We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were expecting more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were expecting more”
Reviewed May 10, 2008

My husband and two kids (ages 4 and 2) stayed at the Alli from April 25th-30th. We booked a 2bd unit that overlooked the pool and ocean. We were expecting something a little nicer decor-wise but the dated furniture and TV were acceptable.
We enjoyed breakfast and lunch everyday on our balcony (lanai) while watching the surfers try to catch a wave. We loved the spaciousness of our unit. We had about 1900sq ft and, with 2 kids, we used it all! The kids slept in one bedroom and they took over the den as their playroom. The in-room laundry was used everyday-so nice that they provided detergent. The housekeeping staff was very good and provided us with regular towels and tidied up the place.
The only real complaint I had was with the water being shut off on our second to last day there because of some emergency. Thank goodness we left on a snorkel trip early that morning but when we came back we found a note that the water had been shut off all day. We called the front desk and they told us that we could shower in a couple of rooms they were holding over at the Westin or Marriott and that there were port o potties located outside each building. Ha! We have 2 young potty trained kids and are not going to go all the way downstairs and outside to use the potty EVERY time they have to go! The management also delivered two 5 gallon water tanks to use for drinking only. We used it for more than that. We ended up spending our evening over at the Westin-we all showered (much better water pressure in the bath than our drip drip shower at the Alli) and then ate at Ono restaurant and then fed the flamingos and fish and listened to music with the kids. Good thing the water was turned on the next morning.
Another small complaint was all the construction, window washing, tree trimming that was going on while we were there. I know it has to be done but it was kind of disruptive especially the tree trimming in the front lobby. We were blocked in the parking structure by a bulldozer of some sort and had to wait while they backed up and then we had to park in the other parking structure's entrance while my husband checked out. It was a loud mess in the front of the hotel. Not a big deal normally but we were trying to check out quickly and get on the road to the airport.
Overall, we had a nice stay but next time we will check out suites at the Marriott or the Westin (which is beautiful!). You cannot beat the location and the beaches!

  • Liked — The close proximity of shopping and dining.
  • Disliked — Dated decor and noise/visual disturbances
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mamatotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliiOps, Hotel Operations Manager at Kaanapali Alii, responded to this review, May 23, 2008
We are gratified that our guest was not aware of the gravity of the water emergency she mentioned in her review. The six inch main water line coming in from the street burst several feet underground when huge tree roots broke through the cast iron pipe shutting off water for the entire property.

For the next 40+ hours we worked to restore water, air conditioning and full power for our guests. As the writer stated, we did bring 10 gallons of water to every room. We did bring in Port a Potties for emergency use, and we arranged for courtesy rooms at neighboring hotels for our guests to use while we brought our hotel back on line.

Our guests were refunded their nightly room charge to compensate them for the 18 hours it took us to repair the pipe and get water flowing again. We were pleased that so many of our guests were so supportive of our efforts in very trying times. We desire that all Kaanapali Alii guests feel that we put their comfort first in any unexpected situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    125
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
468
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

If you like noisy, crowed, cramped, overpopulated hotels, the Alii is NOT for you. This is the second year that my wife and 3 teen boys stayed at the Alii and it was AWESOME. Large, modern, and quiet rooms, excellent staff, and the best beach on Maui. Personal cabanas, quiet pool area, BBQ your dinner on the spectacular grills,or walk to the 20 restaurants nearby. Large, spacious rooms with full kitchens help you to avioid the $25 per person breakfasts at like the adjacent hotels. Watch the poor guest at the adjacent chain hotels stare with envy as they admire the Alli grounds and amenities. The Alii will show you how the rich and famous vacation!

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ABQ_Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We booked a two bedroom oceanfront premier unit for the week of March 15, 2008. There were two adults and 4 "kids" between 17 and 24 from two families. I thought by booking the most expensive unit, I would have the best unit. It does not work that way.

From all of the reviews, I expected a unit with 2 bedrooms and a den with a foldout couch or bed. When we arrived, we were told that the oceanfront units DO NOT HAVE DENS, and the couch in the living room was not a foldout, so we ended up with people sleeping on the couch and an uncomfortable rollaway in the middle of the living room. The situation was not ideal. I left a message for the manager on day 2 that was never returned.

The other worst aspect was the lack of noise insulation or privacy. For some reason, probably moisture control, all of the doors to the bathrooms are louvered and very thin. We could hear everything that everyone did in the bathroom. There was a lot of wasted space in the units (enormous entry hall on a big L). I would have prefered the den that I expected. (I was told by the front desk that fewer than 5% of the units have dens, which is odd, since almost everyone that reviews these units raves about the extra den/bedroom.)

Groceries are very expensive ($8 a gallon for milk, $4.50 a dozen for eggs, $8.00 for a small box of cereal, $6.50 for a 12 pack of sprite cans). We concluded that by the time you buy the stuff to go with a meal, like A1 ($7.00), salad dressing, etc., it was cheaper to go out to eat. We really liked breakfast at CJ Deli and Diner (a mile away - turn left as you get on the highway), and China Bowl in the same mall. We also liked Penne Pasta in Lehaina, also inexpensive, and Kobe Japanese Steakhouse. We grilled a few meals at the highly touted gas grills, but if I went back, I would cook less, if at all, and probably stay at the Westin, Marriott or Hyatt in Kaanapali, with much better pools. The premier oceanfront unit was more than $1000 a night. I could have had two hotel rooms and more service and privacy.

The kitchen was well stocked and even had some spices. The pool area was clean but crowded.

If you have time, take the Pacific Whale Foundation whale watch. It was wonderful!

  • Liked — The location was terrific. The teens loved that they could walk everywhere, and the proximity to the mall was great for them.
  • Disliked — Lack of expected den, lack of noise insulation and bathroom privacy.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColumbusTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We stayed at the Alii for one week this past January. We had a one bedroom + den which was basically a two bedroom - the den had a bed, dresser, its own private bathroom, and closed off from the main living room with sliding doors. Here are my thoughts:

Pros:
1. Well-equipped kitchen: the kitchen had everything - pots, pans, electric can opener, coffee maker, large bowls for salads, silverware, some tupperware, a microwave, and even a plastic tablecloth for picnics. There were even ice packs in the freezer. The one thing we couldn't find - a rice cooker (yes, we're asian) - the front desk provided immediately at our request.

2. Fabulous bathrooms: there were two - a basic one in the den area, and then a larger one in the master suite. The larger bathroom had two separate sinks, and the shower was large enough for two people, and had a built-in bench. Very, very luxurious.

3. Beachside BBQ grills - we shopped at Costco and grilled out twice - they have huge gas grills with outdoor tables. The grills are complete with all the necessary BBQ tools, and the hotel staff will clean them every morning. Just be sure to go down early to grab one.

4. Fresh coffee, lemonade, and passion fruit juice every day. And a large plasma screen television next to the pool for all the superbowl fans.

5. Chairs for the beach are provided for Alii guests.

Cons:
1. We found dirty women's underwear left in the dresser. 'Nuff said.

2. We paid for an ocean view room - on the second floor, we could only see a sliver of the ocean.

3. Not all rooms are renovated, and some are in the process of being remodeled. The management did send flyers with the days and times of when the construction would be loudest.

4. The pool, while it is nice, is very small compared to some of the other resorts.

5. The fitness center is one small room with the basics - a couple of treadmills, and some free weights.

Overall, the Alii was wonderful, especially since there was a full kitchen for us and we didn't want to eat out every day. I would definitely recommend this for families.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagosls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

This was our 6th trip to Maui. In past years we stayed at the Hyatt. We decided to try a condo this trip, as we travel with another couple and wanted a little more freedom with meals, etc. We were familiar with the Kaanapali beach area and investigated the Ali'i and decided to try it. I was a little apprehensive, wondering how it could compare to the Hyatt. I cannot convey how wonderful the experience was. We stayed 2 weeks in unit 223. This unit is rented out by Maui Beachfront Rentals but still included the fabulous amenities available to all condos on the property. The condo itself was in a good location, had a lovely view of the grounds and ocean from the lanai. The decor is dated but clean. We really didn't mind that as we come to hawaii for the beauty of the islands, not the decor of the condo! Everything we needed was available for us at the condo, the staff is incredibly friendly, the grounds lovely, and the pool is warm. The beach at the Ali"i is actually much better than in front of the Hyatt and we took full advantage of that fact. We have already booked our return trip for 2 weeks next year!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MIfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay here. Having never stayed in a condo for vacation before, I didn't know what to expect. When we pulled up to the property, 2 gentlemen came over. One parked the car while the other loaded our luggage on a cart. After a speedy and friendly check in we were shown to our room. Not only did they take care of the luggage, they showed us around the room. We were given a 2 bedroom/bath condo corner unit. The room was spectacular. We had a washer and dryer which was great. There were 3 tvs. One in the living room and one in each bedroom. The master bathroom was gorgeous. The shower was absolutely huge and the lighting was perfect for a bathroom. The kitchen had stainless steel appliances and gorgeous counter tops. I loved the private lanai. The pool was nice and heated. Unfortunately when the weather sucked the whole time so my time at the pool and hot tub was limited.

I only have a few minor complaints.....one is there was an odd musty smell. I think it may have came from the couch. The other being the bed in the master bedroom was hard. Not horrible but enough for me to remember. The decor was nice for the most part, but the couch was outdated.

This was a wonderful visit, but I do prefer Wailea so I will probably stay in that area next time.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The hard bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgalpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Wonderful, breath taking! Great place, the best, we have ever stayed at. Had a one bedroom unit (#455) that had been totally updated and refurnished.

Great place to relax. Very clean and the people on site were fantastic, informing us of places to go, where to eat. Our unit had a fully furnished kitchen. We could eat in the condo or go out to the near by restaurants on the beach. Great food just a short walk down the beach..

The Alii even has gas grills located adjacent to the pool, next to the beach with tables and chairs. Cook your own steak and watch the sunset as you eat.

Would we return? In a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Great beach
  • Disliked — Hiking trails not close by
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Vacationperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing