We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condos, beautiful beach!”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great condos, beautiful beach!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We just returned from a family vacation in maui, where we rented two spacious ocean view condos at Kaanapali Alii. I'll just say the location, the service, and the rooms are gorgeous.

Pros:

1) Kaanpali beach: rated one of the best in the US, we had lovely sea breeze at all times, and the view is unbeatable
2) Housekeeping/bell service/front desk: all top class, no complaints.
3) Kitchens: Stainless teel appliances, fully equipped. We cooked almost all days, and had plenty of dishware for 4 families.

(Slight) cons:

1) The 2 bedroom condos actually have 1 master bedroom, and a smaller den-sized bedroom. Our 2nd bedroom did not have a door, just a screen covering, so privacy was a bit of an issue. Not all 2nd bedrooms are like that, so make sure you ask for a room in which the second bedroom has a proper door.
2) Not all rooms have wi-fi. Some have wi-fi, others have only high-speed internet(u have to use a cable, so no ipads). Not a big deal when you're on vacation and trying to 'get away from it all', but still...
3) No complimentary breakfast, as its a condo resort, not a hotel, but the neighbouring resorts have breakfast buffets that you can charge to your room at Alii.
4) The air-conditioning is very powerful, and the only way to turn it off was to sleep with the patio door open.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best, we had rooms 4102 and 442.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    128
    38
    17
    9
See reviews for
474
140
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Kaanapali Alii in late November and early December of 2012, where we rented a One Bedroom Ocean Front View that provided an incredible stay. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the grounds are very well manicured, and the hotel is directly on the beach. Each unit is a separately owned condo, which provides a full kitchen and each unit is uniquely decorated. The individualism of the condos provide for a unique stay each visit. The beach front grills are a key feature, and the gym is has been recently built and is also very high end. This was my third stay here and I will continue to return.

Room Tip: Higher level floors have better views, and ask to be placed in the same tower when traveling within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Ka'anapali Alii resort in Dec 2012 - rented a privately-owned oceanfront condo off VRBO (356). The property itself is wonderful - great service, immaculately-kept, and great amenities. The units are privately-owned, so they may vary in appointments and condition, but 356 is absolutely pristine, with an oversized balcony/lanai no more than 50 feet from the ocean. The property itself is perfectly situated within a 5-minute walk to Whaler's Village, nestled between the Westin and Marriott Maui Club, Highly recommend the Alii for a condo rental.

Room Tip: Units are privately-owned, so make sure to identify the location of your unit. Oceanfront is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our stay was wonderful as always! We were greeted with, welcome back by name. Each time our rooms are a surprise and to date we have never been disappointed. Daily maid service, coffee each morning and a view to die for. We can cook in, grill or dine out if we want to all within a short walking distance. I love going for sunrise walks each morning and enjoying greeting those who have a similar idea. There is a newly built indoor gym available to use when I don't feel like walking outside or need to burn some extra calories. My husband is going to bring his lap top next time to partake of the WiFi and watch the big screen by the pool. We are lucky enough to stay at the Alii twice a year and again we have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCJim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this condo for the last 15 years and have never been disappointed. Great location. Living space is large. Very helpful staff and you are in paradise. Close to Whalers Village outdoor grilling area is also great for those who want to grill next to the beach

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaymaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a place. A condo/hotel with impeccable service and style. We had a gorgeous two bedroom and two bathroom condo complete with daily maid service, sheets and linens with sky high cotton counts, a full kitchen, and lanai with ocean view.
The staff was filled with Hawaii's Aloha spirit. There's a butler service to shop for groceries, which we used for breakfast. They stocked our lauder with eggs, the best bacon, bread, juice, fruit, Chardonnay, guava jelly, coffee, butter etc. all for $90.
There's a fully-equipped fitness center, lots of beach activities, huge beach towels and mats, and one of he best beaches in Maui, too.
Restaurants are in walking distance where you can eat in or take back to the condo. We walked to Hula Grill for lunch (always a treat), drove over to Lahaina Grill which was another delight, cooked it (fun) and spent our dreamy days strolling along the shore, swimming, snorkeling and keeping fit in the gym. There is no resort fee, parking and WiFi are also free and so is use of the gym. They even have morning Yoga and much more. While it's pricey, you save a lot of bucks by cooking in and you get what you pay for: royal treatment, luxury and meeting super people (all the guests we met were friendly and happy to be there, some were owners of the multi-million dollar units, others renters such as us.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but top floors always provide best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattithediva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in November. We were quite impressed by the size of the accomodation, large and fully equipped kitchen, laundry room with new front-loading washer and dryer, nicely furnished and comfortable living and dining areas, spacious balconey with table and chairs, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. It was like we had never left home, except we were in paradise. It is a short walking distance to nearby restaurants and the Whaler's Village shopping complex. I would recommend Leilani's on the Beach for a sunset dinner (reservations recommended). There is no restaurant on site. We bought groceries and made most of our own meals. We used the propane grills down by pool a couple of times. The swimming pools are modest but adequate, and never crowded. The beach in front of the Kaanapali Alii is excellent. It is a 5-minute walk to Black Rock, one of the best snorkeling sites on Maui. There is an excellent, large, very well-equipped fitness center and tennis courts. Massage services are available, although the spa facilities are quite small. The neighboring Westin hotel has a full spa facility.

Two small criticisms: the air conditioning was a little noisy during the night, and the presence of steps (for example, between the bedroom and a bathroom) was sometimes a little hazardous.

In summary, this is a very quiet, relaxing place with all the comforts of home, in one of the best locations in Maui. It is great for families. We definitely plan to stay here again when we return to Maui.

Room Tip: We were happy with our partial ocean view on the fourth floor. I would not recommend a ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing