We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“HEAVEN!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“HEAVEN!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 5th stay the Kaanapali Alii and I believe they just keep getting better and better, if that is even possible. This time we reserved a Garden View Room and still had a view of the ocean. The staff totally embraces the Alohal Spirit - from the bell desk to the beach everyone is wonderful.. The Alii is great for families or a romantic escape and we have been here for both. Check in and renew your relationship.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a little more $$ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    121
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
447
139
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Tons of families with kids. The pool is adequate and my kids enjoyed being able to use the hot tub. Would have been really nice to have a dining option on property. The proximity to the beach and shopping was great. Would definitely return to this property with the kids but for a romantic couple's vacation this might not be the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Alii. We feel its the perfect set up on Maui. Large condos, right on the beach, excellent service and staff. Yes some condos are better than others, but we feel the property more than makes up for the inconsistency of remodels. Unit 182 had really hard beds, but they brought up egg crates, and moved us to another unit when it opened up. You can rent through classic resorts, the on site management company, with no resort fee and daily maid service. Or you can find individual rentals on vrbo.com which may charge a $35/day resort fee and cleaning fee. What is superb is the set up and ambiance. No problem getting a lounge chair, all are padded and covers are provided. The grill/ outdoor dining area is the best bar none.. 8 Viking grills facing the ocean, with all supplies provided by the resort(foil, paper goods,barbecue tools, even an herb garden). Seating for 50+. And a perfect sand beach outside your door. We tried staying at Honua Kai which is newer and beautifully furnished, but it is more isolated, more hotel feel, horrible low lounge chairs, very small grill area and too much coral and rocks in the sand.
At Alii you are not crowded and have all the amenities of a resort, plus a wonderful beach walk to other resorts and Whalers Village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Kaanapali Ali'i several times over the years with our daughters and cannot wait to go back this August with our grandson! We love having coffee and pineapple on the lanai while watching the waves crash on shore...perfect way to begin the day:) The condos are lovely and right on the beach. Reserve a covered lounge chair and relax! I love having the washer and dryer in the unit and the full kitchen makes breakfast and lunch for a family a breeze...no leaving the beach for a set time. You can walk to Whaler's Village to dine or shop and Lahaina is a short drive away.

This is a lovely family resort condominium that is continually upgraded. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If this is your first stay, spend the extra and get an ocean or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCLady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was so impressed by the condo, especially the staff. The condo was 1300 square feet with a great view of the ocean. It was very clean and extremely comfortable. Having a kitchen was really nice, especially because food in Hawaii is very expensive, so being able to save on breakfast and lunch was really helpful. The hotel was not inexpensive, but worth every penny. The only thing that was disappointing was that they did not sell alcohol at the pool - since it is a vacation, I would have loved to have a few daiquiris :) . The cleaning crew came in every day and was extremely friendly. They even did all of our dishes and unloaded the dishwasher, I was so impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned (this morning via the red eye, so pardon any misspellings) from our second stay at the Ali'i, and my family and I couldn't be more satisfied with this property.

First things first -- this hotel sits on a prime stretch of Kaanapali Beach. Directly behind the main body of this complex is a coral/rock free stretch of sand and surf that is kid-friendly. As one migrates just a bit towards the south stretch of adjacent beach, however, the surf becomes more suitable for skim/boogie-boarding and surfing (albeit with more rocks with which to be concerned).

This property, while large, is nowhere near as big as the mega-facilities nearby. The pool area never feels crowded. The halls are hushed. The overall impression is of a more quiet, laid-back resort that really takes visitors away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded adjacent properties.

Staff members are hard-working and friendly. Poolside concierge staff work hard to get food, procure rental equipment (paddle boards, anyone?). The property is centrally located at the mid-section of the beach, such that visitors have easy walking access to restaurants both north and south of the property. Moreover, the units described as "ocean front" are truly ocean front (not situated half a mile back from the sand). We love going to bed with our windows open, getting lulled to sleep by the sound of breaking waves.

In short, I cannot imagine taking my family of six anywhere else to stay. We'll be coming back soon.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean front condo gives you the best sights and sounds for a large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I stayed in a partial ocean view, one bedroom with den condo (#242) at the Kaanapali Alii in the first week of January 2013. The weather that week was subpar for Maui so the spacious 1500 square foot condo was a welcome base for the week. The property is excellent with two pools, one "quiet" and one for all including little ones plus accompanying whirlpool spas, pool pavillion with two large flat screen TV's, and beachside activity/service center. The balance of poolscape, grass/garden and proximity too the beach is well balanced and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The healthcenter is first class. Compared to the adjacent Westin and Marriott, the Kaanapali Alii felt like a low population density resort even though it was at peak season. This was our first stay at the Alii and I suspect that in off-peak periods the property is even more relaxing and less crowded.

As others have noted, the location is great. I was concerned about the Kaanapali location due to the large resorts located on this world famous beach. However, the ability to walk to Whaler's village and its shops and restaurants was a great convenience. Also, Lahaina is just a short drive away.

The condo was first class with a relatvely new kitchen with granite counter tops. The den had its own full bath and was furnished with a queen bed which our two grown daughters found much better than a pull out couch. The master suite was bigger and better than what we have at home. We will definitely consider staying at Kaanapali Alii again!

Why only four star rating, not five? Wireless connectivity. In this day of mobile PC's and tablets the lack of wireless connectivity at the property was frustrating. Our condo did not have wireless access although some condo owners provide password secured access points. After searching behind the TV I was able to find an ethernet cable attached to the cable TV box which enabled access from a PC. When three of us needed to download more books or periodicals to our tablets we had to drive to the Starbucks at the Cannery shopping center down the road. The property has a wireless hotspot at the pool pavillion but many guests, including us, could not connect no matter what device we used. The staff could not explain why or get the problem resolved.

We will likely return to the beautiful Kaanapali Alii.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor map when booking to identify the location of your room. The property has a room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing