We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE - LOCATION - COMFORT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VALUE - LOCATION - COMFORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. We stayed in room #229 which we booked through Classic Resorts (classicresortsservices.com). 229 is an ocean front studio apartment that has been recently renovated using select finishes and furnishings to qualify for the Premier Accommodations catagory. The view is framed by manicured grounds and palm fronds and is even more spectacular then the website photo. The building has an adequate lobby and a friendly staff and offers free parking, high speed internet and daily maid service to the Premier Accommodations guests. My cost for the week was a third of what it cost me for a week in a hotel room at a Wailea resort. Ok, LSBR doesn't have valet parking or a spa and the ambiance driving up and walking in does not compare, but the place where you rest your head - rocks! We are already looking forward to our next trip and we will be sure to book #229.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front Premier Accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    396
    95
    33
    20
See reviews for
151
647
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was our first stop as part of our honeymoon in Maui / Oahu in September of 2011. We wanted to start at one end of Maui and move our away around the east coast.

Upon arrival, we were greeted and shown our rooms. It was studio oceanfront room and was functional in regards to having a kitchen, full bath, plenty of closet space, and a small balcony overlooking their pool, and beachfront area. However, the room was, as some other reviewers put it, "tired". They were also a lot darker in the rooms than shown on the website.

Even so, the view from the room was beautiful as the water was always in sight, and the stay was very comfortable.

One of the many benefits to staying at Lahaina Shores was the activity bookings that you could do, in-house, as they would give you a brief introduction to the area, and the available activities. As the hotel is a short walk to the center of Lahaina and the docks where most of the water-based activities began, it was a convenient base.

We had previously booked a Trinity Tour excursion (highly recommended), but was also able to book a paragliding session and a traditional luau right in the hotel.

It was a pleasure to stay there and is somewhere we would go back to if we were ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suites are well worth the amazing view. However, the palm trees lining the beach can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianwychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

It started off bad. Arrived late afternoon so room should have been ready but when we got to our room, someone was in there fixing air conditioning. Took awhile for them to find us another room. We don't like complaining, these things happen but overall room was out dated and abit under average. The only really good aspect of staying here was the location. As it's on Front St, we were able to walk to all restaurants etc wouldn't stay here again, will pay more next time to stay in a nicer hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurTravelsTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great place to stay, very friendly and helpful, nicely laid out, on the water and very close to "downtown" activities but far enough away to avoid if desired. Ocean side is better due to some street noise and roosting early morning birds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights during October 2012. First 5 nights in a "mountain view" privately owned room. Unit OK but a bit "tired" and in need of a makeover. Stayed remainder of time in a resort-owned "sea view" room which was very comfy, well appointed and recently renovated. Overall, the resort is a place that I can recommend for amenity, location and value. Sea view is much better.

Room Tip: Resort owned room with a sea view. Parking is extra - around $8 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our favorite place in maui. We had a room that had been updated and it was done perfect!!
The sound of the wave's all day and all night is something my husband and i have never experience before anywhere eles. The staff is very nice and helpful. We wish we could go back more often. The beach is great but would suggest wearing water shoes. We also must mention that this being a NON SMOKING hotel is a real plus, and we mean no place on the property !!. Betty's that is next door is a wonderful place to eat, food is great.

Room Tip: stay on the ocean side and preminium room, second floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Imagine this...you arrive in Maui to learn there has been a fire in the resort you booked months ago.

You are in Maui for the first time, have NO clue where to stay, pull out your phone, pull up Trip Advisor and decide to check out the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort.

At the front desk of LSBR, a price is quoted and the front desk clerk then gives a phone number, points to the lobby phone. "Call, you'll get a better price".

She wasn't kidding try 45% less.

Good points:

** Beautiful resort, great view, newly remodeled ocean front unit, large balconies (We watched a wedding on the beach from our lanai) Great restaurants next door,Walk to Lahaina Town, free parking at your door, beautiful grounds.

Lacking:

** All the bells and whistles - no spa, no health club, no room service etc.
Just one beautiful resort that did not rip off these 2 last minute travelers. So glad we found our way to this door. We will return..

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more get ocean front "premium" (Newly remodeled) suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
9.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
17.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing