We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit D-11. Fantastic, family friendly place to stay!”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Ranked #25 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
claremont, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unit D-11. Fantastic, family friendly place to stay!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just got back from an 8-day stay in Unit D-11 at the Kahana Sunset. This is such a great place for kids, even the little ones. The beach is very private and never too crowded. The management at the front desk is always very helpful. Our unit was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook. We had a nice flat screen TV with cable and free WIFI that worked perfectly. Every unit is different so please research before you book.

This is my second time staying at the Kahana Sunset. The first time was in the F Building without my kids. This time we stayed in D-11 and brought them with. This unit is nicely upgraded and quiet. It's the very last unit in the corner of the complex. There are views of the ocean and sunset from the upper lanai. There are windows all along the side of the unit which gives a nice breeze. The master bedroom has an AC unit that was great for the warm nights. The owner of the condo was very easy to work with and responds to emails promptly. Overall we were very happy with our stay and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the F building have fantastic locations, just keep in mind your lanai is not as private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erindraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    63
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
116
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've been coming to here for awhile, always staying in various units. There are 2 management companies that run the units here Sullivan and Kahana. Our unit B10 (second from the end) was run by Kahana Pros: The location and private beach are great. Cons: one bath towel/per guest (thin, scratchy). They come in every day to clean i.e. replace towels and sweep floors. Floors are a mixed brown tile that hide a lot of dirt. One hour after showering and walking around condo I noticed the bottoms of my feet were black! I wore flipflops while inside for rest of trip. Kitchen was very sparse,with just the very basics. We have stayed in other units that have much better stocked kitchens, games, dvd's, pool & beach toys. Also have previously stayed with Sullivan who gives you as many towels as you need/want along with unlimited little soaps, detergent, etc. Don't think we'll be renting this one again. Will make sure we stick with Sullivan in the future. Double check with management what services you will be getting and how stocked your unit is for future rentals.
It is great location. Lots of good snorkeling nearby and on private beach. Pool is too warm (they keep it @ 88 degrees), lots of people complained. Occasionally local kids come and fish off beach where guests are swimming - you also have to complain to management to get them to leave. Beach wall is crumbling, there's a net along the top of it to keep people away which obscures ocean view, and needs to be repaired asap. Wish it were as good as it used to be.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoutyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSRP4909, General Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha Scoutyyy,

We are sorry to learn you weren't completely satisfied with your recent visit to Kahana Sunset. It is unfortunate you did not contact the office with your concerns. Our office is on property and open 8:00AM - 4:00PM, 7 days a week. We would have been happy to provide any additional items that would have made your visit more enjoyable. We do provide bath soap, shampoo and conditioner, body lotion, dish and laundry soap. Our complimentary maid service includes daily towel changes, sweeping, garbage removal and mid-visit linen changes. Any one of our employees would have been willing and able to assist you.


You mention that occasionally local children were using the beach. You may not have known that all beaches, including the beach in front of Kahana Sunset, are owned by the State of Hawaii and are by law accessible to the public. While our guests enjoy the secluded nature of Kahana Sunset, we cannot and will not restrict access to what belongs to everyone.

We hope that your next visit to Maui is more enjoyable and that you will feel comfortable asking for assistance from our staff.

Mahalo!

Page Van Bramer, Manager
Kahana Sunset Rental Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kahana Sunset is always our first choice for our visits to Maui. We appreciate that it is a smaller facility and not a big high rise. We enjoy the friendly staff, beautiful beach, fabulous sunsets and resident turtles. It is great to just roll out of our condo and directly on the beach which is rarely crowded and perfect for snorkeling, swimming and shelling. For Boogie Boarding you probably want to go to a different beach.

The comfort of the beds and bedding varies by unit since they are individually owned, but all that we have tried have come well stocked with kitchen equipment, books, games, videos and toys for the kids. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

As I said in my previous reviews, this is like coming home for us! After reading some of the reviews, I felt compelled to respond to some of the complaints.

You are in Paradise on Maui fer Pete's sake! If you cant handle not having WiFi maybe you shouldn't go on vacation. There is a reason for The unhurried way of life, and "Island Time!"

Most of the units do not have air conditioning. There is this wonderful thing called Trade Winds! Open your windows and enjoys the breezes and the smells and sounds of the island! Have a nice cold Mai Tai and relax!

Some, if not most of us prefer a non-heated pool! There is nothing worse than jumping into a warm "bathtub" to cool off after being in the sun. It also cuts down on the cost.

Don't blame the rest of the property for your issues with Sullivan.

Do your research! Again, there is a reason that most of the units don't have full ovens. They really are unnecessary, and only add to the heat.

You may see a cockroach or two. Maybe even a mouse! EEK! They are harmless folks! After all, you are in the tropics!

Finally, if it's that bad, please stay away. We would much rather spend our time meeting and visiting with happy, relaxed people. Not those who find fault in everything!

Can't wait to return February 26, 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEAtoJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family of 8 adults and two 5-year old stayed for 8 days in celebration of parents 50th Wedding Anniversary ... We had two 2-br units in the B Bldg .... Great views from the lanai and wonderful sounds of the ocean in the evening ....We rented two units that had been completely renovated .. do not rent one that has not been redone. These were beautiful with nice furniture, beautiful tile floors, granite kitchen .... Beware, though, no oven in one at all and such a small oven in the other the only thing that will fit in is a flat pizza. We had though we would roast a turkey and celebrate Thanksgiving a little early while we were all there ..... Ended up getting broasted chickens down the road .... Nice, but definitely not Thanksgiving Turkey!! Very nice calm beach for the girls, but family complained because the pool was too cold .... In November, when the clouds and showers come, they need to go back to heating the pool .... apparently their "solar" or whatever doesn't work well enough. This is a great place for family and the prices are reasonable .... Our main reason for picking this place was that the second bedroom in each unit had a Queen and a Single so in each unit the little girls had their own bed and didn't need to sleep in a pull-out ....They also have a nice herb garden for everyone to use. Perfect for a family .... when Hubby and I go by ourselves, I would probably stay in a place a little more romantic (and less family oriented.)

Room Tip: B Building is close enough for view and sounds without paying the hefty price for the two ocean fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandpat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you stay here and can't relax then there is something seriously wrong with you. We stayed in E5 and while we were one row back from the beach we woke every morning to sea views and relaxing on the deck having breakfast was outstanding. We had fans and did not need AC although I thing the bedrooms had it. Everything worked ok and all good. The complex has a pool that is really nice to relax in after you have snorkelled with the Turtles every morning and evening, they come right into feed and this would make the trip for those that are first time snorkeler's. The ground staff were friendly and great to us, even though hiccups are the responsibility of Sullivan's they help out with minor matters and information. Can't speak more highly of them. This place is great for families with young kids or a group of friends. The apartment had information regarding the surrounding area and where to shop, walk and eat. I have recommended this place to friends and would I go again, you bet. Aloha

Room Tip: All apartments have a view as far as I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pommiekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in paradise to a beautifully appointed condo at Kahana Sunset (E9). Jenn made us feel so welcome and was very responsive to our questions. The condo was situated facing the ocean with only one other building between us and the sand. The amenities at the property were fabulous and very well maintained. The tradewinds are fabulous and needed because there is no A/C. We bbq almost every night and the facilities were perfect! Thank you Jenn for sharing your lovely home at a very fair price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.8 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 41 in Lahaina
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#17 of 41 in Lahaina
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
0.9 mi away
Hololani Resort
Hololani Resort
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Property: Kahana Sunset
Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing