We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here when on Maui during our vacation. Great condos with great access to beaches and restaurants. Super nice staff. Wish we could have stayed here for the whole vacation. Walking distance most restaurants and the beach is right out the door. The golf is great and near other attractions and courses.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Great!!! The ocean view rooms are especially nice with great verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    117
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
426
132
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 3rd family trip of Maui, but we had outgrown the 'resorts', it is so expensive to book 2 rooms (we are 5 people), and wanted to have kitchen facilities so we didn't have to eat out at restaurants every night. After much research we settled on Kaanapali Alii, and have no regrets.
We booked on the VRBO website, you get to see photos of the inside of the apartments available, which gives you a bit of an insight to the decor etc. We booked a 2 bedroom, which ended up really being 3 bedrooms as they had converted the study to be a bedroom with Queen bed, no windows and sliding doors to the lounge, but our daughter who though she was going to be sleeping on a pull out bed was thrilled to have a 'room'!

The decor of our apartment was a bit 'old fashioned' and dated, however, everything was in good condition, and the space we had far out weighed the decor! The kitchen was well equipped, and very spacious living and bedroom areas. We had a nice balcony, with a partial Ocean view, mostly looking over the grounds of the Marriott Hotel next door, but it was still nice. You have to remember these are owned apartments, so each one is totally different in decor to the next - and there is no fancy reception area, or lobby, just a basic check in area.

The location of the apartments is fantastic, right on Kaanapali Beach, very close to Whalers village where you can get the bus to Lahaina, to the Cannery where there is a supermarket or into town - its $2 each way, with a fairly regular service. At Whalers village you have a variety of shops and restaurants, not a lot but enough. We did hire a car for one day (they come and pick you up from your hotel and take you to the depot - I believe all the companys do this). We met someone at the Barbeque area one evening (excellent facilities - well maintained) that told us about a place, just before Lahaina, but off the main Street, called Maui Prime that had excellent meat and seafood and deli items...it was small, and not cheap - but did have excellent Steaks, seafood etc, you would need to have a car to come here, definitely worth checking out if you did.

The Pool and gardens are well maintained, however the pools are quite small, not the large lagoon style meandering pools of some of the resorts, but you have to weigh up whether you want the fancy pool, or the large, roomy apartment?

If we get back to Maui, we will definitely be staying back at Kaanapli Alii.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been coming to Maui for 20 years and have stayed at almost every property along the Kaananpali beach shore..all of the hotels and condos. The Alli is second to none. Very family friendly. Great grilling while watching the sunset. You can walk to a dozen great restaurants as well. The staff is very friendly too.

Room Tip: In my opinion, you spend very little time in the room. Don't pay up for a view...just walk outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This resort provides self contained apartments in Maui's most popular beach side area. There is a full reception and facilities include tennis courts and a swimming pool. For a resort of this size, the pool is very small and is no comparison with the recreating facilities in the Westin hotel next door. The apartments are privately owned so one is dependent on how well owners have furnished and maintained the place. The location is good as it is directly on the beach and close to the Whaler's Town shopping area. Lahina is a short 10 minutes drive and provide all the whale watching and snorkeling excursions. 
Due to the lack of resort features, we would in the future opt for one of the branded resorts on the same strip (Westin, Hilton, Marriott). Maui is a really good place to visit especially during the whale watching season. 

Room Tip: Request for full ocean front on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frits d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and after countless hours of research and reading reviews we decided on the Kaanapali Alii and picked unit #356 oceanfront via VRBO. Best decision EVER.

Most of the units are individually owned so they vary largely in price and luxury. Our particular unit was probably the nicest place in the entire property, completely renovated and perfect for our family of 5. If you can afford it, oceanfront is a must. It is only the large beach between you and the ocean and we loved sitting on our lanai watching the whales. From speaking with other guests, not everyone was raving about their unit so a good rule of thumb for this property is to do your research and shop around for a unit that suits your needs and budget.

We loved the grilling stations by the water and really appreciated having the guidance of the grilling chef on hand to help. The herb garden was such a nice touch too! The pools and gardens are beautiful and the property is on a beautiful stretch of Kaanapali Beach. From walking along the beach walk and seeing other hotels, nothing compares to this place. It is simply the best.

Room Tip: Do your research because most of the units are privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theLUXpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 5th stay the Kaanapali Alii and I believe they just keep getting better and better, if that is even possible. This time we reserved a Garden View Room and still had a view of the ocean. The staff totally embraces the Alohal Spirit - from the bell desk to the beach everyone is wonderful.. The Alii is great for families or a romantic escape and we have been here for both. Check in and renew your relationship.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a little more $$ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Tons of families with kids. The pool is adequate and my kids enjoyed being able to use the hot tub. Would have been really nice to have a dining option on property. The proximity to the beach and shopping was great. Would definitely return to this property with the kids but for a romantic couple's vacation this might not be the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing