We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the beach as you can get” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Close to the beach as you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mahana Feb 12-28, 2012 and enjoyed it very much. Like everyone has mentioned you are very close to the beach and the views are amazing. We had stayed on the 10th floor and our unit had everything we could want. It was very modern and must have been recently remodelled with the granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer etc. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and helpful as was Susan at the conciege desk. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance if you want as there are none on the Mahana property. Dukes is about a 2 minute walk south, the Ka'anapali Shores (sister resort to the Mahana where you get a 10% discount) has a restaurant about a 5 minute walk to the north to name a couple. The Time Supermarket is about 3 blocks away (short walk) and has everything that you would expect from a large grocery store. Even a wide selection of beer, wine and hard liquor. Also things for quick meals like rotisserie chicken, sandwiches and salads which we enjoyed as it was just the 2 of us and we didn't want to do a lot of cooking. The Pizza Paradiso is in the adjoining strip mall which had great pizza, also Subway, Java Jazz (live entertainment) to name a few others.

We went to the Old Lahaina Luau as well as a couple of tours. The sunset dinner cruise (2 hours) and the Molokini crater and Lanai snorkeling tour (7 hours) which were all excellent. The tours were through Pacific Whale foundation and I would highly recommend each one as well as the Luau. We drove around the island quite a bit and explored a lot of the beaches on the west side from Big Beach to Honolua Bay. We didn't drive the Road to Hana as over 600 curves and 50 narrow bridges in 50 miles and then turning around and doing it all again didn't seem like a great way to spend a day to us. A lot of people we talked to really enjoyed the Hana trip as well as the drive to the top of Haleakela to see the sunrise.

I went snorkeling every day as there was lots to see right in front of the Mahana. We had walked along the beach to Black rock (where the Sheraton is) and beyond, nearly to Whaler's Village, a few times as the beach is perfect for walking. I saw at least 1 sea turtle 14 out of 16 days as well as numerous fish and rays. We even saw some sea turtles on our beach walk about 10 feet from shore as well as a few Hawaiian Monk seals that had come on shore to sleep. You can't really walk a long way north along the beach from the Mahana, maybe 10 minutes, as it gets too rocky. The walk to Black Rock from the Mahana must be close to a mile so a few times we just drove the car to Kahakili park which is about half way and went to the beach there. That was my favourite spot to snorkel and you didn't have to walk all the way. To get to Kahakili park from the main road you turn right on Kai Ala road which is the second set of traffic lights after you have left the Mahana and are travelling towards Lahaina on the highway. About a 5 minute drive and they have showers, washrooms, big parking lot and picnic areas as well.

We drove into Lahaina quite a few times, about 4 miles south of the Mahana, and enjoyed it. Lots of shopping and restaurants on Front street. A fun and safe place. Parking can he hard to get sometimes but there is a large free parking lot at the far south end of Front Street near the school. Overall we really enjoyed Maui and staying at the Mahana was definitely the right choice for us.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a balcony. Try to get one on a higher floor to get better views, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trader53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    470
    94
    50
    11
See reviews for
425
1,018
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks at this condo resort. It was a great place to stay. The beach was nice and the views from the lanai were amazing. The staff was friendly and Susan was fabulous. Go through the gate and walk the path to Whalers. The walk will take you to some awesome beach locations. We will stay again on another visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our family enjoyed staying in this fully equipped beach front hotel. We stayed in many beach front hotels before but never felt so close to the water. The view was magnificent and it was so convenient to access to everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were here for 10 days in early February. All units face the ocean. Pleasantly surprised by an upgrade to a deluxe two bedroom suite which was spectacular. It was nice to know that you were coming home to a comfortable place after long days of sightseeing.
One problem though is that Aston does not have control over all the units in the complex. Many are owner managed so there is a lack of consistency in enforcing some of the policies such as it being non-smoking. Someone in a unit adjacent to us was smoking cigars every evening on their lanai. The smoke invariably wafted onto our lanai and was sucked by our air-conditioning into our living room and bedroom. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor unit, particularly during whale watching season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMarf18, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your response. I am very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure you saw plenty of whales from your lanai. I am sorry about the issue with cigar smoke from a nearby unit. I wanted to let you know that we are working with the home owners association to modify the rules on smoking to mitigate circumstances like you have illustrated. I hope that did not take away too much from your enjoyment at the Mahana. Please feel free to contact me directly at mark.klaschka@astonhotels.com if you have any further questions.

Mahalo,
Mark Klaschka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Wonderful apartment on the 12th floor,well fitted out with everything you need.Fantastic ocean view rooms on the beach.
Housekeeping could have been better,only did the very basics everyday like empty the bins and replace washing powder and towels.No cleaning done.
We had to vacate the apartment one night at 1.30 am in our block as the alarms went off ,there was no member of staff to be seen and people just gathered in the car park wondering what was happening ,just as well it was a false alarm.
Check out was a nightmare ,we had been charged an extra night then for some unknown reason our deposit did'nt get taken off ,the lad on the front desk was not very helpful .This incident has put us off returning a shame really as we enjoyed our stay with the fantastic views.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loftladderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMarf18, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your response. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations within the distinctive surroundings of the Mahana. I can see from your comments that you did get a chance to experience the wonderful views of the humpback whales that are present at this time of the year. I am sorry though to hear that there were also some instances that our service fell short and I do appreciate you bring that to my attention so we may implement procedures to prevent the occurrence in the future. In addition to replacing your towels and amenities, taking out the trash, and making the beds our housekeepers also should be vacuuming and straightening up the unit during the daily service.

It is also a rare occassion that we do have an alarm activation during the early morning hours. I know how disrupting that can be. Thankfully this turned out not to be an emergency. The Association does have Security personnell on duty to respond to the emergency then advise guests when it is all clear and safe to return to your unit. I will work with the property manager to look at procedures to make this proces work more seamless. Thank you again for this comment.

Mahalo,

Mark Klaschka
General manager
Aston Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills MI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the first two weeks of Feb 2012 at the Mahana and it is a wonderful place to stay. This was our first trip to Maui and the staying at the Mahana made the trip very special. We stayed in a premium 1 bedroom unit on the 9th floor and the views were simply spectacular. Feburary is prime humpback whale season, and it is not a question of if you will see humpacks from your unit, its how many will you see in an hour. Sometimes we would be watching a half dozen whales in every direction.
The building sits so close to the water, perhaps 25 yards, and unlike more modern buildings every unit has a front row seat with the same view. Its only a question of what floor you will see the whale show from at this time of year. The condo we stayed in, unit 914, was very comfortable, with a good bed, tastefully furnished and the kitchen was well stocked and had good appliances. Resturants are very expensive in Maui, so it was great to have a kitchen where we could eat in, and there is no resturant on Maui with that view.
This place is also so private, very unusual for a beach resort area. We booked through Aston, so we had daily maid service. The staff is very helpful and kind. Thanks to all of them for being so nice. They offer a one hour presentation in the morning for your first day giving you an overview of the island, and things to see and do, since we had never been to Maui before it was very helpful.
There is a grocery store near the driveway entrance to the building, but better yet, about two blocks down the road is a place called the Fish Market. It is primarily a fresh fish store, but also has carry out items as well. Their fish was the best. They claim the fish is caught either the night before or that morning, and the fish is so fresh that it is very hard being back in Mich and contending with what they claim is fresh fish here. The also have seafood gumbo and chowder that are outstanding. We went on line and found a Mama's Fish House reciepe for the mahi mahi- my my was it good!
There is a reef directly in front of the Mahana so there is no swiming directly in front. However, there is swimming and snorkeling right off the ends of the building. With a reef right in front, we saw giant sea turtles when we looked down from our balcony! Also because there isn't any beach activity right in front the units are very quiet during the day.
The pool and hot tub area is very nice, and it looks like its been updated, but it is a smaller pool, by today's standards, probably 1970s 1980s vintage. The Mahana also has gate access to the Kannapali boardwalk. Be sure to get the code from the front desk. You can walk all the way to the Hyatt on far end of the Whalers Village area on the boardwalk. We heard its about 4.5 miles from end to end. Its a great way to see the area, and lots of resturants and shops along the way if your interested.
We did all the first time on Maui must do's, the road to Hana, ate at Mama's Fish House, saw the crater, drove around most of the island seeing the beaches. The road to Hana is a must do, as is Mama's, but bring lots of money for Mama's. The driving on the road to Hana was not as bad as they say, but its about a 10 hour trip round trip with very few stops. On our next trip we will stay in Hana for a night or two. We went back a second time to see the Gardens on the Road to Hana and to eat a Mama's. The Gardens are wonderful, lunch at Mama's was to die for, and well worth a seperate trip. My husband and I agree the crater was our least favorite. Very cold even mid day on a sunny day and very windy.
The best were the boat trips for sunset, whale watching, eating, and snorkeling or any combination thereof. We highly recommend the Alli Nui and the Hula Girl for all of the boat trips, both are pricey but well worth it. I have never snorkled before and I am not much of a swimmer, and the folks from Alli Nui, got me in the water and snorkeling like a pro. And I am 58. What fun.
I would recommend getting a premium room and request a higher floor and try to go in Feb or March as those are prime months for the humpbacks. Thanks to the folks at the Mahana, for such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a premium condo, 8th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

To be fair, my husband and I stayed here after coming from a 5 star resort in Kauai so this definitely couldn't compete. However, it wasn't terrible. The property itself was alright. Nothing fancy or over the top. Parking was easy. Front desk staff was okay. Not particularly helpful but not mean either. The pool was just awful. It was literally the type of pool you'd see in someone's backyard. It left a lot to be desired. The beach was okay as well, nothing too spectacular. No beach chairs allowed on the sand so that was a bit of a let down as I don't care for sitting on a towel in the sand (especially not the awful thin towels provided by the resort). They have a bunch of grills by the pool that were being used every night. Since it was just me and hubby, we didn't use one but other larger groups and families were and seemed like they were having a good time! The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar. There is a small snack bar by the pool. The hotel next door has a lovely outdoor restaurant and bar.
As for the actual condo, it was okay but could definitely use a facelift. Our particular unit (I think it was 301) had one wall made of mirrors and furniture that was 70s style. The bedspread also looked like something from the 70s. Now like I mentioned, we had just come from a resort with the most modern look, luscious bedding, beautiful pool, nicest towels, etc. But regardless, the place was just average. The kitchen was nice and was fully equipped with nice appliances. The bathroom was tiny and towels were really cheap and thin there too. The kitchen came in handy as we made breakfast every morning and there is a nice, large grocery store right across the street. We also bought some very delicious fresh made deli sandwiches at the grocery store and had a picnic during our drive on the Road to Hana.
As everyone says, the selling point for this place is the full ocean view. It is really so lovely to sit on the balcony or even look out from the unit. So serene and peaceful...and fully blocked from all the other units so it feels like you are alone. Very very nice. Another plus point for me was the washer/dryer in the unit. I came back to NYC with no laundry!!! That was very exciting.
The location of this hotel is pretty convenient. Maui is so large that no matter where you stay, you'll be quite a drive from mostly everywhere you want to go. Lahaina is good for restaurants and shopping, however, it is far from the Road to Hana and Haleakala, but doable...especially in 80 degree sunny weather with the top down on the rental Mustang :)
If I go back to Maui would I stay at this property? Probably not but the price is worth the small amount of time you end up spending there anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Puja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing