We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To many issues with this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“To many issues with this place!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went on our honeymoon to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. We were so excited to be in Maui. They gave us the key to our room and what a terrible room it was. There was toothpaste on the mirror, the faucet had mold on it and the room smelled like a thrift store. We complained to the manager and they apologized and gave us another room. It was the same problem, we complained again and then gave us a nice room but with a terrible wall bed, I complained and said this was not on their website, or what they were advertising. We went to 5 more room before they gave us a premium suite. The room was phenomenal, mountain view was ok but you can see the house below (which wasn't a nice site) from the 7th floor. They made it right but only after an hour and 30 minutes of arguing with the hotel management. I would not go back to this place.

Room Tip: When reserving a room ask for a premium suite. You will appreciate the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    415
    100
    35
    22
See reviews for
167
694
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Make sure you get the ocean view, espeically because they don't charge much for the upgrade. You are virtually right on the water and the view is awesome. If you can't get it for some reason, dont worry too much because the other side has a pretty decent view too. We know because the hotel was gracious enough to offer a hospitality suite so we could shower after the beach on check out day.

The location is very convenient. You're right in Lahaina, a cool little town. A few blocks away is a supermarket where you can buy groceries and load up your fridge and cupboards in the suite. Yes, do take advantage of the kitchenette. Cook a nice meal, drink some good wine and enjoy your killer balcony view for at least one dinner.

The beach in front has very little room, so the propery has lawn chairs on the grass. There is also a nice little hot tub and an 8' deep pool to cool off. It's open until 10 and it's a good spot to unwind with a drink and socialize a little with other guests.

Our room wasn't the newest most modern, but it was clean and things worked and it wasn't old and grungy. I don't know if it's because Maui is different, but the desk staff - Greg, Carmen and Ann were very hospitable, moreso than anything I encountered in Waikiki. There was an older white gentleman working too (cant remember his name) but he was also really friendly, advising us which beach to go to... which brings up an important point.

There isn't much of a beach in Lahaina - at least by Hawaii standards. So if getting up and going straight out to the beach is your plan, perhaps you should look into staying in Ka'anapali. Really nice beach there! Great snorkeling.

The only negative thing about our stay here was that the doors would slam in the hallway all morning. This can and should be addressed. It would make this place just about perfect.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverCanuck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a good place to stay. It is at the end of Front street and right on the beach. I had a mountain view which wasn't bad. The hotel is within walking distance to stores, Foodland grocery store, post office, eating establishments and the harbor. The front desk staff were extremely nice. The full kitchen was clean and there were no bugs. however they provided only one package of coffee a day. I would have given it more stars but there was no wifi in the regular rooms or in the lobby . The rooms with 2 beds had twin beds. I haven't slept in a twin bed in 20 years and it was not comfortable. They charged for parking and they did not provide water and/or coffee in the lobby for guest.

Room Tip: If you need wifi you have to pay for a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquanetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a nice hotel with a fabulous view from the back side of the hotel. There was a charming balcony that overlooked the ocean and the pool and the wonderfully groomed lawn.
The lobby is spacious and inviting. It is easy to relax in this hotel because it is a low key place.
It's quite close to town which has some good restaurants, a bakery, and some shops.We enjoying walking to town and seeing this amazing tree and shopping and dining. We loved the balcony with a view of the sunset. If you want a beach barbecue there is a place right next to the hotel. Easy to walk on the beach or swim. The ocean is about 10 seconds away from the lobby. Quiet get-away kind of place. Not too fancy but a pleasant location with good staff. Close to other beach locations. I would love to go back there and sit on the balcony and soak in the sun the ocean air. Must get a beach view!

Room Tip: Make sure you pick an ocean view room to see the sunset and passing ships. It would be a shame to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked our stay at Lahaina Shores through Hotels.com because we had about $600 in credits and wanted to get the nicest room we could. Boy did we get lucky--we had an Oceanfront Premier Studio on the 6th floor that completely exceeded our expectations. The room was very tastefully done and renovated. Also, a great kitchen (most of which we didn't use because we didn't do any cooking--but could have easily made all our meals there, with the range, oven, microwave, frig, dishwasher, pots & pans, flatware, barware, etc. etc). Nice comfy king bed, big bathroom, lanai--no complaints at all about the room.

The view was unreal. Don't skimp--get yourself an ocean view. It's right on the water--there's a little beach (mostly for strolling), so there's nothing impeding your view. There's not a lot of foot traffic at that end of Lahaina so it really feels much more remote than it is. Lana'i and Kaho'olawe in the distance. Great sunsets, too. Go as high up in the building (7 floors) as you can so you can get nothing but ocean in the view from your bed. The sound of water fills your room--really can't be beat.

The hotel is adjacent to the Shops at 505, which is a nice little mall with a few restaurants, galleries, and the Feast at Lele, the high-end luau on Maui. Which is great, because you can hear its sounds every night between 7-9 pm. Just enough to be cool and not too loud to be annoying.

The staff at the hotel are great--kept our room nice, answered all of our questions, held onto our room key during the days, etc. Very happy with the service.

Just a thought--we spent most of our days out and about doing Maui. Snorkeling, boating, hiking, Hana, Haleakala, etc. Lahaina was advantageous for us because we didn't want to have to drive at night, knowing we'd be beat every day. Staying at Lahaina Shores opened up our evenings and made them painless. There are more than enough restaurant/bar options within a 10-minute walk (and, as mentioned, some directly adjacent to the hotel) that we felt we didn't have to sacrifice anything.

There's no real amenities in this resort, but we didn't want to experience Maui from the lobby or pool of a hotel--you can do that anywhere. If you want to get out and about during the days, staying in Lahaina at the Lahaina Shores might be a great option for you. And waking up/coming home to the ocean view (again, make this happen if you stay there), made our trip.

Room Tip: OCEAN VIEW IS ESSENTIAL. Also, try to get 5th, 6th, or 7th floor to be above the palm trees for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just booked our 4th visit to Lahaina Shores. During our first visit we were not sure how we would like staying in Lahaina. Once there we fell in love with the location. We could relax in our room, lounge on the beach just outside the hotel, or walk to town for dinner and any other entertainment. The studio room with full kitchen worked out just great for us to eat in or make snacks. We first had an unrenovated Mtn. view room which was comfortable and clean. Next visit we were bumped up to one of their newly renovated ocean side rooms (this was before they called them "Premier" rooms". Loved it and spluged for a Premier Mtn. view room on our last visit. Which is what we have just booked. We recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing place to stay without having to go up north at the larger resorts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisEdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott valley, az.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This last Feb. we celebrated our 50th anniversary on Maui and stayed at Lahaina Shores.
The staff was warm and friendly during our stay.
WOW you walk out the doors off the lobby and there is the pool and grassy area with loads of chairs under the palm trees and straight ahead is the beach and bay with views of Lanai.
Wonderful ocean breeze cool pool water and warm ocean what more could one want oh yes walking distance to Front street Banyon Tree and access to the daily excursions, the art galleries and all the shops and fine eating establishments. We even walked to mass on Sunday morning.
Our room was clean and quite comfortable and waking every morning to the clouds and mist descending from the West Maui Mountains with our coffee and the sunsets in the evening around the pool. Shopping and eating right next door and very reasonable rates made this memory magical and we are planning a return this next Feb. and are going to stay at Lahaina Shores as it is not a big resort with all the commotion. ALOHA Lahaina Shores A HUI HOU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauidreamer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
9.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.0 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing