We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another throughly enjoyable condo 211” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another throughly enjoyable condo 211”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Since my last visit the the Alii, the owner has again made more upgrades to unit, new living room furniture and flat screen TV that compliment last years complete refurbishment. This ground floor unit is the best location with good ocean views, great sunlight. The friendlly and attentive staff make this property the most relaxing vacation location. I will aways stay at the Alii and always try to request unit # 211.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobr4129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    118
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
434
133
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a great find! Great location on Kaanapali - surf/play on beach right in front of resort (rentals and lessons available), walk to Whaler's Village, Black Rock. Our room was more than we expected - 1 BR with den included a queen size bed /bath with pocket doors to close out from living room area. Staff was great and helpful. Loved grilling while watching sunset at the beach, and kids play at the pool - staff came to help with grilling if needed and they were VERY clean. Great to be in a condo with kids just to make our own breakfasts, snacks and do a few loads of laundry. We were there during the tsunami warning and all staff was calm and helpful - glad we did not have to evacuate!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed on our honeymoon and was upgrade to 2 bedroom partial ocean view. It was beautiful and more than we had every hope for on our first trip to Maui . Located right next to the beach and broad walk . We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gdg929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This facility far surpassed our expectations both in accommodations and in service. We had a problem with our refrigerator when we arrived and they had someone over and fixed it within 15 minutes. We also had a problem with the dishwasher and they had that fixed within 30 minutes of when we called. These problems were minor in nature and did not affect our vacation. The pool. area had shade that was not there in other facilities near the Alii. I would recommend this condo Facility to anyone and they would not be disappointed in anything.

Room Tip: The oceanfront room we had was great. We asked for and received one of the recently updated condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent a week on vacation at this luxury condominium resort which is centrally located on Kaanapali Beach. Beautifully appointed apartment, excellent and friendly service throughout the resort and a most enjoyable stay. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Suggest higher level room to catch best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a room ( ocean view ). Fantastic! Family trip of 14 girls. ( Grandma, daughters, dauterinlaws and granddaughters ) Some stayed here, some next door! Had a great travel agent! ( mauikay.com ) The condo was great and had many a party with all 14 of us!
The pool and the BBQ's we had were so much fun! And Grandma ( my mother-in-law ) had
the time of her life on the 10th floor over looking the ocean!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms looked good. Even the ground floor would be fun, because of the grounds! Try i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 6 has visited the Kaanapali Alii twice within the last three years, the most recent in April of 2012. We enjoy the proximity of the Kaanapali Alli to the beautiful Kaanapali beach and surfing, boogie boarding, and sunbathing. The rooms are luxurious and spacious with full kitchens. Service is excellent.We have stayed in both ocean and mountain view rooms and find the views spectacular. The Kaanapali Alii is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. We booked both of our stays through Kay Ryan at www.mauikay.com.
Kay is located on Maui and provides excellent service.She does it all- everything from booking flights, hotel, and rental car to scheduling the perfect Maui activities for our family and even hooking us up with someone to purchase groceries for us and have our Alii kitchen stocked with family favorites upon arrival.
Kay made both of our Maui trips perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbboyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing