We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveler rating
719
432
103
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
432
103
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront streetmountain viewpremier roomocean frontwithin walking distancefull kitchenwalk into townhot tubfeast at lelemurphy bedoceanfront studiosouth endrestaurants and shopsthrough vrbothe banyan treeshort strollgrassy area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,165 - 1,170 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2005

My husband and I had a ground floor, one bedroom unit that overlooked the courtyard and was near the pool. At the front of our unit we could see the mountains and at the back lanai area we viewed the ocean. The unit was very clean and had new furnishings. Having two bathrooms was a luxury. While we didn't cook any dinners, we did use the kitchen for fresh fruit , banana bread , and coffee for breakfast. Our adult children stayed in an ocean front unit on the fourth floor that was in need of some carpet replacement but otherwise was pleasant. My husband's brother also had a room on the fourth floor which was nicely upgraded. The view on the fourth floor is excellent but having all the extra room in our one bedroom made up for being on the ground floor. Also, we did not hear the luau next door each night because our bedroom room was in the front of the unit. The beach is small but acceptable. There are no servers taking your drink orders if that's what you might want. The ocean area here is good for snorkeling but has a rocky bottom. While the complex is older, it is good value for an oceanfront room. The check-in and out went very smoothly, the grounds were well kept, and we would definitely plan a return stay!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2005

We stayed at the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort during the last week of May. It was nothing fancy but perfect for our budget. It didn't matter much to us b/c we rarely spent time in our hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and no more than 50 feet away from the ocean. We really enjoyed being in walking distance to the downtown scene of Lahaina but we were far enough away to never hear the street noise (perhaps the sound of the waves crashing drowned all the other sounds). There was always something to do or something to eat close by. They don't offer the all the amenities of a big resort but they make the place feel very personable. The staff is wonderfully pleasant. We really enjoyed having our breakfast and coffee on the lanai every morning while staring out into the ocean. Do the ocean front upgrade. Watching the sunset every evening from the lanai was spectacular. My only gripe was having to park in the 505 Front Street garage and enduring the smelly funk everytime.

We're headed back in November!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KatieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
111
Reviewed June 16, 2005

We just came back from Maui. First time in Maui. Loved the area where the hotel is located. Probably the best area in Maui. A lot of activities going on in the area. We got the condo it is nice and clean. Most of the stuff members are friendly. Try to request a floor higher than the 4th floor. I did that because of the advice we got from this website. We had the moutain view which was great but the beach view is even more amazing. My advice is get the condo and make your own food if you want to save money. Food cost on the average of $30 a plate. Shop from safeway. Don't do the cruise dinner on a boat. It is a waste of money. Good luck.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

It would be difficult to imagine a more conveniently located hotel anywhere on the island. It is indeed only 8 miles from the West End airport, but there are no commercial passenger flights into that airport, so I am at a loss as to why the hotel management would list that as the airport from which they give directions in this website. The airport for all passenger travel into Maui is Kahului (OGG) airport which is located 21 miles away. It takes roughly 45 minutes to drive from the airport, so renting a car to explore Maui is a must-do. It is a very nice drive of open highway paralleling the beach. Kaanapali is the huge tourist resort area which is about 5 miles further down the road. Expect to pay 2-3 times as much to stay there, and yet have to drive to the area right next door to this hotel for shopping and entertainment. All of Lahaina town is within a 2-15 minute walk.

Other comments in this website complain about no on-site resturaunts. This is true, but about 150 feet from the front door of the hotel is the resturaunt and shopping plaza that other hotels send their patrons to for the best in dining and shopping. Therefore, the only thing that is lacking is room service. Big deal. I could not be happier with the location.

The hotel itself is actually a condo complex of studios and one-bedrooms. Private individuals own the rooms, so each room is decorated differently. Most are neat but spartan. None of them are lavish, but all are in good repair and quite acceptable, consistent with a 3-star hotel. A wicker/Rattan wall unit that opens up into a "Murphy Bed" was in our uit. These are common in studio units in the tropics. The kitchen was well stocked with the usual utensils and pans for cooking.

The day staff was very helpful and knowlegeable. However, the night staff was surly and grumpy and of little or no help. This ranged from the front desk guy who scolded us (from across the lobby) for not turning our pool towels in by 10:00 PM (when the pool closes) to the night watchman who sees himself as a draconian enforcer of the rule that the the pool and hot tub MUST be vacant at 10:00 PM on the nose. Apparently they believe that adults need to have a 10:00 curfew. After speaking to guests from other hotels, there seems to be a 5:00 PM curfew for pool activities at other hotels. Odd, very odd. There were very few kids at the hotel, so there was never a problem with cannonballs in the pool or hot tub, and no problem with loud disturbances of anykind.

IF you have kids, you should try a place like the Kaanapali resorts where kids are abundant and they have child-oriented activities. This hotel is not oriented to entertaining the guests, it just provides a clean, safe and convenient place to base your stay while exploring Maui. I mean really, a person comes to Maui to see the island, not to explore the inside of a hotel.

My biggest complaint about the ammenities of the hotel is the total lack of Internet access. There is no possible method to hook up to even check E-mail. There is even a hefty charge for local calls, so finding a way to even find a dial-up access is prohibitive. The Livewire Internet Cafe and Coffee House is about a 2-minute walk down the street. The current charge for Internet access there is $6 for 30 minutes with your own laptop or $6 for 20 minutes with their computers. Not too bad, but I would have rather been able to stay in the privacy of my own hotel room and paid the typical charge of $9-12 per 24 hours for wireless access, as most hotels charge.

Wold I go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank FlyboyWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2005

We stayed at Lahaina Shores from Mai 21-26, 2005 and it was perfect.
We had a mountain view room and we liked the view.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel, pool, garden and room was clean. The room was big and with a full kitchen and cooking appliances.
But the room could need a new carpet and furniture.
You can walk right down the Front street to great restaurants and shopping.

If you are looking for a nice beach. Try BIG BEACH, this beach was awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bgff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews