We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 in a premium studio suite on the 8th floor. Requested a high floor in advance after reading tripadvisor reviews, was a bit nervous about what we would get beforehand, but overall was pleased with the room - amazing view. We were thinking about whether or not we should pay extra for the premium suite before the trip, but decided not to and ended up getting one, which was nice :) My only complaint about the room - the bed wasn't that comfortable. The mattress was quite...soft - e.g. If I sat at one end of the bed, it would sink/slant towards the ground, and I'm about 120lb.

It seemed to us that the daytime hotel receptionist could have used some help, things ran very slow when she was there. The evening receptionist (Garrett) was great - friendly, easygoing and very helpful. The hotel concierge (Susan) was also great - very cheerful and helpful with planning activities. She gives a talk the morning after you check in with complimentary continental breakfast. Amenities were decent, there is free parking and an outdoor tennis court. In room kitchenette and washer/dryer. Location is good, the hotel is walking distance to a supermarket, farmers market and some local restaurants.

Our experience would have been improved with
1) More comfortable bed
2) More efficient hotel check-in
3) Improved house-keeping - I agree with other comments about not replacing the bath products, etc. They did come everyday though.

Overall, we had a nice vacation and stay at the Aston Mahana.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor in advance, and away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angepange5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    470
    94
    50
    11
See reviews for
425
1,019
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at the Mahana in early December (7 Dec - 10 Dec) and wish I could have stayed longer. I stayed in a studio suite (802) and was thoroughly impressed with the view. All rooms at this property are FULL ocean view. The balcony was a good size and had a table with chairs to enjoy the breeze and relaxing sounds of the ocean. It was even equipped with a screen door, so that you may enjoy the breeze inside the suite and not worry about little visitors (birds) getting in - not that there was a problem with them.

The front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating and housekeeping was very effiicient. I attended the morning meeting with the Expedia Local Expert and upon my return to the room, I was surprised to see quickly it was tidied up. Unfortunately, they do not have a bell staff or storage room to hold bags - so if you have a red eye flight home, you might want to see if you can keep the room at a day use rate.

The property is located a short walk from a bus stop, so shopping is accessible, but be advised - the bus does not run after 8pm. There is even a grocery store a short walk from the property so that you may cook in your room if you chose to. You might want a car if you plan to go to a luau or an evening cruise.

The only issues I had with the property were minor - construction going on (removal of planters from front of building), internet issues (good thing I had Clear Wireless with a great signal), and the aforementioned lack of storage to hold baggage.

When I next visit Maui, I will definitely stay at the Mahana again - no doubts about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous view!! Every room is floor to ceiling windows and the bldg is literally 30 feet off the sand on Honokowai Point. It is quite scenic, but the beach in front of the Mahana is unusable. There's only about 6 foot of sand (at low tide) and the ocean bottom is all coral. As others have said, you can just walk 10 min south to Airport Beach and enjoy a fabulous beach. Unfortunately the coral bottom in front of the Mahana makes the waves crashing VERY loud. We couldn't sleep with the lanai door open - just too loud. This location is also a bit windy, so maybe better for a summer trip. We were here in Nov and had good waves for surfing right in front of the condo!! We were in an premium 1 bedroom- #404 - and found it to be just perfect - tropical decor, king bed and very spacious. The maids came every day and did a wonderful job. They even did our dishes, which I understand is not part of their services. (thankyou) The pool is not a big fancy thing like at the big resorts however, unlike the Sheraton, the pool is heated. The hottub is heated to 103, so it was really nice. It's not super huge, but is big enough for 8 to 10 adults. There are also grills available for guest - and these are VERY nice and completely clean. We saw them being used every evening. All-in-all a great place to stay if you want a low key environment with a beautiful view and very nice room. One note-for some reason this place doesn't seem to have many children staying there; quiet adult atmoshphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are right on the ocean so the views are consistently awesome. The first floor rooms' g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaGirl_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the Mahana 7 nights (12/17 - 12/24) and enjoyed it very much. However the house keeping could have been better. They were to provide coffee, filters and bath products during the entire stay. The last 3 days there was no coffee, filters, bath products and they did not even make the bed. I did complain to the desk staff who seemed indifferent to the complaint. However, the above items did eventually show up. When checking out, the desk person was pleasant but did not ask if we enjoyed our stay and if everything was ok. Perhaps they knew that all was not well. We had a premium studio and it was very nice. We even saw whales and sea turtles from the Lani. There is no restaurant on the premises but many places to eat just a very short distance away. We would go back for the views.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hatsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Every room has an ocean view these are condo type living and I felt like upper class staying here. Great waking up hearing thee oceans crash.

We got free upgrade our r, had jacuzzi on

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Most hotels on the ocean are built in a V-shape, so that every room has a partial ocean view and they can cram the maximum number of rooms on their limited oceanfront footage. The Aston Mahana is built square to the ocean. Every room has a full-on ocean front location. You could toss a rock from your lanai into the ocean. This has other benefits as well. There is no early-morning rush to reserve one of the too few pool chairs. This last two weeks, there was never a day when all the chairs were taken.

This is not like a hotel. There is no restaurant on the property, just a small snack stand. Maid service is limited.

Still, we love it. It never feels crowded. It's solidly built. You never hear the people above you or next to you, except for the occasional shout of "Whales!" from someone on their lanai.

We think it's perfect for couples or a family with older kids. It doesn't have the huge pool for the little kids that other regular hotels in the price range have.

Room Tip: Corner suites have two bedrooms and the sense that you are in a penthouse. The views are unbelievabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We were in studio room 1002 for 10 days, Dec. 6-16 and absolutely loved our room and the Mahana. The room was clean and very tastefully decorated and had everything we could possibly need. Having a dishwasher and washer/dryer was a big plus. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the lanai each morning and also watched almost every sunset from the same spot. Some afternoons were spent watching the turtles float by, the spinner dolphins playing, and the whales surfacing and spouting right in front of the hotel. On the 10th floor and with the hotel only a few feet from the ocean, we had the most incredible view of nature at its best. As for the hotel, the staff were helpful and courteous and addressed any concerns immediately. We loved being able to BBQ steaks and ribs occasionally on the poolside grills, select DVD's (free) to watch for an early night in, get a quick coffee at the little lobby shop on our way out for the day, and enjoy the paper left at our front door very early each morning. There was always plenty of parking, never had to wait for the elevator, the pool area and hot tub were clean and never crowded. Bottom line is - we loved this place. As soon as you see the view from your lanai (and EVERYONE has one), you will think you died and went to heaven. We will be going back and will ask to stay in that same room. It was perfect for our needs and made for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: A room higher than the 8th floor is the best. Then you get an unobscured view of the amazing Pacifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wats_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Vacatia, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing