We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yikes... 2 stars is pretty generous for this place...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yikes... 2 stars is pretty generous for this place...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that this is the first time we ever stayed in a condo and not a hotel, so didn’t know what to expect. These particular condos are advertised as being run as a hotel, but they are not. Also, if one desires to stay for a prolonged period of time in the Lahaina area, like a month – these accommodations might work (coin-opt laundry onsite, full kitchens). If you are staying just for a few days or a week… well… find another place. We wanted to stay in Lahaina itself but now looking back, we should have gotten to Napili Point (there are some gorgeous ocean front hotels and condos in that area with outstanding snorkeling).
These condos advertise being the only beachfront hotel in Lahaina. That’s the reason why we went for it. Not the smartest idea. You can’t swim at that beach – too close to harbor, dirty water, rocky shore. There is a gate that separates the hotel area from the beach. The lock didn’t work properly, so the key wouldn’t open it. We had to flag down another quest to try their locks because the front desk wasn’t helpful.
Hotel amenities: The pool is not heated. The hot tub didn’t work when we were there.
Front Desk: They will not let you get into your room even 5 min before the check-in time. We showed up a couple of hours earlier, dropped our luggage and left to explore. In spite of the fact that they knew that the guests have arrived, no attempt was made to finish the cleaning earlier. We actually had to wait another 20 minutes after the check-in time for them to be ready. The coffee is rationed – 1 caffeinated and 1 de-caf per day. No exceptions. Front desk did give us 1 extra package grudgingly. The cleaning crew will not wash the dishes or clean the coffee pot.
Room: Do NOT select the Mountain View rooms. You get the views of the parking lot and the main street leading to the downtown. It’s very loud in the early morning. The room itself felt very outdated, the bed was not comfortable, the bathroom – tiny, old yellowed space.
The only two good things I can say about this hotel – walking distance to the downtown, literally 5 minutes, and the little market located next door for any last minute goodies. Oh, and all the awesome hotel guests whom we’ve met there!!! But in the end, we were so glad when we got out of there! Yikes…

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TripTraveljourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    377
    93
    32
    19
See reviews for
143
600
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We got an unrenovated ocean front room through the hotel website (Room 431). The bathroom and kitchen were modern enough and quite big for a studio unit. The room was exceptionally clean, and the view from the balcony was sensational. Unfortunately we had a murphy bed, which was old and lumpy and gave us aching backs and very little sleep. I will never risk the possibility of getting a murphy bed in any hotel again. The airconditioner was so loud we had to turn it off at night (or to have a conversation). The forrest of plastic plants throughout the unit was a little disturbing.

The location of the hotel was very good for exploring Lahaina, and the shops and restaurants next door were very high quality. The beach in front of the hotel was good for paddling but too rocky for swimming.

For a better Maui experience, my advice would be to stay in a nice resort on Ka'anapali Beach and just do a day trip in to Lahaina Town.

Room Tip: Nothing less than ocean front and renovated. Don't accept a murphy bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grhingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an ocean front one bedroom condo. It was updated with a full kitchen and a gorgeous view of the ocean with a wall to wall sliding door onto a lovely patio where we eat most of our meals. The cruise ship parked nearby and the beach was lovely to walk on although not the best for swimming. We loved that there were restaurants and shops right next door and Front Street was a short walk away. We went for a stroll every night along Front Street and enjoyed the shops and restaurants there too. The pool was a little cool but the lawn chairs were nice and plentiful. There were washers/dryers available too. There is a concierge available to schedule tours for you. All you could want for a great price. We will come here again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view. It is worth the extra price. That's why you come to Hawaii so enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful view and location,,,,,,,it's old school, and that's the charm. Stay on the ocean front if you choose to stay, it's worth it! Spectacular ocean view and amazing sunset watching. Close to town and an easy stroll. Our unit had a kitchen which allowed us to pack our own lunches for our daily excursions. I would recommend this beautiful property as a quiet Hawaiian experience.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed a night in Lahaina because we wanted to take an early whale trip in the morning. The price and the location seemed good, and as it turned out, we were right on both! It's about a 5 minute walk to the Banyan Tree. The property itself is beautiful, which was a nice surprise. It's right on the water, and literally a few steps down and you are in the ocean! The pool and hot tub are nice, as well. The rooms seem to vary, and ours was adequate, but not the best. It was clearly old and outdated, but for a night or two there it was a great deal for the price! Our room, however was not ready, even though we were promised a 3 pm check in time, so we were forced to sit in the lobby for 45 min waiting. In addition, we were told it was ready, went up, only to find the cleaning woman not close to done cleaning the room. So, we sat outside in the hallway for another 15 min.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The "mountain view" of units face also Front Street and the parking lot. At 2:00am we heard garbage trucks doing their pick up rounds. There were also party goers being loud and noisy past 1:00am. You definitely cannot enjoy sleeping with your lanai doors open.
We arrived at Kahului airport at 8:00pm. It was pitch dark, driving was not pleasant, to Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel.
NB
No washer/dryer in our 5th floor unit; laundry facility located by the elevators on the floor. To do 2 loads of laundry, it took from 7:30am until 10:00am and cost more than $12.00 in quarters (coin operated machines). $2.50 gives 30 minutes of drying time, but more time is needed to dry a load of towels and underclothing since the "high heat" in the dryers is not set high at all.
There is no wifi available around the hotel grounds; wifi is only inside the units.
Our biggest disappointment was to find out that the reef close to the shoreline would make it difficult for us to swim in the ocean. South Maui is the place to be if you wish to swim without fear of hitting rocks and cutting yourself in the process.
The harbor within walking distance from the hotel provided for numerous activities, as well as the quaint town of Lahaina. Walking into town was a pleasant activity for us. The weather was fabulous with an average of 25 degrees Celsius on most of our 3 week stay, except for a few days of 22 degrees and a couple of days of 30 degrees towards the end of our stay. We are a retired couple.

Room Tip: This was a VRBO unit rental on the 5th floor, Mountain view. The ocean view rooms are what I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed early April. A short drive from the airport right on the ocean. As stated by others this hotel does not have a restaurant but there are several near by. The hotel is clean and does have a pool and lots of sitting area for tanning or relaxing. We were up early and sat on the balcony watching the whales,incredable. The town is a short walk with lots to offer shopping and eating. We would recommend this hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: Get Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
9.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,452 reviews
17.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing