We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth stay at here”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fourth stay at here”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

There is no question, a great place to stay. Some areas for improvement would be handling room preference requests made at the time of your reservation, your condo unit is pretty much assigned to you prior to arrival and if your assigned condo does not meet with your original requests, it is not addressed at check in, but deferred by asking you to check in at the office daily to try and make a change to what your original requests might have been when you made the reservation. Inside your folder before leaving the front desk, it will contain notifications regarding your building: construction, pest control water shut off etc. having these occurrences can be annoying so check your folder before leaving the front desk. The Internet continues to be hit and miss. A movie night at the outside lobby area, by the pool would be great especially for families. We love staying here, but there is always a need to review patrons feed back to stay on top. Details are what makes a property outshine the competition and keep patrons coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    128
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
474
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed a week at the Ali'i during our summer vacation. We absolutely loved the property - right on the beach with excellent views - ours was of the beach on the north side of the property. Staff at the hotel were excellent, always helpful when needed. Having the 2 BR condo with kitchen, washer, and dryer was helpful for a beach stay, we could keep up with laundry during down times and were able to maximize our vacation without stressing about whether we had enough to wear the rest of the week. Kids liked the pool, rooms were outfitted nicely, having the free WiFi was helpful as well. I look forward to booking again when we return in 18 months.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our second time back to this property. We love it's location as it's near Black Rock which is a nice snorkeling spot, wonderful restaurants and good shopping. The condo was well maintained. Ours had granite countertops, stainless steal appliances, and a separate bedroom for the kids with two beds and their own bath. It also had a washer/dryer and the housekeeping was great. We watched the beautiful sunsets from our balcony overlooking the ocean. The property also offers a nice exercise room. We will be back!

Room Tip: The ocean view condos are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

High quality room and friendly service. Location was good and parking was never a problem. No balls aloud in the pool area :( Very nice kitchen and good appliances. Would stay here again. Pictures shown on web page are accurate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were lucky enough to spend 5 nights at this stunning resort, of course not long enough! My husband & I along with our two 20 something's enjoyed this property immensely. We could not fault a thing! The condo was oceanfront with two bedrooms wow the views ,always plenty to watch & sunsets stunning! A rental car helps, we only had one for a couple of days which allowed us to have a quick look around Maui. The beach is gorgeous, we love to swim in the sea which was great, being a surf beach can be a challenge if you are not used to waves & currents etc. The pool area wonderful & the men cooked on BBQs twice, an excellent setup. Staff all very friendly & helpful would come back in a heart beat! With the Whalers Village only 5 min walk away, great for restaurants if you are not wanting to drive at night. The Condo was well setup with everything, our one was tastefully furnished with 2 four seater sofas, indicating the size of the condo, every room very spacious. The second room had 2 double beds, great for our kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wellington_Kiwi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent a week in Maui and stayed at Kaanapali Alii. I was a little concerned based on some of the reviews I read but we had a GREAT time and would definitely stay here again. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a 2 bedroom condo and had a great view. It was fully furnished and provided all the amenities we needed. The only thing I wish the resort included was an on-site restaurant or bar. Not too much of a concern though because you can walk to neighboring resorts or to Whalers Village and find many place to eat. Everything is within walking distance....shopping, dining, luaus, golf, snorkeling, etc. The beach at the resort is one of the larger ones in the area which was nice. You can use their chairs at no additional charge or rent umbrellas and lounge chairs if you prefer. The on-site grills are very convenient and we used those quite a bit. You have to park in a parking garage but if you need to drop off luggage or groceries, you can temporarily park near the entrance to your building which helps. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jnjtt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

There are two large bedrooms and private nitch with a sofa beed. The kitchen is modern and veranda over looks the pool area and beach. Parking is close and included. The rooms are expensive, but not compared two three rooms at a comparable hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RickJones012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing