We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every room with an ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Mahana is in a quiet part of Kaanapali, but very close to the a large supermarket/foodstore.
Yes the rooms are a bit dated, but everything was realy clean and all appliances worked perfectly.

It was realy great to sit on the balcony in the late afternoon and watch the sunset, not being overlooked by any of the other rooms or condos.

All staff we met were pleasant and friendly. The only thing it lacked was a restaurant. The pool is a bit small, but with the ocean 10 yards from the pool ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top, the unobstructed views over the top of the trees was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for coming to visit us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali all the way from the UK. We're thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be both pleasant and friendly as that is what we strive for every day.
We apologize if you found your unit to be a bit dated which is a surprise to us as we require every unit in the Aston rental program to meet very high standards but will continue to make sure all of our units exceed the expectations of every guest.
We completely agree that our location on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach provides a place to relax yet is conveniently located to many shopping and dining options. Our pool/jacuzzi area features complimentary gas grills and of course all of our clean and comfortable units have both fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers for our guests convenience.
We very much hope you can make the trip across the Atlantic again to see us in the near future.

Mahalo again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had an amazing trip to Maui. Our unit at the Aston Mahana couldn't have been better. When you walk in your door, It feels like you are going to walk in to the ocean as that is all you see through the floor to ceiling glass. The staff were nothing great, but they were friendly and helpful and addressed all of our needs. This is a managed property so it doesn't have the same service or amenities as a resort or hotel. We knew this going in and it was perfect for us. They upgraded our room and it was huge! Full kitchen, living room, dining area, bath, and a large master suite with closet and king size bed. The pool area is nice. Short walk to Dukes pub or Black Rock. Nothing but good things to say about this place. Awesome value!

Room Tip: Pay the extra bit of money for an upgraded\renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutherford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and for taking the time to post your comments. We're excited to hear that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful, it is always our goal to show the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests and exceed their expectations.
Yes, the view as you enter our lobby looking right over the pool/jacuzzi area is spectacular isn't it. This of course is the same view available from every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali due to our second to none oceanfront location. Every unit here, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has this same oceanfront view of various marinelife, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit also features fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's comfort.

We very much hope you return again soon to experience the "gem" that we have here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at Aston Mahana based upon reviews and feedback from numerous other TripAdvisor Travellers. One point that cannot be disputed is that all units at this property offer amazing water/beach views!! Beyond the view, staff is hardworking and very friendly! Although an A++ effort score, staff is poorly trained and often left very short on support. The dirty towel drop bin is behind the front desk (gross), phone calls are constantly answered mid-conversation due to one person working the desk at a time, and the property is outdated and unkept. The HOA/Management Team needs to take a hard look at their margins and decide whether they want to maintain mediocrity or pursue the tremendous potential that the property and staff provide. We checked in on Wednesday of last week and encountered the filthiest two rooms (we moved rooms) that we have ever seen.... Premium rooms are markedly better than standard rooms but still fall far short.... Recommend exploring basic hotel training/cleaning standards and move forward from here..... To their credit, staff was responsive when problems were raised but this did not change the overall experience and the fact that problems occured in the first place....

Room Tip: Request a high floor. Request new (clean) sheets. Throw the old dirty duvet on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your feedback on your recent stay. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding the amazing views and the friendliness, responsiveness and hard work displayed by the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We'll have to agree to disagree on the condition of the property and our units however we will take all of your comments into consideration as our goal is always to exceed all of our guest's expectations and get better every day.
We hope you had a nice and relaxing time on Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Mahana many times and really enjoy the oceanfront view. The Mahana is a classic condo that has been an area landmark for a long time. When booked with Aston we requested a standard studio on the 7th floor, and received a very nice study with an updated bathroom with walk in shower. Our 7th floor room which was located just above the palm trees had an outstanding view of Moloka’i and Lana’I, and of course those beautiful sunsets. With the ocean so close we’ve rarely used the pool. The Mahana may not be as fancy or as large as the new Honua Kai resort next door, but apparently quests like us still enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for coming back to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali year after year. Yes, we completely agree that we are not a spread out resort with many pools and restaurants but simply have the best location on the whole island with every single unit, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom having the same spectacular oceanfront views of various marine life, rainbows and the daily beautiful sunsets with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
We have a very nice and quiet area to relax in with our pool/jacuzzi deck which also features complimentary gas grills and our location is convenient to many shopping and dining options yet we are on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach without all the hustle and buste.
All of our units also have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers for our guest's convenience.
We also believe that is why once you've stayed here once you'll definitely want to return. The entire ohana here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to your next visit.

Mahalo for all of your great comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

So if you are looking for a place that has dated grounds as well as the rooms that are not upgraded yet...so so staff, and ugly entrance and small pool grounds, then this is your place! I chose this place based on other ratings and was disappointed when I arrived. What they don’t show you on the pictures is how old the place is.

We cut our trip short and went over to Honua Kai and were super impressed! The only good thing about this place was our room...but you have to pay much more $$$$ for an upgraded room, where the other place we went; this was just there normal room the way any place should be who call themselves a resort. The welcome we had was NOT the Aloha spirit, nor was the lobby. This place needs a serious facelift on the grounds and Lobby! The ocean view rooms are true Ocean view rooms...but not really what you could call a nice overall beach view! The hotel is right next to the shore...so there is really NO landscape view. If you like the feel of being on a Cruise Ship with a balcony, then this is okay, but otherwise nothing impressive. For the price...PASS!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments, it appears that we were not the right property for your tastes and we're happy that you found a place to enjoy the rest of your trip. As seen from previous comments we find that our guests seem to very much enjoy our common areas including the lobby and pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills. All of the units in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom must all meet the same high standards and every unit in the entire property features spectacular oceanfront views so there are no ugrades for view as both our buildings run parallel to the beach with no curve. All of our units also feature fully stocked kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's added convenience.
Again we are happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in #907 in April 2013 for our honeymoon. Right when we walked in the room, we were blown away by the unobstructed ocean views through the floor to ceiling windows. It was almost as if we were on a ship! The unit was very clean and updated with wood floors and granite countertops. The unit was also very spacious and the livingroom, bedroom and bathroom were all seperated nicely. You beach in front of the hotel is not condusive to swiming or laying out because of the reefs, but it is just a short walk in either direction for more. The pool is a bit small, but clean and not overly crowded at anytime during our week.
There is a grocery store just down the road. We stocked up on groceries and made several meals at the hotel to save money. The kichen was fully stocked with everything we could need.
There is not a restraunt on site, but the hotel is between several other hotels with dining options and close to restauraunts so that was not an issue at all.
The only negatives I have is that the staff is not very welcoming. During the check in and out process, the women working did not smile or look up. Also, the maid service is sporadic. The maid was so, so nice, but there does not seem to be a schedule, so they may come at 10 am or 4 pm-every day was different and it was hard to plan the day around. Several days we ended up sitting in the parking lot while she cleaned because we had already been out all day and were tired. One day, the maid did not show up at all. I went to the front desk and she said "the only way that would happen is if you put the do not disturb sign up" I told her that was not the case, but she just smirked and called the maintanance guy and asked him to clean.
The positives WAY outweigh the negatives though. We really had a great time and I would defintely consider staying there again. You can't get any closer to oceanfront than the Mahana.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor higher than the palm trees for a completely unobstructive view. The "premium&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COBDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We're excited to hear that you loved the view from your unit which is featured from every studio, one bedroom and two bedroom on our property due to our proximity to the ocean. We believe our location can't be beat.
We're also very happy to hear that you found the fully stocked kitchen to make your stay more comfortable and hope the washer/dryer in the unit also helped with this.
We are gratified to hear that you found our housekeeping staff, who provide daily service, to be friendly and although they don't always have a set schedule for the service our guests can always call down and request a particular time if they'd like.
We do apologize if you found your check-in experience to have been less than friendly and will make sure we use your comments with all of our 24 hour front desk staff to make sure their interactions with our guests when giving out information, checking in our guests and passing out complimentary pool towels always exceeds our guest's expectations.

We do hope you will return again very soon to give us another chance to provide you fond memories of both the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and the island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here on my first visit to Hawaii. We had a nice studio on the third floor that was well decorated and had plenty of space for the two of us. We had a full kitchen and there was plenty of storage for our stuff. All of the rooms here face directly over the Pacific with a small lounging lawn between the building and the beach. The daily room service is great; the grounds are immaculately kept; and the location is perfect.

The service at the front desk was adequate but my experience wasn't as great as some others have described.

There are very limited food/beverage services here...only a coffee/sandwich bar off the lobby. The boardwalk is just outside the building which is convenient to some of the other resorts that have restaurants and bars. There's also a grocery store within a short walking distance.

On the third floor, you can't help but to hear the waves below so if that might keep you awake, I suggest an higher floor.

Overall, a great place to stay that is practical, has awesome views over the Pacific, and is in a great location.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if the sounds of the waves might disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norcal_traveler_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that you loved your well-decorated unit and the service our housekeeping staff provided.
Although we don't have a restaurant on property all of our units have the fully stocked kitchens and of course our pool/jacuzzi deck also has complimentary gas grills for our guest's use.
We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our second to none oceanfront location with not only spectacular views but also the convenience of many shopping and dining options within a short walk or drive away.

We will definitely keep working hard to make sure our service levels exceed all of our guest's expectations and that everyone returns home with fond memories of their time here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $309 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing