We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice renovation/remodeling throughout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice renovation/remodeling throughout”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Lahaina Shores Beach Resort five years ago and returned this year, Jan. 22-30. We were pleasantly surprised to see the nice renovations in the lobby, grounds, and our studio unit this time around (Room 209). This unit has beautiful granite and tile countertops in the kitchen and bath, as well as other up-to-date furnishings. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The ocean view from the lanai, although partially blocked by a tree, provided enjoyable viewing of the ocean, beach, and passing whales. The resort is within easy walking distance to Front Street with its many attractions --the waterfront, shops, and restaurants (my husband preferred Moose McGillycuddy's on Front, and I liked Pelle Pasta on Front & Dickenson).

My one complaint is that the resort charges extra for parking and internet access, which comes across as rather cheap and petty. How much better PR it would be to simply up the daily rate by $20, then advertise as "FREE parking and internet!"

Overall, I would recommend Lahaina Shores Beach Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    415
    100
    35
    22
See reviews for
167
695
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Came to Maui this year for the whales and the February "Whale Tales" event at the Maui Theatre (home of 'Ulalena) in Lahaina. Lahaina Shores was the perfect place to stay without a car, being so accessible to the harbor and Lahaina Town. The second floor studio was clean and well appointed and offered a gorgeous view of Lana'i sunsets and spouting whales. The bed was more comfortable than home. All of the staff were friendly and eager to be of service. A special entrance to the Shops at 505 provided the convenience of shopping for snacks or necessities at Whaler's General Store as well as casual eating or fine dining. And one could enjoy the music of the next door Feast at Lele on stay-at-home evenings. Lahaina Shores captures the charm of Olde Lahaina while providing a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostgrownup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in 2 different units-1 Oceanview Penthouse Unit with very outdated furnishings and were moved to a a Poolside Downstairs Unit which had been nicely upgraded. The Penthouse unit had a beautiful view, but the furnishings looked like they came from Goodwill, the tile was chipped and dirty, the carpeting was stained and the appliances were very outdated. It is worth the extra cost to stay in an upgraded unit. We have stayed at the Marriott Wailea, Grand Wailea, Hyatt Kaanapali, Marriott Kaanapali, Westin Kaanapali and in a Kihei Condo. For the money, the Premier Accommodations were the best value. If you are considering staying in another Lahaina Shores unit, I would not book without receiving photos. Since we are local it was not a huge deal staying in the worn out penthouse unit, but if I was on my honeymoon or if this was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime, I would have been very upset and would have moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book without getting photos of the unit you are going to be staying. The quality varies DRA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpineapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a recently remodeled "studio" on the third floor. It had a full kitchen with all the needed equipment for a short stay. We were on the "skinny" and needed a place to be able to cook most of our meals for two days. The room was large enough to accomidate three and we had the ocean view lani which always kept us on the look out for whales and allowed seating for meals.
The grounds were well kept and any noise was "wisked" away from the sound of the ocean.
I would visit Lahaina Shores again with every" breach" (whale speak).
A speacial thank you to Chester at guest services. We had been in another part of the island and had food that needed refrigeration. We arrived prior to check in time but our food was sent up to our room and cold and ready when we re-arrive.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3paddypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
407 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay in penthouse 707 for 10 days. There are 7 penthouses, 4 (odd numbers) with oceanfront views and 3 (even numbers) with mountain views on the 7th floor of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. Penthouse 707 is a large one-bedroom suite with a sofa bed in the living room. Full-size kitchen, big-screen TV, washer/dryer, two bathrooms, large private lanai (balcony) with an amazing view, and daily housekeeping services were all included.

A real key is still used for access to the suite instead of a keycard. There was no safe in the suite but safety deposit boxes are available by the front desk. The staff was really friendly.

An Expedia Local Expert located in the lobby made arranging tours handy. Resort has a swimming pool, whirlpool, and a private access to the beach. Lots of colourful fish can be seen while snorkeling just offshore. No restaurant on site but right next door at 505 Front St. are several eateries including the Feast at Lele Luau. There is also a Whalers General Store at 505 Front St. which was really handy. Underground parking was available next door at 505 Front St. for $8 + taxes per day.

Only negatives were the "spotty" internet service and the nosier than desired ventilation system. Despite the negatives, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, B.C.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

You need to know that all the condos here are privately owned. Some are updated, and others are not. Very important to make sure you know what you are booking! We talked to one man at the pool that was in a unit where he said everything was child sized - height of counters, bathtub, everything.

We stayed in 706 owned by Tom Myers. Loved it here. It is a penthouse overlooking the mountains. Beautiful place. When you are booking, ask about the cleaning. We were here for a month and never had anyone come and clean for us. I thought it would be once a week or something like that. I think you just need to be clear when you book as to what your expectations are. The unit is large - bedroom is beautiful, full kitchen, great living space! Our boys came to stay for a week - do NOT put adults in the pull out bed - it is NOT adequate. Would be okay for smaller children though, I think. This penthouse is on the mountain side which I thought might not be good, but it is a beautiful view!!! It was so nice to wake up to.

If you are bothered by noise, you will have to shut the doors at night - not a hardship (the air conditioning works great), but the bar next door gets noisy sometimes.

When we come back (and we will), we will be looking at booking on the ocean side - would love to be able to hear the waves and watch the whales from higher up. Like I said, though, be careful when you are booking so you have an updated unit. Apparently the strata is putting all the units in a pool and 30 have to be updated every year - but owners don't have to participate if they book the unit privately.

The location of Lahaina Shores is PERFECT! It is a very short walk to town, but away from the hustle and bustle and it is right on the beach. A busy day on the beach was less than 20 people as far as we could see. The beach side is on a reef, so you don't have big waves, and you do need water shoes if you want to go out walking. We just went to some of the other beaches if we wanted to body surf.

There is a kayak rental place and a surf school right next door. They were extremely nice and very helpful.

Front Street (main street in Lahaina) is looking a little bit tired and needs some updating - but we loved wandering at night. Wednesday night the Pioneer Inn has an amazing rock and roll band and there are people dancing in the streets. They end at 8:00 though so you have to go early. The town seems to roll up and go to sleep by 10:00 every night, so not much nightlife if that is what you are looking for.

I will write other reviews about some of the places we shopped and ate.

Bottom line - we loved it here and will certainly be back!!!

Room Tip: make very sure you know if you are booking an updated room. Some of the original ones are not looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

just came back from Maui, there's no bad time to go there -- the weather is always fantastic!
ok, the hotel -- we stayed in a studio on a sixth floor with an ocean view (last January we were looking at the mountain, ain't the same, trust me). I kept the balcony door open and would wake up to the trashing of the ocean at high tide; which was marvelous -- would make coffee and have it at the balcony watching the sun rise, I miss it already!
We had a full service -- cleaning, fresh sheets and towels etc. We had a full kitchen, with all the pots etc., no complaints. The bathroom is spacious, modern, lovely and we never had a problem with hot water. There's also a barbecue downstairs and you can snorkel or surf right there at the wall.
It's been really lovely, what can I say -- can't beat that price and the fact that I could spot whales from the balcony; I mean really, what else do you want for $200 a night?
Well, maybe a free parking which is not ($8 per day), pool tables or ping pong or something like that when the swimming pool or the hot tub is not an option. And the bed was on the soft side -- sheets were Egyptian cotton, fantastic. Radios on each night table, TV, dinning table inside and nice table to dine on the balcony. I would go there anytime but the trip is looooooooooooong and the jet lag hurts. Btw, the place was full of couples well over 50.

Room Tip: all rooms on the ocean side are quiet, not to worry. the ones on the ground floor -- well, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floundering_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
9.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.0 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing