We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We recently returned from a wonderful 1 week stay at the Kaanapali Alii. We booked a garden view 2bd/2bth condo through Costco travel and were very pleased with our condo. The condo was spacious (about 1800 sq feet) and worked perfectly for 2 toddlers, an 8 month old and 3 adults. Maid service daily was a huge plus; they even loaded all the dirty dishes into the dishwasher. Even though this was high season and apparently the whole place was booked, it never felt too crowded around the property. I suspect this is due to the lower "density" of people staying at the property, since all the units are condos. The pools were not as fancy as neighboring resorts (no waterfalls, slides, etc.), but kiddie pool and nicely sized adult pool never got too crowded. We loved the gas grills and eating area right by the beach. The beach right along the hotel was spectacular (unlike some of the neighboring resorts toward the south which had very little, if any beach, even though they were ocean front.) Hotel staff hanging out at beach was very helpful in bringing out the free hotel beach chairs to your desired area of the beach. The beach path to Whaler's village (about 5 min walk) was very convenient, and we ended up eating there several times. It beat loading up everyone in the mini-van everytime we wanted to get something to eat. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and thought it was an ideal place for families with young children. We will definitely head back there for our next Maui vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 3littlebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 850 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2006

We had a wonderful time at the Alii. Our 10th floor unit was right on the oceanfront with a huge lanai where we watched whales every morning. We had a two bedroom, two bath condo, beautifully furnished and updated, so much more room than a hotel room. We were able to make breakfast in the state-of-the-art kitchen, eat at our dining room table if we wanted to (although we usually ate at our large patio table on the lanai) and relax in our hugeliving room complete with a 42 inch TV and stereo. The location on Kaanapali Beach is perfect, with the walkway along the beach a great way to get around to restaurants. We had full maid service every day and the staff of the Alii was very friendly and helpful. The pool was much nicer than we had been led to believe in other reviews, not as fancy as some hotel pools but meticulously maintained with a great hot tub. We never had a problem getting a chair at the pool, although we preferred the beach cabana chairs you could rent through the activity center. We had the concierge book several or our tours and we appreciated the small store on site to pick up a few things. We discovered the ABC store in Whaler's Village (about a 5-10 minute walk) for other foodstuffs and alcohol and wine. We checked out all the hotels on the beach, all of them beautiful with friendly staffs but when we come back we will stay again at the Alii...the best of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank tippicanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My family enjoyed our first trip to Maui. We stayed at the Kaanapali Alii, room 434, on Kaanapali Beach. The room was very spacious. The room could easily sleep 6 adults comfortably. The room had a king bed, queen bed and 2 full size beds. The decor was a little dated but the entire facility was clean, the staff extremely helpful, and a great location. Due to its central location, you can shop at Whaler's Village, snorkel at Black Rock, or enjoy dining with a short walk. This is a great location for a family vacation. We will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ed3304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

What a spectacular place. Quiet, clean, elegantly designed and equipped. My wife love the 8 nozzle master shower in our 2 bedroom unit. Staff were efficient and unobtrusive. The kitchen allowed us relief from dining out and peaceful mornings with our kids on our schedule. Unlike a hotel, this was just like home and a great rest in paradise while waking up to the ocean views.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

This a late post versus when our family visited the Alii. This was our second time at the Alii (see 1st post on 7/8/04) and we had a magnificent time. Our visit was 6/25-7/2/05.

When I booked the room, directly via Classic Resorts, I mentioned that we were repeat visitors and we were given a discount! We requested a high floor, premier ocean view room. Having stayed in '04, we were quite familiar with the layout and knew which building would give us the best view and requested Bldg 4. Upon arrival, we were told that there were no high floors available, but they could move us to a higher floor in 2 days. Rm#424 was absolutely beautiful and totally upgraded; only problem is that it was on the 2nd floor (only view was of the roof near the swimming pool). We were allowed to preview the room (2 bd/2bth & Murphy bed in living room)before we were moved in and it too was upgraded (#393). Although it wasn't in the bldg we requested, it was a premier ocean view nonetheless.

The management was very accomdating during check-in and moving to another room. No attitude, no negativity, no disrespect. My advice is to remain calm & treat others as you would like to be treated and there should be no problem. There were units being renovated during our stay, but was not an imposition at any time.

We took the Maui Princess Dinner Cruise + Luau (Royal Lahaina Luau) combo. Both were fantastic. We saw Warren & Annabelle's Magic show (matinee), which was quite entertaining; just getting into the auditorium was "magical"...you'll have to go to find out how much fun that is (remember to use logic). We went on a Submarine ride (educational as well as fun). Hubby enjoyed golfing @ Kaanapali Golf course, across the street (our son got a kick driving the cart).

Otherwise, we stayed near our condo, walked to the Whalers' Village, had dinner at restaurants near the Alii, tanned at the beach/pool. Kids did their own thing, keeping in touch via cellphone. Hubby & I walked the path to the Sheraton, had a drink and walked back; it wasn't as far as it looked. We were able to leisurely enjoy party spots and quiet solitude and not once did the kids complain! They're ready to do it again...I wonder, when will they take us to Maui?

Tip: we wanted to have a meal at Bubba Gumps, but late afternoon and evening was always busy with nearly 2hr wait; so we went for late lunch, which was easier to get a seat and water view. Front St was less crowded, so we were able to browse w/o the usual crowds.

The only thing we didn't get to do was the Road to Hana and parasailing...uhmmmm, seems like another trip is required!

When going to Maui, will always stay at the Alii. It's the best of both worlds...again, the pool is not as grand as other hotels, instead it's quite simple, but serves its purpose.

Try it and you won't be disappointed, some may think it's pricey, but where else in Maui can you get 2bd/2bth condo with full kitchen (upgraded w/granite counters, dining room, stainless steel appliances), free parking, restaurant privileges, with Alli vouchers, located right on the beach w/magnificent views and rooms 1500-1900 sq ft., for under < $600/nite? You really get what you pay for and then some.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Pier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Star, ID
121
Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed at the Kaanapali Alii condo December 9th-14th and were suprised with the quality of the room and complex. Our vacation was booked through Pleasant Holiday's and we stayed in condo #153 (5th floor). You will not be disappointed staying in this unit.

Updated in 2003-2004, this condo unit is awesome. Here are a few things you can look forward to while staying here. Tile floors, granite counter tops, partial ocean view, huge lanai, new appliances, washer and dryer, plenty of utensils and dishes. The unit had a master bed/bath, another bedroom/bath with two full size beds, and a king size bed located in another room, and four TV's. This condo unit is huge, we had plenty of room for four adults and two small children. Parking at the condo was a snap as well. Short walk and never had to search for open spaces to park.

The staff service at the condo was excellent. Anything you needed they were there to help in short order. The pool isn't fancy like the big resorts however it was adequate for us as we spent most of the time on the beach only a few steps away. The pool area also has a kiddie pool and hot tub. Stainless steel BBQ's on the pool deck made it convenient for cooking outside and not losing pool/beach time.

The beach has plenty of room, the only thing I'd mention here is that the slope of the beach where the water meets is a little steep for small children. That slope creates a stronger undertoe than other beaches on the island. There were plenty of 5-7 year olds having a blast in the water though. Snorkeling out in front of the condo provided as much viewing as the more popular spots on the island.

The location was perfect for walking to shops and places to eat in Whalers village. Only a short drive to Laihina made for quick shopping or dining as well. While in Laihina, check out the Warren & Annebelle magic show it's worth every penny and then some.

We will definitely stay at this condo again on our next family vacation to Maui.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
319
Reviewed December 15, 2005

This is our second trip to the Kaanapali Alii and it was just as fabulous as the time before. We had a mountain view room on this visit and it was great. The views of the mountains in the morning were breathtaking. It was clean, furnished beautifully and spacious. We used the grill area down by the pool and that was nice to be able to eat lunch out by the pool. The staff were friendly and allowed us to stay in our room past check-out time on the day of our departure to help accomodate our flight time. This place is beautiful, the beach is beautiful and overall it was a wonderful say. I will be back to visit the Alii soon!!! Maui must be the most breathtaking place on earth!!!

Stayed: December 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $489 - $910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaanapali Alii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing