We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Ranked #27 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here about ten times over the past 30 years. Like any condo development there are variations in care and upkeep between individual units. However, I have usually rented the F beachfront units. They have all been outstanding. The nearly private cove offers excellent snorkel, paddle board and surfing. Turtles abound, and there is great whale watching during winter months. It is a very short hop to the luxury amenities at Kapalua or Kaanapali, or the more touristy Lahaina. Nice pool and barbecues. I highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    61
    12
    14
    14
See reviews for
107
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently spent two weeks at Kahana Sunset. It was a family trip and 10 of us stayed in units B2, B1 and B1B.

My family of four (two adults and kids ages 2 and 4) stayed in B2. This unit is beautifully renovated: the bedding is luxurious, the countertops, floors and furniture are very attractive (very elegant while still maintaining a tropical theme). The kitchen is well appointed. And the view of the ocean from the two huge lanais is gorgeous as are the amazing sunsets.

The size of the unit was perfect for our family of four (the only thing we would have liked was a bath tub for the kids, but we made do! There are 2 1/2 bathrooms, but both full bathrooms have showers only).

B1 was also nice but not as extensively renovated -- it's open and bright, but the bathrooms need to be updated and parts of the kitchen are strange (specifically, the fridge opens into an odd shelf unit so it's a bit hard to access). The nice thing about B1 is that it's a corner unit so you have more privacy (the lanais on all of the units have a low wall between them so everyone has a great view of the water). And they have a bath tub, so that was nice for the kids. A family of four (two adults with kids ages 2 and 7) stayed here and it was a great amount of space for them.

B1B is also nice. Again, not as extensively renovated as B2, but the kitchen has been beautifully renovated and the unit is very open and bright. It's on the ground floor with two seating areas on the lanai, overlooking the pool with a view to the ocean as well. It's a corner unit, which is great, but it's also beside the staircase to the upper units in Building B, so there'a bit of traffic through there. Fortunately, it wasn't very busy when we were there so that wasn't at all disruptive for us. My parents stayed in this unit and were very pleased with it.

The Kahana Sunset property is perfect for families. The pool is heated and there's a shallow pool attached to the big pool that is great for small children. We spent hours there. The beach isn't very big but, again, it was great for our families. As an added bonus, there are several turtles that live in the bay and we saw them every day, swimming in the water and laying on a nearby beach. That was very exciting! The grounds are also beautifully maintained with tons of lush foliage and gorgeous flowers and fruit.

The only disadvantage I can see with Kahana Sunset is you can't do much walking in the immediate vicinity. We walked to Napili Market (10 minutes or so) but there are not many sidewalks so that made it awkward with our stroller. Other than that, I liked that it was private and a bit off the beaten track (versus the hustle and bustle of Kaanapali).

We booked all three units through Sullivan Properties and were very happy with the service. I also thought the prices were reasonable.

I would highly recommend Kahana Sunset as a beautiful, relaxing spot in Maui for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllisonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a week at Kahana Sunset where we stayed in unit A1. The view was absolutely amazing. The sunsets were incredible and we were able to wake up in the morning and look directly down on turtles swimming in the rocks below. The unit is very well furnished and immaculately maintained. The rental process was seamless through VRBO and the owner was very informative on local dining and activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacramentotraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

1 year later & myself along with 3 friends found our way back to Kahana Sunset. This time, we stayed in unit E7 - last year myself & a friend stayed in D1D. Both are owned by Peter Yushmanov & he & his wife take great pride in their 2 rentals. D1D is adorable but just 1 bedroom & stays very warm in there because of it's location on the property. Unit E7 is a great townhouse unit with 2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, lovely updated decor & killer views from 2 decks. It was nice to be able to go to bed at night with the sliding glass door open & listening to the waves crash against the shore. When all windows are open, there is a lovely cross breeze that keeps it very comfortable. My cousin slept on the pull out couch & she said it was comfortable. The staff that tends to the property keeps it meticulous & they are very helpful. Michael, the manager is super friendly & helped us with the wi-fi & DVD while we were there. Love this property & its location. Drive 2 minutes to Napili Plaza for a great grocery store, a superb coffee shop with killer quiche & baked goods & have lunch or dinner at Mama's ribs & rotisserie for amazing food at very reasonable prices. The chicken & ribs are so moist; they're falling of the bones!! YUM!! You can email Peter directly at his website: www.kahanasunsete7.com. Mahalo!!

Room Tip: You can see several photos of both his rental units & the property by visiting his website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamingofmaui2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at unit D1D. We would definitely NOT stay in this unit again because there was no air conditioning. This made for extremely uncomfortable nights - difficult to sleep. The overall resort was pretty good, but we learned that July is not the best month for boogie boarding. We would not suggest the summertime if you have a choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkesofvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This complex is devoted to making your stay in Maui memorable and relaxing. From the manicured grounds, to the private sand beach and well appointed units Kahuna Sunset is top notch. Michael, the resident manager, bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Only complaints - minor ones at that - parking spots are a bit narrow and it is about 15 to 20 minutes to Lahaina. All in all, highly recommend this complex to anyone vacationing in Maui. We are looking forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunoandDanaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have never been to Hawaii and was so looking forward to a relaxing time. We chose Unit D3 as the listing mentioned an ocean view. Yes, that was the only thing attractive about the unit. I could not tell if the carpet was peach, yellow, or tan as it was filthy. The refrigerator had mold on the seals and door was rusted. The chairs in the master suite were rusted around the buttons. The mirror frame actually fell off. I would return to the property but unless the owners decide to update I would never return to that unit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.6 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#10 of 40 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#23 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#14 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#12 of 40 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Property: Kahana Sunset
Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing