We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Ranked #21 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Secluded location away from the hustle and bustle of major resorts. We stayed in B4 and amenities were satisfactory. Decor may not be to everyone's taste. Housekeeping was less than desirable - trash not emptied daily and dishes weren't put away. The beach and pool are both good. Overall a good spot for those not seeking a mega resort.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NWfamilySnohomish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 214 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2007

We spent 10 days at the Kahana Sunset in March with our three young boys (5, 3, 1)and really enjoyed it. We stayed in F4 and the condo was spacious and well laid out for our family. It was clean and well maintained. We were quite nervous after having read a previous posting about "the bait and switch" but this unit was just fine. The waterfront units in "F" are probably the best since you can sit on the deck and watch your kids in the water or sit outside while kids may be napping and watch whales, turtles etc.

The best part of this place is the secluded beach which means we really only had guests from the condos and the beach wasn't at all crowded. Pretty good snorkeling off the beach but we had some rough water while we were there so the water wasn't always as clear as it must often be. The kids loved the pool and had a great time.

Nice atmosphere with a mix of families and friendly older couples. Lots of kids for our kids to meet and play with.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCMnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We spent 9 days in Ocean Front Unit A-5. A large 2 bedroom unit with
2 lanais and a great view! We watched many whales and turtles from our lanai, not to mention the Sunset.

We had 5 people in our room and fit a roll away into the second bedroom. The condo while very clean was a little dated. But given the view and the location we really didn't notice!

We found the Kahana Sunset to be very quiet and relaxing. Yes you can
see your neighbors on their Lanai and walking past but everyone was very friendly and people passed on boogie boards, beach chairs, wine,
etc. as they were heading home to neighbors.

The semi private beach is a great place to snorkel with turtles and a great place to begin your snorkeling. The next bays up Napili and Kapalua have some of the best snorkeling in west Maui.

Bugs - yes we saw 1 cockroach - but get real it is Hawaii! And several small Gecko's.

A great place away from the big resorts and the crowds. It really is as beautiful as the photos show!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NW_Family_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We have been to all the Islands and this was our best vaction because of the condo. The grounds are very clean, the beach was perfect for our toddler. They have a great kiddie pool as others mentioned. My son loved that pool! The beach was never crowded. There were always plenty of lounge chairs available at all times of the day. The condo was nice. It has two master baths which is nice when sharing with another couple. There is an excellent snorkeling beach a couple of miles north [kapalua Bay], there was decent surf a few more miles north [DT Flemming Beach]. DT FBeach had great facilities as well so it was perfect for the kids while dad surfed. This place had everything! it was walking distance to a strip mall that had a grocery store and a few places to eat out. It was hard to leave the condo complex and explore because the beach and pool were so great! It was nice to have surf and snorkeling so close by as well! The lanai's are very large as well. It is a smaller complex in a residential area so it is a lot less touristy than say Kanapali beach. Most days the condo beach had plenty of sand but there were a couple of days that the swell was big and not much beach so you pack up and explore. We went in January 2007 and it was perfect weather. I was concerned it might be a bit cold but it was just right! not too hot and water was warm.

The only negative thing is that it can be pretty noisy. Many of the condos' backside is facing a busy road....especially Bld D. You could hear every truck on that road in your bedroom at all hours. The windows are wood slats with screens so they don't actually shut all the way. We could also hear the family next store all the time. They had a baby that was crying a lot [poor guy] but it sounded like the kid was litterly in our room and it was the middle of the night! We could also hear the dad snoring like he was in our room! But this place was so nice that it didn't bother us enough to not stay here again. Everything else was perfect!

I would stay in Bld E if you can't afford ocean front. Bld E is off the road the most and still has views if you have a 2/2 unit. Ocean front would be the best. The sound of the ocean would probably drown out a lot of the noise we heard and those are far from the road. We want to go back to this place every year and that is the first time we can say that about any condo/hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wemisssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed here with our 2 yr old son. We had been to big Island the year before (when he was one) and had a disatrous time. This place was great for us. There were lots of families; lots of children. The pool had a toddler side that the youngest ones could stand in with their parents. The beach was pretty calm, so more palatable to our wave-averse child. The woman managing it was very helpful; told us where we could get reasonably priced groceries. We barbequed outside quite a bit; the one time we ate out dinner it was a big disappointment-pricey and we cooked better! The grounds were beautiful (we had a garden view condo). Condo was fine, not gorgeous, but comfortabel and clean. The only complaint I had was that one day another resident walked off with our towels (all the towels looked alike). I called Sullivan Properties and the guy stated that unless they turned up in the wash, we would be charged for them. Unnecessary hassle on an otherwise perfect stay. We're coming back this year, but bringing our own towels.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank jjjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here 7/27 - 7/31/2006 and loved every minute of it. We had a beachfront unit in Building F, which was very nice. We were with a group of family members staying in other units, and this is great place for this type of event. Our two daughters loved having their own bedroom and bathroom, and we all loved the private beach. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

I'd like to point out that it's not the best place if you want romance or privacy. For our purposes though, it was a nice home away from home. Very comfortable, and truly a relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank writermomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank jdkd319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#6 of 43 in Lahaina
178 reviews
1 mi away
Maui Beach Ocean View Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $253 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing