is also a lovely garden area, which is also right by a major path into and out of the facility. I was shocked and puzzled by the property's insensitivity to their non-smoking guests.
-very difficult to park at night (not enough spaces when prop is full)
-can't swim at the beach in front of the property with all the coral; you have to walk down to the next property's beach area to swim which is a pain when you're carrying all your beach paraphernalia
-pool area is in shade most of the day
-no beach chairs on the beach - we had to rent chairs elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewEnglandTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments and for coming back to the Mahana for a second time. We're very happy to hear that you returned again due to the spectacular views we have from every unit here due to our second to none oceanfront location which is also conveniently located within a short walk or drive to many other shopping and dining locations. We also believe as you said that all of our units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali are very nice and provide added comfort and convenience for all of our guests with the full kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit.
On your cons side I would like to point out that the area you mentioned is the only designated smoking area on the property and is on the parking lot side of the building. We have installed two gas grills in this area for the convenience of guests who may want to enjoy some cooking while they smoke however we also have four deluxe complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area where smoking is not allowed as with the rest of the property including the beautiful lawn area where we provide plenty of chairs for our guests to enjoy the spectacular oceanfront views.
I have to admit that I had not heard of any problems finding parking at our facility for which there is no charge but will monitor this situation and also had not heard before any complaints on the pool area being in the shade, in fact we have very nice shaded canopies provided at the pool area for the guests who'd like to escape the sun.

We do hope you can return again and enjoy all of the great things we have to offer at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I just returned from a week at the Mahana. We rented a two bed/two bath condo (which I highly recommend because of the corner views.) Check in was easy, the staff was quite friendly. Room was on the 11th floor and had views from three angles (east, south and west). The room was very nicely decorated and although we did not get the deluxe room, it did have granite counter tops. The room also had washer/dryer (with soap), dishwasher (with soap), and dish sink soap. They also provide the usual hotel toiletries in the bathrooms (shampoo, body wash, soap etc). Coffee, filters, sweetener and dry cream in the kitchen and paper towels. Refrig had ice maker. Kitchen also had blender. Beds were very comfortable.

Views are incredible as others have stated. The pool and heated whirlpool were nice and kept clean. There are plenty of beach lounges both around the pool and facing the ocean. Immediately south of the hotel is a boardwalk that winds past Duke's Restaurant. Ask the front desk for the access number thru the gate if you don't want to walk over the sand before accessing it. No swimming immediately in front of the hotel because of the coral, but saw many snorkeling. It does have a small snack bar just inside near the pool for coffee, donuts, hot dogs, hamburgers etc. Very quiet and restful during the day. You do need to lower the front blinds in the living room in the afternoon to block some of the afternoon sun. Was very satisfied with the HVAC, rooms were cool at all times, set at 76 degrees. We booked thru Aston. We saw turtles and spinning dolphins from our balcony. There are two grills in the front with tables under the trees to cook outside, there are also more right near the pool. Housekeeping staff was quick and quiet. You will not be disappointed booking here. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie311_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for such a nice and detailed review of your recent stay. All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be friendly, check-in easy and that the daily housekeeping staff did a great job.
We are very proud of all the things you mentioned from the incredible oceanfront views, the amenities and comfort of the fully equipped kitchens with washer/dryer in every unit and the relaxing pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills and are happy you enjoyed them all.
We thank you very much for taking the time to provide your comments for others to see and can't wait for your next visit.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Maui and we were not disappointed! We were on the top floor and loved every second of it! The lookout to the beach is amazing. I loved that there were nice lounge chairs to use so we could relax in the sun. I will definitely be staying here again if we have the opportunity to visit! The only drawback is if you are looking for a cool swimming pool, not so much. But hey, you have the ocean, who needs a swimming pool? The only other small drawback is there is no restaurant on site. However, they will give you a coupon for a discount at a nearby restaurant that is walking distance. Susan was great to work with at the hotel and she helped us plan and reserved all of our activities that we wanted to do! That took a lot of weight off our shoulders, not trying to coordinate everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to let us know how your stay went at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that you loved your stay, it is the goal of the entire staff here to exceed all of our guest's expecatations. While our pool is not the kind with rock slides and such we believe the pool/jacuzzi area where we have four complimentary gas grills is a very tranquil area where our guests can relax and take in our second to none oceanfront views.
We also do not have a restaurant on property but do have a coffee cart that does light snacks from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. plus the above mentioned complimentary grills and of course the fully equipped kitchens we feature in every unit, studio, once bedroom and two bedroom here at the Aston Mahana.
We're excited to hear that you'll definitely be staying here on your next trip to the beautiful island of Maui and look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit again.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The floor to ceiling windows in these rooms make the oceanfront views remarkable and unlike anything we've previously experienced! We were on a higher floor, so it felt like we were in a suite on a cruise ship. Absolutely positive we'll return!

Room Tip: We prefer higher floors for the view and being able to look out/down on the water to see turtles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascascas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for having chosen the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your stay here on the beautiful island of Maui. As you found out the oceanfront views from every unit here at the Mahana are absolutely amazing. We also hope you enjoyed the Aloha Spirit shown by our staff and the convenience of the full kitchens ans washer dryer we have in every studio, one bedroom and two bedroom unit here.
We hope you can return again soon so that we can exceed all of your expectations and you can of course again see those turtles, the rainbows and beautiful sunsets appearing daily right in front of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.

Take care, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have vacationed here twice with a large family group booking multiple rooms each time. The location is outstanding, it is right on the beach, but not crowded or noisy. The grounds and common areas are kept up quite nicely, and the fact that there is no restaurant or bar on the premises is a plus - keeps the atmosphere peaceful and family-oriented. They have a great pool and large jacuzzi, and lots of nice new barbeques for guest use. The staff is generally very nice and helpful, but I must say the desk personnel could stand some training in multi-tasking. It is not uncommon to stop by the desk for a beach towel and have to wait several minutes while they check in a guest. While many insist you should book a room on a higher floor, I will tell you that it is far more important to know exactly what you're getting with your room. Each room is independently owned, and the management has very little say in the decor or amenities, which vary significantly from room to room. Every room faces the beach, and while higher floors offer broader views up and down the beach, any room can have a great view. Do your homework to find reviews on the exact room you will be staying in. Some owners go all out with the exquisite decor and comfortable beds; others are trying to get by a cheap as possible, and obviously never stay in their own unit. I highly recommend you stock up at Costco near the Kahului airport, and eat as many meals as possible in your room as even the middle of the road sit down restaurants are very pricey.

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford wider views, but lower floors make you feel like you're right on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for all of the great tips you provided to the readers of this site on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. I would like to point out that while your comment on the variety of quality in units on the property is a valid one, all of the units in the Aston rental program here must meet the same high standards. Many of the pictures you'll see on-line of individual units are not for units in the Aston rental program.
That being said every unit here at the Mahana does share the same spectacular oceanfront views that I believe you were spot on when saying this is available from any floor you stay on due to our second to none oceanfront location steps from the beach. Whether you're looking from the nicely kept up grounds, the pool/jacuzzi area with the complimentary gas grills or from any of our units with the floor to ceiling windows and private lanais you are treated to these same daily views of various marine life, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing right in front of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
We're especially happy to hear that you found the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to have been nice and helpful and will definitely work to make sure we're able to pass out the complimentary pool towels at the desk in a more expedient manner.

We very much look forward to you returning again so we can exceed all of your expectations and help you to create more lasting memories of the Mahana and Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Unit 914 at The Mahana! It has a beautiful view of the ocean. We saw beautiful sunsets along with whales, dolphins, turtles, kayaks, and snorkelers from our Lanai. There are all kinds of restaurants along the beach or you can cook right in the condo in a well equipped kitchen. The big windows with glass sliders provide not only a great view but when they are open we could hear the rhythm of the surf below. It was so comforting at night.

We had all the comforts of home in Paradise!
We will be coming back.

Room Tip: We love having a room up high because you have a beautiful view and you can't hear the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to let us know how your stay went in unit 914 here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. The entire staff here and of course the owner of unit 914 are very happy to hear that you loved the unit with all the "comforts of home" and of course the spectacular views that you saw from the floor to ceiling windows and private lanai that are available from every unit here at the Mahana. Our second to none oceanfront location on the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach provides us with these breathtaking oceanfront views where our guests can relax but still head out when they decide to with a short walk or drive to many shopping or dining options when the fully equipped kitchens in their unit or the complimentary gas grills at the pool/jacuzzi are aren't enough.
We very much hope you can return again soon to unit 914 or any of the other units in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana at Kaanapali, our entire staff awaits to help you creat more unforgettable memories of your time here on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Mahana is perhaps my favorite place on earth. There is nothing more exquisite than coming back from a hike to the sun setting with the best view on the island. I particularly love how quiet it is, great not to have a restaurant or bar on site. There are many excellent options for food and shopping within 100 feet, and then the noise stops next door and the Mahana maintains an other worldly relationship with nature. This is a true gem.

Room Tip: All rooms are direct oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLJL778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Aloha and mahalo from all of us at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we are truly humbled by your kind words. We're thrilled to hear of your strong feelings regarding the spectacular views offered from our quiet oceanfront location here on the northern end of Kaanapali beach.
We hope you can return again soon to your "favorite place on earth", all of us who work here feel blessed to be able to live here on the beautiful island of Maui and work at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we love to share this Aloha Spirit with all of our guests.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $308 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing