We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a good value”
Reviewed June 26, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel four times in the last seven years. My husband's family has been coming here almost yearly since the 70's. (I think they keep coming here for old time's sake). The pros of this hotel are:
-The location (right in the middle of everything in Kaanapali. Five minute walk from Whaler Village)
-The beach is pretty uncrowded compared to the big resorts nearby, and it's nice clean sand.
-Very roomy condos. Nice sized kitchens and bedrooms. We have four small children and need all the space we can get. (We have stayed in a 2 BR each time)
-Very clean and everything in good working condition.
-Fully equipped kitchens are great. (one year we even made a full Thanksgiving dinner in ours!) Though you won't save as much money as you'd expect since groceries are so expensive. $8 for a box of Fruit Loops at the Lahaina Safeway! We brought boxes of cereal and baby formula in our suitcases last time to save $.
-Having a washer/dryer is a dream. Also means less clothes to bring on your trip. (Leaves more room for groceries! LOL!)
The cons:
-The rooms need serious updating. They claim that most rooms have been recently renovated, but I've never managed to stay in one. On our last trip our family had three condos in different towers and they all looked like something out of a "Three's Company" episode.
-The pool is nice but nothing great. Compared to all the fancy pools at the nearby hotels, my kids were kind of let down. There is a nice little kiddie pool for the very youngest guests. Small pool area also means the "5 a.m. beach chair scramble". Not enough chairs to go around!
-No restaurants on site. Either you have to cook in your room or walk somewhere else to eat. Kind of a drag when you're in the pool and just want a quick bite. The Marriott next door delivers, but it takes forever.
-Nothing fancy about this place. No artwork, no gorgeous landscaping, not even a real lobby! Call me petty, but when I pay this much money I want something special! Especially when the nearby hotels are so fantastic. If the condos were cheaper it would be worth it , but for this price they don't seem like a good value. The Alii is not gross or run down, just nothing great.
If you have your heart set on staying in Kaanapali (though most of our friends stay in Kihei and really like it.) and want the space and convenience of a condo, you can try the Kaanapali Alii. There are lots of comments from people who've stayed in nice units, so you may want to try requesting one of those, if you can find out the #.
Unless my in-laws are paying, I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jhwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    128
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
476
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

We rented 2 garden view condos next to each and one was definitely better than the other (decoration wise). Since there were two families staying for the week, the kitchen and home ammenities was a definite plus. Everyone from the front desk to the bellman to the activities director was more than helpful. Our cleaning lady was great and came on a daily basis. We would definitely come back but hope that when we do, all the units will have been remodeled.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank like2travel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2005

Our family has stayed at the Kaanapali Alii on Maui several times and we feel these are the BEST vacations we have ever taken. The condos are 1500-1900 square feet, beautifully furnished, and right on the beach - absolutely beautiful! The service is equally impressive...we highly recommend the Kaanapali Alii:)

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2005

View from 10th floor condo was outstanding. Roomy, clean, with friendly staff. Lots of nearby activities, I can highly recommend this condo. I would recommend getting a unit form the 6th floor up for the best views, large palm trees may otherwise block view. Great beach, free chairs. If your looking for full service accomodations look elsewhere, you won't have someone coming by every 10 minutes offering drinks on the beach.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank boxelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

I have been to Hawaii about 18 times (I am not exaggerating). We stayed at the Alii 80% of the time (sometimes for two weeks at a time) and it is our favorite place. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious, the staff is helpful and friendly, the pool calm and quiet - and you can't beat the location as it is near the heart of Lahaina with its amazing restaurants and shops.

Hawaii in general is very pricey, but it is great to stock up the condo with food and save some money each day. It is incredible to eat breakfast each day on the balcony and come in for lunch after a tiring morning of swimming, snorkeling and lying in the sun and not have to wait for food to be served to you at a restaurant. Then, we could splurge on a nice dinner at night. This place is great for families and there is plenty of room. The rooms are pricey here, but if you have children, you are saving money in the long run -- one condo, plus eating certain meals in is less than buying two hotel rooms and eating out every meal.

This place has luxurious units, but it feels like a home. It never gets too crowded and it creates a very easy vacation. It does not have a hotel feel at all -the pool doesn't have waterfalls and slides like the other hotel resorts and you won't see swans on top of koi ponds. But, if you want beautiful condo accommodations in a nice area - this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Curly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2005

We recently returned from our 5th stay at the Alii; 4 of those visits we stayed in the same 2-bedroom unit. Our unit is privately owned (from what our rental agent tells, he/she owns 6 units in the Alii) and is beautifully decorated. I do believe that we have been lucky because our rental agent is very particular and requires the owner(s) to update/replace furnishings before they take it on as a rental. FYI: The rental agent is Maui Beachfront Rentals ----------- . I am most sure that Classic Resorts (who manage the Alii) also manages/rents a good number of units in the Alii; that is, could be those of which are less desirable. It boggles my mind that people owning condos costing 1 to 3 million dollars would let them fall apart, but.... Nonetheless, we have been spoiled by our wonderful stays at the Alii and plan to vacation there next year--in the same unit. You couldn't ask for a better location. Has anyone stayed at the Marriott since it changed to a time-share?

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2005

My family and I just spent 8 wonderful days at the Kaanapali Alii. We could not of asked for a better place to stay. We had an ocean front - premier room - expensive, but worth every penny! Our unit was well decorated, spotless and huge. The staff are extremely helpful with everything from bringing in the groceries to booking tours. The grounds of the condos were kept immaculate and very pleasing to the eye. Although the pool area is small, the pool and the area around it were kept very neat and clean and the fresh lemonade was a nice touch. Condos are situated right in the middle of Kaanapali beach which makes it handy to get around. We will definately stay at this property again!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank hummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
451 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing