We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit!”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hawaii has been our dream trip, and arriving at the Kaanapali Alii was all we hoped for! We went with another couple and loved the condo. We were able to shop and have breakfast and snacks in the room. The BBQ area was nice, and the staff would even cook the dinner if you provided the food. The pool was beautiful and not crowded. Hotels / time shares next door had bigger pools, but they were much more crowded and a lot more kids. The beach was exactly what we hoped for. The Whalers Village (shopping, restaurants) was a short walk away to go for lunch or dinner, even in bathing suits. I will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debinflorida09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 850 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very clean condo and very roomy! The big lanai is a bonus-where you can enjoy morning coffee while taking in a beautiful ocean view!! The grounds area is beautiful with lovely pool and BQ grills if you desire. The location is close to shopping and other restaurants too! The staff is very pleasant and helpful. They even have books to read or movies to view. They had some in our condo and you can also check out others free of charge. I have stayed 3 different times and will continue to return to

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yan4me13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for one week with husband in beautiful condo overlooking ocean with privileges (at the time) to use Maui Marriott Ocean Club next door. Excellent restaurants and shopping within a beautiful 5-minute walk along the ocean. Used the free shuttle around Kaanapali and quite often the city bus to go 10 minutes to nearby Lahaina for more shopping and restaurants. Would absolutely use the Alii again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy46077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

lovely location , peaceful, friendly staff and the apartment was a dream,staff very helpful and so friendly,all the amenities where in the apartment, kitchen well designed, nothing like waking up to the smell of fresh ground coffee

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are great, the view is great, the beds are great, the decorating is great, the housekeeping staff are great, this place is spectacular and worth the money. We loved our stay here and our view. We spent a lot of time on our lanai. It was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor or higher for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lehphhs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Alii for 10 days at the end of August 2013 with two teenagers - son, 16 and daughter 14. Booked an Oceanview condo which was divine. We were in number 446 which had apparently been updated in the past two years. Natural stone tile throughout. High quality appliances. Large rooms - living area as well as bedrooms and bathrooms. We had two bedrooms - each with their own full bathroom. Each bathroom had a separate toilet area. Water pressure in the shower was divine. One of the bedrooms had a king size bed, the other had a two queens which was a perfect set up or us. There were huge floor to ceiling windows throughout the unit.

The kitchen was fully stocked with every utensil, pot , dish you could want. They even had Tupperware dishes for leftovers! Having a washer and dryer in the unit was also perfect. The Alii provides the dish washing liquid and the washing machine soap so you do not need to bring any. They also provided coffee for the coffee pot.

The ocean view was wonderful. Every morning, my husband and I would sit out on the lanai with our coffee and watch the sun rise (we are early risers). It was so peaceful. As soon as the sun was up, you could see people running on the boardwalk in front of the beach or already in ocean.

The Alii has a very nice set up. Four buildings surrounding the pool area. By the pool area, there was a covered lanai which including a big screen TV and a seating area. One day when my son had enough, he sat and watched a preseason football game. It worked out well because we were all in the pool area and he was still outside with us. There is also a BBQ station with several BBQ's right by the pool area. My husband did the grilling and said that it was a very social atmosphere and he chatted with some very nice people as he was cooking our dinner. Many families chose to eat their meal at the tables by the pool. We always ate ours in our condo -- it was just so nice.

The fitness area at the Alii is among the best that I have seen. There is a full selection of treadmills, stationary bikes, spinning bikes and ellipticals in addition to free weights and weight machines. There is also a separate room for stretching and yoga. There is a yoga teacher who comes to the Alii 3 mornings a week at 7 a.m. and leads a class on the grass by the beach. My husband and I did one of the classes (we wanted to do all three but had booked two excursions that required an early departure to arrive on time). The instructor was excellent. She reinforced form and technique in a gentle way and we both felt amazing after the class. It was so nice to be able to do the class outside and hear/see the waves crashing on the beach at the same time.

Because we were arriving late evening, we went to the Safeway(which is enroute from the airport) in Lahaina to get our groceries so that we would have food for the morning. When we got to the Alii, the bellman(?) Chris (who was fantastic), helped us unload all of our groceries and our luggage and took us to the room pointing out all the amenities of the resort along the way. It was so easy! I had had visions of schlepping groceries bags back and forth and we did it all in one trip. The Alii really has this down to a science. (NOTE: I had read in earlier Trip Advisor notes that there was a Costco. What I didn't realize is that it is right by the airport which is a 45 minute drive from the Alii. If you want to shop at Costco, I would highly recommend that you do it when you arrive - the Costco is right outside the airport beside the KMart (which has a huge sign that you won't miss). On the other hand, the Safeway is amazing. It is well stocked and had everything we wanted and more.

The beachfront location of the Alii was perfect for every water activity. It also included a lovely boardwalk. As you turn right out of the Alii, you head towards Whalers Village which is a shopping/restaurant area about 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We ate at a number of the restaurants there (fav was informal beach part of Hula). We would sometimes walk down after dinner for an ice cream. During the day, the Shave Ice place was open which was also very popular. The complex included a combo of high end stores and stores that would appeal to my teenagers (Quicksilver, Roxy, Volcom) as well as an ABC store so that if you forgot anything at home, you could pick it up without having to get in your car.

The staff at the Alii were also amazing. On three separate occasions, we had to call someone to our room -- eg., when we couldn't get the free WiFi to work. Jeff was patient, determined and resourceful in fixing the problem. We appreciated the Alii's responsiveness and determination to make sure that everything was right.

While we booked most of our activities ourselves, we also used Fuji, the concierge to book a few for us. Her recommendations were bang on for our family. She was very collaborative in determining the kind of experience that we were looking for and took care of all the arrangements. We were then able to change the cost to our room and just pay when we left.

We can't recommend the Alii highly enough. Our kids thought this was the perfect vacation -- a nice blend of seeing and trying new activities and feeling right at home. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 446 which was a 2 bedroom , two bath oceanview. I would absolutely return to this un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OakvilleMatriarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed having the opportunity to do some of the cooking without going out every night.
The condo we rented was ok but in much need of updating. The unit had a third room that was being used as a bedroom.. I believe there are only a very few like this at Alii. Loved the grounds and pools.

Room Tip: When checking in, ask for a room that is newly remodeled because some are very rundown if not redon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $488 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaanapali Alii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing