We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Some Catching Up to do...”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I first must start off by stating we have been coming here for years. As a result, we can see how the island has changed in the last over a decade period. What used to be the only premier condominium resort in the area now faces tough competition from other condo and time share rentals. With this said, this property leaves alot to be desired. We are friends with many employees, many of whom stopped working for this property. It seems as though Classic Resorts just hired a bunch of people. First off, what used to be a cordial Aloha by a group of friendly staffers who would recognize us turned into a non-existent welcome from a staff that seemed tired. Mind you, the front desk manager is an absolutely lovely woman who has been working here for years! The new pool area is nice; however, many parents (perhaps the pool staff enables it) let their screaming young children run wild and free, jumping into the pool. All this noise is not relaxing. The hilarious aspect about the pool is the towels are diminutive, worn out, and the staff runs out of them frequently late in the afternoon (at around 3-4pm). For the towels, they have a system where they check off your name and room number with the towels you are borrowing and charge you unless you return them to the desk. THIS I FEEL IS INCREDIBLY TACKY!!! 1.) Who would want to "steal" towels with holes in them? 2.) Isn't their job to pick up the towels off of my lounge chair? They won't even set up my lounge chair with the towels? I find this towel craziness to not only be absurd, but to be quite frustrating while on "vacation." P.S: If your not downstairs by 8AM, forget having a decent lounge chair out of direct sunlight (we were getting down at 7 to reserve ours). I also hate the TV area. They put up 2 TVs I guess so people can congregate and watch sports. Now, while I'm reading at the pool, I get to not only hear jumping children, but also people hollering at the TV. Overall, this place is I guess comfortable, considering we have been coming to Maui for 16 years. However, if you are thinking of coming here for your first time, I highly urge you to check out other places including the Westin Villas and Honua Kai; they offer more amenities. PAying $550 a night for 1 bedroom ocean view while over at the four seasons we were paying $500 for an ocean view room (with a seating area, huge lanai, with an array of complimentary amenities). Next time, I'm headed to the Four Seasons. Every little service, whether an ice cream at the pool (which you have to fetch yourself), yoga classes, everything will cost you. Its all free at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lovz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 838 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

EXCELLENT way to get great beach, location, quality and full kitchen condos with class!
nice grounds, BBQs, nice pool, walking distance to Whalers Village, No parking fee, no resort fees... 1 and 2 bedroom units, large!

Room Tip: Gotta go with Ocean View.. worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleTvlAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with our 2 kids (ages 2 1/2 and 6 mos) for 10 days. The condo was fabulous - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a full, equiped kitchen. Sits directly in between the Westin and Marriot on Kaanapali Beach. Bring a stroller for little ones, and you can walk everywhere. The pools are perfect, and there is even a kiddie pool that's 18 inches deep. My brother and his family stayed at the Westin (which is also superb if you want a regular hotel room) and his kids liked our pool better (ages 2 1/2 and 1 yr). The outside barbeque area is wonderful, beach front and equipped (paper plates, utensiles, napkins, etc) so you just bring your food and drinks down and grill practically right on the beach. Everyone (except the rude lady at checkin) was fantastic! We only met one employee who didn't belong there, but fortunately, everyone else made up for it. I really can't say enough about how wonderful this place was.

Room Tip: Use VRBO.com and book directly through the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoastMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just got back the end of May and had a great time at the Alli. There were 3 couples so we had a 3BR Partial Ocean View looking at the Mariott (Bldg#3). Plenty of room and a really nice view. Suite could be updated to a more modern look but everything was clean and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The beach here is the best! Very close to Whalers Village and all the major hotels. Pool area is nice and even had 2 big screen TV's to watch hockey! Complimentary morning coffee by the pool and lots of towels!
The new fitness centre is excellent. 2nd time we've stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitch056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We just spent a week at the Kaanapali Alii and it was amazing. We had a 2 bedroom oceanfront which also had a view of The westin pool area, the beach and black rock. We rented thru vrbo.com. The staff is excellent. The location is perfect. Large sand beach between the Marriott and the Westin. A short walk to Whaler's Village. The kids enjoyed the surf lessons in front of the Marriott, with Bennie. Also, the ziplines at Kaanapali were a blast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Have been staying at the Alii for over 15 years sometimes twice a year, always a DELIGHTFUL stay, never any surprises. Will return this Sept.

Condos are decorated differently but all are beautifully done, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCJim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at the Alii and I already want to plan our return trip!

The staff was incredibly friendly and were always available when we needed anything. We didn't have an upgraded premier unit, but ours was very comfortably furnished and everything was in very good condition. At night it was quiet and we slept well having the bedroom window open to hear the ocean at night. It was wonderful having access to a kitchen for breakfast and lunch - it saved us from having to go out or order in for every meal of the trip. We had unit 182 which had a great view of the ocean and beach, pool and even a bit of the mountains from the lanai.

The pool area was *wonderful*. It's set back a bit from the main walkway along the beach for privacy and they have a pool and hot tub designated as the "Quiet Pool" for adults which is a bit separated from the main and kiddie pool area which was great for us. The landscaping and flowers were stunning, and at night the pools are lit up in blue with plenty of torches along the walkways. The pool was just across the beach walk from the sand and ocean, and they provided towels and chairs for us to use on the sand as well. The beach walk provided great access to Leilani's, Tropico and Whaler's Village and was great to take morning walks/runs.

You can't beat the Alii for a great time in Maui! It's so nice to have space to spread out and not be cramped into a tiny hotel room. The location is perfect for everything that you'd need on the island, the staff is great and the views are just breathtaking. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
493 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $409 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing