We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, average location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed June 20, 2005

The hotel staff were great from arrival, we got an excellent room C307 (the rooms are owned individually, the chain manages them so you may get an outdated/worn room).

The hotel has two pools and two putting greens, tennis courts and stuff all were in excellent condition and never crowded.
There is nothing (in walking distance) to do at night. Lahania is a 5 minute drive (loads to do there its great).

The beach is narrow and has coral/rough water (typical of Maui).

The only minor negative point from me is the exterior of the hotel needs painting a different colour it looks well dirty when you first turn up and its a little dingy at night as the lights in the hall ways are not very bright.

Go enjoy a decent value hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coopertrooper2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2005

My sister and I and another couple stayed at the Papakea from June 1 to June 8, 2005. We had originally booked a two bedroom ocean front condo thru our travel agent. When we arrived we were assigned A407. When we entered the condo it was actually a one bedroom with a loft and a broken down hide-a-bed in the living room. The stairs were narrow and steep to the loft and it wouldn't work for our situation. Two of us are somewhat disabled so we went back to the front desk to arrange for switching to another room. The manager immediately jumped in realizing our problem and assigned us two separate units, A104 and A106 on the first floor of the same building. You couldn't have asked for nicer accomodations. Ocean front and all of the amenities of the larger single unit. One of the units was a one bedroom and the other was a studio unit, both with fully equiped kitchens. Our units had been upgraded by the individual owners and needed very little. The Papakea is convenient to local shopping with the Star Market across from the entrance and the complex was quiet at night. It's not a luxury resort, but it appears to be well maintained, nicely appointed and met our needs. I would recommend the Papakea Beach Resort to others. The beach is small, but enough to walk along. Those who want to jump in the salty ocean would have no problem with little interference of rocks. Those that want larger beaches to lie on can find them a short distance from this resort. If you're looking for a medium to upper grade condo this is the place. If you want high luxury book somewhere else. The pictures in the adds gives you an idea of what the units look like and are probably pretty to true to form.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DOuglasW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

I have read the other reviews. We stayed at an oceanfront unit and it was the best. I am not too picky, I do not expect 5 star amenities when I am staying at a moderate property. The grounds were well maintained and it was enjoyable to walk around the property. You can walk on the beach and there is a pathway that takes you south to other properties with beaches, shops and dining. The location is North Kaanapali so you are close to a lot of attractions, restaurants and shopping but not too close. The 1 bedroom unit was pleasant, having a kitchen was convenient for some meals and between the ceiling fans and the air conditioner with a sea breeze coming in it was very comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jam530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2005

Stayed here for 10 nights last month. Overall, the resort is very nice and the grounds maintained well. Our unit was okay, the kitchen is old and had kind of a smell but the bathroom looks like it was recently remodelled. The AC was only in the living room area and was on a 3 hour timer so it was a bit annoying, but I found the temperature comfortable in the bedroom with only a ceiling fan. It was nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit. And the shopping center across the street wtih a supermarket was very convenient. The housekeeping in this facilty was very bad though. The tile floor was not very clean when we checked-in, there were spots on floor that needed wiping and some traces of sand. And of course they never cleaned the floor the whole time we were there. That didn't bother us as much, since we were also tracking sand and dirt inside whenever we came in and we don't walk barefoot. What we found very annoying and frustrating is that for 8 out of the 10 nights we were there, we had to call for extra towels all the time, especially annoying when you come back to the unit late at night. We called the head of the housekeeping dept and also talked to the people in the front desk but it was still the same story every night for 8 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gibblet93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Paul, MN
112
Reviewed May 17, 2005

We had such an amazing time in Maui. We were referred by a family member to stay at Papakea and it truly was a wonderful place to stay. We spent the mornings looking at the whales splashing in the ocean and the nights watching the stars and listening to the waves splashing against the shore in their very LARGE hot tub! The area was quiet and the people were so pleasant. We are hoping to return to Maui and when we do we will be staying at Papakea.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2005

Great resort, we originally booked an ocean view room and were upgraded to an ocean front room for free upon arrival. Great staff and the concierge was very helpfull. Do make sure to attend the continental breakfast/ presentation if it is your first time in Maui and don't know what to do. When looking for a resort, I read great reviews of Papakea but not enough pictures were out there so I hope these help. Overall it was a very pleasent stay. I would definately consider returning.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank olcese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston MA
226
Reviewed May 3, 2005

My husband and I got married in Maui and stayed at the Papakea. We had an oceanfront room. It was beautiful. The room was clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The only complaint about the room is the air conditioning. It is located in the living area and doesn't reach the bedroom very well. The grounds are lovely. The pool and hot tubs are well maintained. It is convenient to Kapalua and Lahaina. The parking lot does get full, but we didn't have a problem finding a spot. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $195 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing