We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a beach condo”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not bad for a beach condo”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath ocean view condo in this complex. The condo was well appointed with comfortable furniture and a wonderful view. The grounds were beautiful. The staff was wonderful, accommodating and attentive. The daily housekeeping was awesome. But sometimes, and not often, we find a beach property that is wonderful but there are the small details which make a huge difference between a good condo and a great condo. We have been in many a beach condo through the years and so I can honestly say that this one falls short as far as design is concerned.The door from the living area into our master bath area constantly opened and slammed against the vanity. We listened to this slamming for a week. And it was loud! The louvered door leading into the toilet area should have been a solid door so basically there was no privacy. The laundry area was tiny, so the combination washer/dryer handled very small loads only.We had to have maintenance come to show us how to use the TV which took him a while to figure out the problem.We signed up for a photo shoot, offered by an outside vendor through the property, who forgot to show up and when she did, the resulting photos were horrible. It's the small things that add up to make a really great property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank zoopermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    126
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
472
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked a two bedroom, two bath condo here and loved everything about our stay. It is a condo set-up, but with a true resort atmosphere so I feel like we enjoyed the best of both worlds. The service is amazing. The staff was so helpful and friendly, from the bellmen who helped us bring in groceries to the very outgoing beach desk staff. Everyone was great! The beach in front of the Alli is wonderful. We noticed many Westin and Marriott guests coming down to our area to enjoy the sand and waves.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed staying on the first floor with pool access. It made accessing the beach with thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partyoffive7017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnialcdlo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our family's (2 adults and two almost adult teens) third time to the Ali'i. The first time we visited we spent time at the Alii and another few at the Grand Wailea. We prefered the Alii. The second time we spent half of our time at the Polo Beach Club and half at the Alii. We preferred the Alii. This time, we didn't even bother booking elsewhere and I have no regrets. We grilled out every night as it's a party all the time at the grills and the grill master was great fun to talk to and get tips from. One thing I really love about this property is the proximity from the room to everything. We spent some time visiting other properties on our visit and it became obvious that on most other properties things were very spread out. The walk to the car or the pool or the grills or the workout room or even the beach became quite a hike depending on what building you were in. It wasn't that way in this case. No matter whatever room you are in, everything is close. In fact, I chuckled as we checked in and another couple asked if they could have an extra grounds map to give to the kids so they could find things. Within a few minutes they would have realized that wasn't necessary! Everything about this place is relaxing. At risk of babbling, here is a typical day at the Alii:

Wake up and have breakfast in your condo since you have a full kitchen. We sat on the balcony watching folks on the beach path as we ate. We'd throw on our suits and sunscreen and head down. As we head to the beach we passed by the lovely pool, grabbed a cup of complimentary coffee or citrus water (if we hadn't already made some up in our room), picked up our beach towel at the hut, and walked a few short steps to be on the beach. Once my toe hit the sand there was an employee there with a chair in hand asking if I wanted to be on the sand, on the grass, in the sun, or in the shade. Upon answering, he carried my chair to my spot and even put in an umbrella if needed. This service is included. We spent hours on the beach. The kids wanted to try surfing which was taught right outside on our beach so we could stay put and take pictures of them from where we were. Lunch was either in the room or out and about if we had some place to go. After lunch we visited other places in Maui. We were home each day by 7 and headed to the grills for dinner. On our nights there we had steaks, shrimp, pork, chicken, ribs, salmon, and fish. In all cases the grill master had rubs, spices, or sauces to add, turned on the grill, scraped it off, and showed us the best way to make it. Most families eat right there by the grills as there are many tables set up, plates, napkins, and plastic wear available. We chose to eat on our balcony each night. Our room faced the Westin and they had a Luau five nights a week that we could enjoy as we ate. After dinner we put the dishes in the dishwasher and either went to the pool or walked to the outdoor mall, Whaler's Village which was just on the other side of the Westin. It's a short walk and they have shave ice and a yogurt place where the kids could put on all the toppings that they like. It was a nice way to cap off each evening.

I could go on and on about the perks but you get the idea. I'll be back often and the money saved by being able to cook in your room, park your car for free, not have to purchase beach chairs, and all the other little things that get tacked onto your bill other places, the price isn't even that bad.

My advise - get a Costco membership before going if you don't already have one. We bought all of our meet there and saved a bundle over what the local stores charged. The Costco now has a gas station as well and the price was about 40 cents less a gallon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dnialcdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

View:
We booked a 2 bedroom ocean front condo from the owner. We had Ocean views from most rooms.
It was terrific for our family. Our teenagers had their own room as did we.The kitchen was well appointed, the living room large, the dining room lovely. There was a balcony where we sat each night for dinner watching the sunset.
We stayed 3 nights before and 3 nights after at hotels and the big plus of this resort is how large the condo is in comparison to a hotel room. It was nice too cook our own meals.

Check in;
At check in the bellmen park your car and take all of your luggage up as it is quite a walk from the check in area. After the first time we had self park, which was just fine.

Housekeeping:
Since we booked through the owner we did not have housekeeping each day, but that was fine. We had a bit of a glitch at first with the owner as the cleaning crew had not come from the guests who just departed. Although it was a hassle for us to not have the place cleaned until later in the evening and all we wanted to do was cook dinner and unwind, the owner did get the cleaner in asap, who worked hard, and the owner took a little off our bill. The plus of booking through the owner was we knew exactly which condo we would be getting. If you book through the property, as I initially tried to, they cannot guarantee you what floor, what building, etc. It's like booking a hotel room and not knowing where your room will be located. Paying this amount of money I didn't want to wind up facing a parking lot or another hotel.

Food:
We really appreciated the grill stations in the evening where my husband and son took our meat and veggies to cook. They enjoyed the banter with the other guests and all the tips everyone had. It sounds like quite a social place down by the pool at the grill area at dinner, but we dined in our room. My husband also appreciated the tips by the "grill master" who by day worked in other capacities in the resort.

Beach:
The attendants at the beach were very nice, very chill, and put up an umbrella for us and got us chairs.
The beach was very pleasant, although there are many rocks so wear your booties in the water. We stayed at the Grand Wailea before and it was a rockless beach-- a nice perk. This Ali beach was still a lovely beach for wading though and there were many who surfed.
You can arrange to rent a surf board if you wish. There is also a place there you can book a surf lesson.
We had had lessons with Rivers to the Surf which we booked through the internet based on the recommendation of a friend who lives on Maui. I cannot recommend them highly enough! These twin brothers, now in their 30s surfed since they were 3=Expert surfers and very good at explaining how to do it. Heck, I'm 60, 15 pounds overwweight, so if they can get me up surfing, there's hope for everyone. We drove about 5 min down the road from the Ali to the beach where they teach. VERY VERY good place to learn. My daughter caught on so well she rented a board at the Ali.

Dining:
There is a Safeway 5 min down the road from Ali where you can pick up food for your condo. There is also Star Noodle, (about 15 min away near Lahaina), the restaurant of the Top Chef runner up, Sheldon. We heard how crowded it gets so we went at 5:30pm and got take out fairly quickly. WOW! For $50 we ate like pigs back at our condo. The food was excellent. We got an assortment and everything was terrific. So one night we did Star Noodle and the other nights we cooked.

Atmosphere:
Having spent 3 nights at the Grand Wailea, 3 at the Hyatt Regency, and 3 at Ali, i can say although this was the most expensive, it was by far worth it to have the space; to have the helpful guys at the beach setting up the chairs, and overall being away from crowds of people.
The other guests at Ali that we did interact with seemed like family people, like us, all out to have a calm, relaxing time.
We enjoyed the pools more at the GW and HR, but the overall experience was much more relaxing here. If only Ali had people coming by and taking drink orders as they do at the hotels that would make it 100% delightful!!

Problems:
Any complaint i had would be with the individual unit, not the complex itself. The unit did not have curtains so once the sun came up at 5:30am that was it and we wanted to sleep in a bit, I pulled out my eye shades the second night. You might want to inquire when you book if your condo has shades or curtains or if you should bring eye shades.

Perks:
My son used the fitness room and said it was one of the best he's seen, better than most hotels.
We used the tennis courts and they were excellent, with us just renting the rackets for a few bucks from Ali.
We will definitely go back to Ali for a longer stay. I want to go back to Star Noodle too as well as take more surf lessons with Rivers to the Surf.

Room Tip: when i called directly to Ali I was told they cannot guarentee what floor the condo would be on or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have been to Hawaii several times but first time with fully family to Maui. I like the Kaanapali area so the Kaanapali Alii looked like a great fit for family of 4 (incl 2 teenage boys) given the size of the accommodations. We couldn't have been happier - it was a great set-up. The only challenge was that you really didn't have much in the way of restaurant / room service if needed, but there were enough options near by that we didn't find this an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rwjillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This property certainly lives up to its positive reviews. We were a family of four staying for a week in a two bedroom apartment. On arrival service was very efficent and we were upgraded to an Ocean view apartment in building two. The apartment was very large and very well appointed. Daily servicing was excellent. A very small point is that it did not have an electric kettle for making tea. There is no restaurant on site but it is very close to Whaler's village which has several and the concierge was very helpful in making bookings or suggesting restaurants.
The grounds of the property are beautiful and it is located right by the best part of the beach. The beach further down e.g Hyatt, Mariottt is not nearly as good. The hotel provides a beach service so that you have comfortable chairs to sit on at the beach. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it was very nice. The units are very well furnished and the views are awesome. The service (with the exception of the concierge) was not as stellar as everybody mentions but it was fine. The kaanapali area is so much fun and it is so nice that the Alii is literally beachfront. The conceirge service was awesome and Wendy was extremely helpful and very friendly. Overall this place is worth every dime and it is by far one of the best places to stay in Maui.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinness304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing