We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel right in Lahaina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in Lahaina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an ocean front one bedroom condo. It was updated with a full kitchen and a gorgeous view of the ocean with a wall to wall sliding door onto a lovely patio where we eat most of our meals. The cruise ship parked nearby and the beach was lovely to walk on although not the best for swimming. We loved that there were restaurants and shops right next door and Front Street was a short walk away. We went for a stroll every night along Front Street and enjoyed the shops and restaurants there too. The pool was a little cool but the lawn chairs were nice and plentiful. There were washers/dryers available too. There is a concierge available to schedule tours for you. All you could want for a great price. We will come here again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view. It is worth the extra price. That's why you come to Hawaii so enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    410
    97
    33
    22
See reviews for
162
674
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful view and location,,,,,,,it's old school, and that's the charm. Stay on the ocean front if you choose to stay, it's worth it! Spectacular ocean view and amazing sunset watching. Close to town and an easy stroll. Our unit had a kitchen which allowed us to pack our own lunches for our daily excursions. I would recommend this beautiful property as a quiet Hawaiian experience.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed a night in Lahaina because we wanted to take an early whale trip in the morning. The price and the location seemed good, and as it turned out, we were right on both! It's about a 5 minute walk to the Banyan Tree. The property itself is beautiful, which was a nice surprise. It's right on the water, and literally a few steps down and you are in the ocean! The pool and hot tub are nice, as well. The rooms seem to vary, and ours was adequate, but not the best. It was clearly old and outdated, but for a night or two there it was a great deal for the price! Our room, however was not ready, even though we were promised a 3 pm check in time, so we were forced to sit in the lobby for 45 min waiting. In addition, we were told it was ready, went up, only to find the cleaning woman not close to done cleaning the room. So, we sat outside in the hallway for another 15 min.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The "mountain view" of units face also Front Street and the parking lot. At 2:00am we heard garbage trucks doing their pick up rounds. There were also party goers being loud and noisy past 1:00am. You definitely cannot enjoy sleeping with your lanai doors open.
We arrived at Kahului airport at 8:00pm. It was pitch dark, driving was not pleasant, to Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel.
NB
No washer/dryer in our 5th floor unit; laundry facility located by the elevators on the floor. To do 2 loads of laundry, it took from 7:30am until 10:00am and cost more than $12.00 in quarters (coin operated machines). $2.50 gives 30 minutes of drying time, but more time is needed to dry a load of towels and underclothing since the "high heat" in the dryers is not set high at all.
There is no wifi available around the hotel grounds; wifi is only inside the units.
Our biggest disappointment was to find out that the reef close to the shoreline would make it difficult for us to swim in the ocean. South Maui is the place to be if you wish to swim without fear of hitting rocks and cutting yourself in the process.
The harbor within walking distance from the hotel provided for numerous activities, as well as the quaint town of Lahaina. Walking into town was a pleasant activity for us. The weather was fabulous with an average of 25 degrees Celsius on most of our 3 week stay, except for a few days of 22 degrees and a couple of days of 30 degrees towards the end of our stay. We are a retired couple.

Room Tip: This was a VRBO unit rental on the 5th floor, Mountain view. The ocean view rooms are what I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed early April. A short drive from the airport right on the ocean. As stated by others this hotel does not have a restaurant but there are several near by. The hotel is clean and does have a pool and lots of sitting area for tanning or relaxing. We were up early and sat on the balcony watching the whales,incredable. The town is a short walk with lots to offer shopping and eating. We would recommend this hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: Get Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful. Great location close to the strip and shops. And the room and view was breath taking!!! I would recommend this place to anyone! Lahaina is a place you have to see and this place will make your trip one to remember!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a basic resort, really a hotel or condo unit, on the south edge of Lahaina, walking distance to Banyan Tree Square and the harbor. Our room (#228) was booked through a travel agent, but I understand from other comments here that you can also book through sites like VRBO. We were told that the hotel had been recently completely renovated, but our room was not. Yet it was clean, had a kitchen w/ dishes, pans, etc, a patio, and a good bed -- everything we needed. We were on the mountain side, and sometimes the traffic was noisy, but the patio doors were very sound proof.
The what is unique about this facility is it's location and it's beach. It's conveniently located on the island, with fairly easy access to both the east and west sides of the island. Maalaea might be better, and Kihei might also be good, but I have no idea what's available there. Lahaina is a nice, small town, and it was great to be able to have easy access there day or night.
The beach, too, is unique. Totally different from the impeccably maintained beaches of the resorts further north. More like the natural beaches that run in front of the many homes of its neighbors further along Front Street. There is a reef some distance out from shore that runs all along the beach, which means that there is absolutely no surf. The beach itself is sandy, but the ocean bottom is rocky once you get out a bit. All of which means it is great for sunbathing, beach walking, standup paddle surfing, etc., and wonderful for young children who love to play in the sand and at the water's edge. But if you are looking for waves and surf and a boogie board spot, this isn't for you.
In short, if you are looking for a single destination spot that has everything -- if you want to stay put in one place for your vacation time -- then you would probably be happier with one of the resorts further north. But when we vacation, our hotel is our "home base" from which we explore the area, and this was perfect. We explored several of the beaches to the northwest, and swam and snorkeled there. Enjoyed the aquarium to the east, watched the surfers on Hookipa beach to the north, and hiked the waterfalls along the Hana Road to the east. And strolled the shops, galleries, and restaurants of Lahaina in the evening. Wonderful!

Room Tip: check out renting directly from a condo owner. You might have photos of various units and how they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trientje138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing