We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Nearby Hotels
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$401
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$355
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$407
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,987 results
Traveler rating
1,312
499
112
51
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,312
499
112
51
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowssusan ramosocean frontfull kitchengrocery storewasher and dryerliving roompremium studioeither directiongranite countertopslanai and molokaipalm treespool and hot tubroad to hanaour honeymoonjava jazzcoral reef
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,987 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are so happy to have found this place. We had a premium one bedroom, two bath condo that was perfect, except for the air conditioning was loud. But fortunately the trade winds came in and we didn't need the AC for 3 days. The kitchen is well appointed, the bed very comfortable. This is the only resort that had direct beach views which was spectacular. My one complaint was we had three palm trees in front of our window on the 5th floor, could not see the sunset very well. But we did manage to see whales and turtles on either side of the trees. They charge you $15 a day fee for the safe, unlimited DVD movies, parking and the Internet. Also, they provide plenty of soap, shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms and dish and washer machine soap which I feel is a very nice touch. The cleaning staff did make the bed every day, removed old towels only if you had them on the floor but did not always give new towels in return. And if you expect the floors or the bathrooms to be cleaned while you are there, don't count on it. They do the bare minimum which was a little disappointing as the tile floors were gritty. All in all, we managed and would go back to the resort; our 10 day visit was wonderful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask and pay for the premium room, everything is remodeled and updated. Try to get the 4th floor or 7th and above to get the best views in the second tower (if you are getting a premium one bedroom condo). The market across the street is great in variety and price and plan on using the BBQ equipment that is provided at the resort, they are spotless and ready to use.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on your recent stay here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay and as you mentioned the second to none oceanfront views that our property location provides of beautiful sunsets, various marine life and the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. We are also glad to hear that you were comfortable in your unit with all of the daily amenities we provide, the fully stocked kitchen and washer/dryer and do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our housekeeping service. We will definitely use your comments to work with our staff here who provide daily housekeeping to make sure that all our guests are taken care of.
We very much hope that you will return to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and show you the Aloha Spirit.

Mahalo for your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay! We loved the view from the lanai and best of all, the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep. Upon arrival they saw our toddler and gave us a basic studio with a KING bed, which was more than what we were expecting. Our room was lovely and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to cook yummy dinners. We also used the washer/dryer a few times and they were great. We loved that this was a quiet hotel, away from the busy-ness of shops, yet close to enough to walk/drive if we needed to. We also took our lil one to the pool a lot, and it was great. Never too crowded and clean. They have a DVD service that we used to get free movies -- they had a few family movies to choose from so we were happy. The view was the crowning glory of this place. We saw a sea turtle from the 7th floor, no whales. Guess we'll have to come back :) This was our first time to Maui and we felt so incredibly blessed to be able to experience the perfect weather, friendly people, over-the-top views. It's our best vacation yet!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We are honored to have been a part of your perfect/best vacation ever.
We completely agree that our location here on the quieter side of north Kaanapali beach provides the best oceanfront views you'll see anywhere from every one of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units which all also feature the full kitchens and washer/dryers for our guest's convenience.
We hope you will return again very soon where our friendly staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit and help you to creat more memorable experiences.

Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a 2bdrm condo for 5 nights and we were allocated room 909. The master bedroom faces the ocean with access to the balcony (also from living room) and the second bedroom faced the mountains. Both bedrooms had ensuite bathrooms (no bath). In the master bedroom cupboard was a washer and dryer. Housekeeping came daily and provided laundry detergent and dish washing powder in addition to the usual soap and towels etc. The kitchen was well stocked and supplied. Coffee maker (and a single pouch of coffee daily), a few tea bags and sugar but no kettle/jug. The only negative thing was the TV reception did not seem to work although we didn't try very hard as we were not interested. Free DVDs are available in the lobby and we watched one one night. Free wireless was strong.
Mahana is a relaxed quiet place and not too many kids which was a plus for us. A mostly older crowd. Great views from the condo all round and we saw whales.
There is an activities person to help with booking trips and they provide some coupons for deals and things like a free dessert at Dukes next door. They ask you to attend a time share presentation in return for a discount on some activities. We just said no.
Across the road is a supermarket which has a great fruit and veg section and fresh poke (marinated raw fish) and all the things you need (pharmacy inside as well). Snorkel Bobs has an outlet there also to hire equipment.
The beach directly in front of Mahana is not too good for swimming due to rocks but if you walk north to Kaanapali Shores (a few minutes only) there are few rocks.
The walk to whalers village shops and restaurants takes at least 30 minutes. Nothing wrong with Mahana but with more money I would go to a resort further south where the beach is better although a bit more crowded.

Room Tip: All the 2 bedroom condos are corner suites
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your in depth comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that the two bedroom two bath unit you stayed in was comfortable for your family group with it's fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer and of course the world class oceanfront views available from every unit here.
One of the reasons the Mahana has a lot of marine life to view from the units and beach here is due to the beautiful reef fronting the property where you will find sea turles feeding daily. A few hundred yards in either direction are great spots for both swimming and snorkeling. Our little area on the northern end of Kaanapali beach has the some of the best views in the world and without a doubt the Mahana has the best oceanfront views anywhere from every unit.
We are also a short stroll or car ride from many shopping and dining options and in addition to the fully stocked kitchens in every unit there are complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to show you the Aloha Spirit of our staff and exceed your expectations. Mahalo again for your comments and we will use them as we are constantly looking to make ourselves better.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali was such a great experience. Our unit was so interesting, clean and very welcoming. Each and every person we dealt with was so helpful, friendly, and very polite.It all started with Brian,who handled our reservation, he was so very helpful as this was our first time to the island. the staff was so helpful and such hard workers.
What a thing to hear and SEE the ocean from our front window, to see whales and turtles.
We were also very close to a grocery store, a bus stop and one has to mention the walk way.
The grounds are worked on each day and just so clean and such a relaxing area.
How beautiful!
Thank you for making this first time trip so memorable!

Room Tip: Hard to do as each and every room has a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 379Viviane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to let us know of your great experience here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. I'm very glad to hear that I was able to assist you personally with your reservation but am most excited to hear that you found our staff to be helpful, friendly, hard-working and polite, I can't ask for more than that.
Our prime location here right on the ocean on the northern end of Kaanapli gives every guest the same spectacular ocean views with various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets appearing with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. Falling asleep to the relaxing sounds of the ocean, fully stocked kitchens and washer/dryer in every one of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units keeps all of our guest comfortable.

We are gratified to hear that you had a memorable experience and hope that we can host you again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Long story short, my husband had been to Maui 30 years ago and really didn't want to go. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and this just didn't seem to excite him but good friends were going and I really wanted to go - we had just sent the last child off to college last fall and another was graduating next month - I needed R&R. We are now back 2 days and both of us agree that this trip ranked right up at the top of the list of best vacation spots (our tops include the Almalfi Coast, Santorini, Egypt- Cairo and the Red Sea, Istanbul). We stayed in unit 803 (studio), owned by Sophie. She kept in contact throughout the entire process and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The unit was spotless and waking every morning to the sun and waves crashing was incredible. The unit is turn-key (everything provided). Sophie disclosed all of this prior to our arrival, including a packet with things to do that she mailed to me ahead of schedule. I knew exactly what to bring and what I could leave at home.

The property itself was lovely - not too big or small. A very nice pool sits between the two buildings. All units have a view. If you do not want to look through a few palm trees, then try for a unit above the 7th floor. We could see the tops of the palms which I loved personally. Our friends staying on the top floor and had nothing but water to look at which they loved. We also met a woman who was staying on the ground floor and she enjoyed just walking out her slider to her patio - so it is all just preference. The property is very safe, my kindle accidentally fell out of my bag when I picked up my things - I didn't discover it missing for about an hour and ran back down to the pool - there is was sitting under my chair. The only caution is that this part of Maui gets the tradewind in the afternoon on a regular basis and it is VERY windy. We found early tennis (as in 7am) or beach walking, then pool or beach for sunning, eating lunch in the condo, then cleaning up in the afternoon for sightseeing, shopping and then dinner worked well - we avoided the wind on every day except our last where we stayed near the pool and beach until 5pm. The benefit of the wind though is that you don't feel the heat of the sun - so it stays quite comfortable (use sunscreen!). The only thing we wished we had done differently is book a few more days! We will be back for sure. PS: free parking too.

Room Tip: depends on your preference - all rooms are beachfront and have great views! Palm trees visible up through 8th floor (but don't block the view).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squiggles1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay. Although you didn't stay in one of the units in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana at Kaanapali we're thrilled to hear that you believe our location is one of the best in the world. We completely agree that our proximity to the ocean and the views available from every floor and every unit here are No Ka Oi (The Best).
Guests who stay in one of the units here in the Aston rental program also enjoy the benefits of full-service accomodations including 24 hour front desk for check-in, assistance and even complimentary pool/beach towels, daily on-site housekeeping and maintenance should there ever be an issue.
We very much hope that you don't wait another 30 years to return.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews