We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property and location (E9)”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahana Sunset
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in paradise to a beautifully appointed condo at Kahana Sunset (E9). Jenn made us feel so welcome and was very responsive to our questions. The condo was situated facing the ocean with only one other building between us and the sand. The amenities at the property were fabulous and very well maintained. The tradewinds are fabulous and needed because there is no A/C. We bbq almost every night and the facilities were perfect! Thank you Jenn for sharing your lovely home at a very fair price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Kahana Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

First time visitors to Maui. Traveled as a family. Our unit was F4. Was advertised as AC and Wifi. Ok the wifi that was there was so poor/weak that no device could connect. However, the wifi at the library on the property was wonderful. Great place to relax. The AC in the unit did not work. We bought a fan for our stay. The dishwasher didn't work properly as it would not complete a wash cycle. The dryer doesn't dry properly either. Have to stop and clean out the lint trap every 15min or so in the hopes that that would help. We had a little mouse visitor during our stay as well. The unit isn't well kept and it shows. When we called to get help we were connected to a voicemail that simply stated "leave a message". Sullivan Properties were pretty great at customer service BEFORE we paid. You live you learn I guess. Unfortunately we won't be back to this property and won't recommend this as a good place to stay. Good luck and be careful renting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amp g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Kahana Sunset many times and love it. WE usually take the lower end unit on the NW corner. It has a small pool with bbq area and its own private beach. It's a great place to come back to after exploring.

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imayachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just returned from a 3+ week stay at Kahana Sunset. We rented a 1-bedroom condo from the Kahana Sunset Rental Program [advantage; on-site mgmt, daily housekeeping service]. Kahana Sunset has: beautiful grounds, maintained by an on-site landscaping staff, medium size heated pool, excellent barbeque facilities, "private" very sandy beach [good snorkeling, etc!]. Condos are all privately-owned. Kahana Sunset is about a 15-min easy-drive west of Lahaina, and close to shopping/restaurants/tourist spots. Resort is well-managed. An excellent get-away in "Paradise". This was our third visit to Kahana Sunset. No question that we will return.

Room Tip: ocean-front and ocean-view are best
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAC133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful ten day stay at Kahana Sunset. We (two couples and a two-year old) loved the safe and family-friendly complex, the pool and the beautiful beach on the property. The location - close to Napili, Kahana, Kapalua AND Kaanapali - was excellent. We were a stone's throw from West Maui's best beaches, including D.T. Flemming Beach, Kapalua Beach and Kaanapali Beach.We stayed in a two floor, two-bedroom, two bathroom condo in E building. The layout was excellent and even though we weren't right on the ocean, we had ocean views from our huge balconies. We appreciated the daily towel service and the helpful staff. We also appreciated the great community feel, the complimentary herb garden and barbecues, the book exchange and the activities desk. The only reason we are not giving a 5/5 for this property is because of the following:(1) we had to wait almost a week to get an Internet connection in our unit despite several requests to management and (2) the unit (E1) could have been cleaner. However, all in all, we would recommend Kahana Sunset if you want a large unit in a family-friendly property located in an ideal spot in West Maui.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gewurztraweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at the Kahana sunset many times. You can't beat it for location (Napili Bay area), wild life (sea turtles everwhere) warmth and view. Large beach right in front is easily accessible. They have a semi covered community lounge patio that overlooks the cove and provides a tremendous view. Pretty much every 2 floor condo has a view of the water and islands. 2 bedroom condos are spacious for 4 people with kitchen, dining facility and family room. This is not a high rise hotel; the buildings are 3 story set against the hillside and provide a wonderful view. Our go to place in Maui

Room Tip: Rooms vary in pricing according to proximity to the beach. But all are close enough. We were in the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmac541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned home from Maui and our stay at Kahana Sunset. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldnt have stayed anywhere better. The condo was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed BBQing down by the pool, especially the fresh fish we caught on our fishing trip. The grounds are beautiful and everyone there was so helpful. Sally helped us book a perfect snorkeling boat tour. We were able to sit on our lanai and watch whales everyday. We definately recommend Kahana Sunset if you go to Maui. The private beach is easily accessed and we enjoyed watching turtles there.

Room Tip: The beachside units in building F look very nice. We stayed in E 10 and this unit has an outstandin...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbyrd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.8 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 43 in Lahaina
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 43 in Lahaina
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#12 of 43 in Lahaina
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $195 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing