We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We always return to the Mahana year after year. We rent through VRBO, and you can't beat the value you get for true ocean front accomodations! Sitting on your lanai you can whale watch, see dolphins & turtles! The beach is right at your finger tips, and nothing beats falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

The pool/hot tub area is never crowded & there are tons of lounge chairs for your use either by the pool or by the beach. The kitchens are fully stocked & having in suite washer & dryer is always a bonus when travelling with children. There's ample free parking and a strip mall with grocery store and shops right across the street. A short drive takes you to Whaler's Village shopping & dining, and to the town of Lahaina. Dukes restaurant is right next door for a great dinner and live evening entertainment.

There's a paved trail along the beach that is great for a morning jog or evening stroll, and goes all the way to Whaler's Village. There is nothing negative I can say about the Mahana, and I always look forward to returning every year!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MauiMama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    480
    100
    50
    12
See reviews for
440
1,057
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paragould, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

There are various sized condos available depending on your needs. We have stayed twice in the large unit (2br, 2 bath), and stayed this time in a 1 br, 1 bath unit. The sofa in the living room converted to a queen size bed. All high end appliances in the kitchen as well as a stacked washer/dryer combo. Good housekeeping service each day. All units are ocean view with spectaular views of the harbor & the whales. Would not stay anywhere else on Maui!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed in a studio, which had a good bed, full kitchen and laundry in the kitchen. What we liked about the Mahana was that all rooms are ocean front, we were 45 feet from the ocean. We spent much time on the patio watching numerous whales. While there, we checked out 1 and 2 bedroom units, very nice. We liked that it was not so busy as many of the resorts on Ka'anapali beach but could walk to them when we wanted.

Also I want to mention that our travel agent Kay Ryan mauikay.com was a real asset. She recommended these condos, arranged direct flights for us and met with us when we were there. Then the Japan earthquake happened and we were under a tsunami warning. Kay called us and invited us and her other clients to spend the night at her comfortable home, which we did, while others spent the night on the street. Now that's what I call service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnrfrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed for 27 nights and could not be happier with this condo-hotel. Spectacular whale-watching from our lanai every day. Beautiful sunsets and terrific value compared to other set-further-back from the ocean hotels. We are have already planned our next trip to the Mahana.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriZ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

after reading reviews and looking at many photo's i chose this hotel for location and the view, when i arrived i was speechless. i couldnt believe what i was seeing, ive never seen anything as beautiful as that view. we only stayed for 3 nights, i didnt want to leave. i could have sat on the balcony or down by the pool for weeks. we stayed in a one bedroom premium room, worth the extra $$$. booked on royal hawaii condo's website so saved a fair bit anyway rather than booking directly through the hotel. this was our last stop after a 2 week holiday, first Waikiki, then the big island, and last was maui. it was the best way to finish our vacation. as you could imagine after a week and a half of eating out every night by the time we got to maui the kitchen was used alot. there's a times supermarket about 10 min walk where we got fresh fish and veggies (much needed). we were lucky enough to be there during whale watching season, and did we see some whales. even on the way to the hotel we could see them. on our last night they gave us quiet a show, jumping up and splashing around for hours just outside our hotel. there arnt many shops around (in walking distance) but there are buses to two centres for $1 fare. if going to different islands shop in waikiki and just enjoy the view and serenity in Maui. i will be back and i will be staying at the mahana again. also check out dukes for dinner, right on the beach with great entertainment and food... and cocktails :) my favourite, lava flow.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

As with most condo complexes on Maui, these are individually owned. I don't think I would ever go with a package where you have no say in which condo you get. Have to go with VRBO where you can see pictures etc. One of the biggest pluses I loved about the Mahana vs others is the buildings face the water, not each other. I loved being able to walk out on the lanai in my jammies (or whatever-no one could see up 12 floors!). We were not looking into someone else's bedroom. So much more private!
We rented 1204 vrbo 15244, a 1b/1ba sleeps 4. Gorgeous! Plenty of living space. Do not be afraid of the building facing the sun-yes it's very warm in the afternoon but the entire apt has central air (unlike some that only have a unit in the front living room so you burn up in the bedrooms at night). You get a great cooler breeze once the sun goes down a little. Also, there are heat/light filtering shades/screens most people have there. Again, check the pictures and/or ask the owner. Great breeze off the water, fantastic water views, water color sunsets.
There were a couple ants in this condo but not in the kitchen. Have them at home too so it didn't phase me. It was not an invasion-they are in the building so will travel to where they find food-just be clean and don't leave a mess! (did not encounter any flying roaches here as we did in 3 other places that were short buildings) All the kitchen appliances are new. Liked the window in the kitchen by the ceiling in this condo-helps to ventilate the heat out when you cook.
The owners were wonderful to work with, very prompt in responding to email. They stay here too and it shows. Kitchen supplied with spices, lots of gizmos and electonics. Beach towels & toys in the closet. Plenty of closet/dresser space in this condo.
Pool area is really reallynice-updated last year-new slate from one side to the other. Almost empty every day when we went in June. The hot tub is HUGE! Unlike another place we stayed-my 4 yr old did not get fussed at for having a pool float ring (even in the hottub-we were the only ones in it at the time). Used the grills a couple times-they were cleaned daily and very easy to use. A table and sink are available. The bathrooms are nice-showers available, plenty of room to dress. If you are catching a later flight, you could bring your change of clothes after packing up the car and spend the rest of the day at the beach or pool, then go shower before you go. I felt very safe here having things in the car. Oh yes-parking is free, not like the charges put on you just to the south on the main Ka'anapali beach.
The beach-while IMMEDIATELY in front of the building has some flat rocks, a very short walk takes you to sand. Was not an imposition at all. Actually we really enjoyed the rocks at low tide-made tide pools and saw tons of little tropical fish and critters. My 4 yr old loved it. Speaking of-we had no problem with my 4 yr old son and being on the 12th floor. The lanai railing is a solid plexiglass-no kids falling through bars or getting stuck.
There is a camera on the building if you want to check out the beach etc-http://67.53.48.2/CgiStart?page=Single&Language=0.
Supermarkets-don't bother with the one across the street unless you just have to get a bottle of milk or something. Go down to Lahaina to the Safeway. We don't have a Cosco membership as we usually get fresh produce instead of prepackaged stuff. There is also a Walmart on the island. I'd advise stopping on the way in to get dinner/breakfast items for that day and next morning so you can take stock of what's in the pantry/fridge already. Most condiments, coffee, sugar and the like was already in this condo. Also some wine, beer, alcohol.
The beach walk starts next door in front of the Honua Kai. Bring water! We stupidly started out right after lunch and baked after an hour. It does take you through the middle of a couple of resorts-kind of cool to see what you didn't rent and be thankful. Beach got crowded the further south we went (never went north past next buidling). There are bathroom facilities and water fountain on the way before you get to the Sheraton blackrock. We didn't go beyond that...just too pooped! We actually never went on that side of Ka'anapoli beach. Heard a lot of how there was little public parking and the beach we had was just fine.
I do prefer this beach, and the ones in Kihei that we went to-Kamaole 1 I think, to the one up on Napili Bay. We went one afternoon and there was hardly any where to park. Glad I saw one review that said the beach dropped quickly. Boy did it! You must watch your kids at Napili Bay-a few steps out and I was over my head! It wasn't as bad further down the beach in the corner but we didn't feel like walking that far. There was a public shower to wash off before getting in your car-but it was broken when we left. The larger public beach a little north at DT Fleming beach was ok-still the drop off. The afternoon tides were too strong for us. Also noticed in the 3 wks we were there that the winds were really strong in the afternoons-like getting your legs sandblasted. Some locals said it was unusual for it to be that bad.
All in all-we were very pleased with this condo and this building. Are looking to go back and rent here, then for a week down in Kihei. (if you are interested in staying there, check out the penthouse at the Kamaole Beach Royale vrbo 234923) Mahalo, ya'll!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsmponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here Feb.21 - 27. Our our ocean front room was fantastic. The sunsets were spectacular. The staff was friendly and. helpful. Susan, our concierge was very knowledgeable and the activities we setup were great. We would definitely stay at the Mahana again.
Mike and Dona, Ankeny, IA.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdwoehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,077 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing