We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Maui”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Maui”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been visiting Maui for years, and for us, there is no better place to stay. The condos are huge, and have everything from washing/drying machines to a full kitchen and dining room. Each condo also has a beautiful lanai to enjoy the views of paradise. The service and staff are excellent, and always very friendly and helpful. The Alii never fails to make us feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaeJoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    130
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
486
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our first time at the Alii, but not our first time to Maui. The place wasn't cheap, but you pay for paradise ;)

The hotel/condo is BIG and I had my fears about the crowds - especially since the pools appear to be too small for the size of the place. We never had an issue with the pools though... there was always plenty of room in there for our 4 kids, and the pool deck, while busy, always had space for us to find chairs and spread out.

The outdoor eating area and barbecues were the best I've seen in Maui - really big and clean and such an awesome social setting to chat and meet other people. They were situated just next to the beach and turned out to be one of our favourite places to hang out at night.

Our unit (room 1101) was big and roomy with so much space - this unit was so nice to stay in.

The staff was always friendly and not overbearing, and the beach was awesome. The fact that there's no restaurant or bar on the property is a huge plus... it was always very relaxed, comfortable and less crazy than the other hotels on the boardwalk. A quick trip next door to the Westin and you can slip in their many pools (not endorsed, but so obviously easy) or grab a cocktail at their bar. The Alii even gives you coupons that will let you order drinks/food at the Westin but charge it to your room at the Alii.

The only thing that kept me from giving this the TripAdvisor 5 circles review was the usual "nickel and diming" that takes places with resort hotels - but that's just my personal beef. I chose this place because it have full kitchen units and laundry, but still had to endure the local phone call charges, rental charges for boogie boards etc. - this place would do well to drop the hotel facade and make this a bit more like every other condo rental model in Maui.

Overall, we loved this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clayandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We splurged on a stay here for our 40th anniversary. Our elegant condo had plush furnishings and loads of space. We had an indoor dining table, another table outside on the lanai, and bar stools at the granite countertop. The kitchen was gorgeous, and we also had a washer & dryer. Housekeeping staff kept the place spotless - thank you so much, Maria!

There are also deluxe grilles located near the beach, and grill master Charlie does the grill clean-up and helps with any questions.

Service was consistently outstanding - and gracious - throughout the property.

Located on a lovely beach, and just off the paved Beachwalk for easy access to restaurants at Whalers Village.

Truly a dream vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family just returned from a wonderful spring break in Maui. We've been to Maui several times and this location is our new favorite. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the bellman and front desk to the day we left, the staff was wonderful and always very helpful. Our condo was very nice and well stocked. We had a great view of the ocean and pool area. The location is very convenient with the walkway to other hotels and Whalers Village. We can't wait for our next visit to Maui and staying at the Kaanapali Alii.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Life50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a week and absolutely loved it. The staff were very nice and helpful. The grounds were stunning. The rooms were very clean and nice. There were many chairs and areas for chair around the pool and had chairs available at the beach as well at no cost. We have stayed on maui as a family 4 times in the past 6 years and by far this is the best place. Very convenient board walk to whalers village for Shopping and food. Only complaint were hard beds. Will definitely be back!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clearwater4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location, lovely property and grounds. Staff very helpful and gracious. Condo was clean and well stocked. Nice to have maid service each day. Views excellent. Not sure how you could make this place much better. We would rent here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed 3 weeks in unit 2112, which is a corner unit on the top floor with views of both the mountains & ocean. Plus, one overlooks the Westin luau, so one could watch most of the luau entertainment!. The lanai features a table & chairs....perfect for whale watching or dining.
The unit itself is a 1-bedroom, but the den has been converted to a bedroom with a full bath ensuite. The washer/dryer is fantastic to have to clean up clothing, so one doesn't have to pack many clothes. The kitchen is very well stocked with every appliance & utensils one could need for meals. In addition, the Alii has grills (& grill master) for use. The grounds of the Alii are impeccably kept with beautiful, colorful flowering shrubs, trees, & plants. There are 2 jacuzzi tubs and 2 pools on site; with one pool being designated "quiet pool" & has a waterfall, so tends to help with the noise generating from the kid-friendly pool. Poolside are one of the concierge stands (Wendy is a wealth of information) and towel/beach activity stand (Kurt rocks-go Seahawks). You won't find a staff more friendly than at the Alii...from the front desk, to housekeeping, to grounds-keepers; all greet you with a smile & Aloha. The gym is one of the best for working off all that food! Ka'anapali Beach has an extraordinary "beach walk" that goes for about a mile....and the sand & surf beautiful. One of the finest aspects of staying at the Alii is the opportunity to watch whales all day long!! Don't forget your binoculars.
The only room tips I can give are:
-try to stay above floor 5....as the vegetation will block ocean views (although coming from snow, even that is nice to see)
-building 3 is "down wind" from the grills & may have to put up with the grilling aromas for several hours each day.
The Alii is about a mile north of the Safeway shopping center & if you get a Safeway card, you will save many dollars on groceries. There is also a smaller grocery store at Whaler's Village...along with many fine shops & entertainment & restaurants. In the same Alii building as check-in, is a small store & concierge desk. You can pick up wine, beverages, some smaller grocery/pharmacy items, and a library book exchange (take one, leave one).
The Alii might be at the top range for some to stay, but with all its ammenities is well worth the upgrade.

Room Tip: Above floor 5. Corner units give more than one view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing