We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at this resort. Loved the beautiful view of the ocean and Molokai from our ground floor lanai (patio) where we ate breakfast each day. We were in unit A103. Some parts of the resort are still having upgrades, but there was no work going on by the time we checked in late Friday evening. The air conditioner unit we had was OLD and made a tremendous amount of noise the first night. My husband told the people at the desk the next morning and they sent some maintenance guys soon after. The old AC unit was removed and replaced by a brand new unit before lunch time. MUCH quieter and actually cooled the room. They also replaced a missing bulb in a lamp. The unit is a bit outdated, but was clean. Overall good value for the money, since you can snorkel right in front of the resort and walk a short distance to the next resort for a sandy beach. I recommend water shoes as there are rocks in the water. There are 2 pools and 2 spa pools as well as shuffleboard and a little putting area. The small kitchen has a stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great if you don't mind closing the curtains in the afternoon since you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konakine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is an older condo complex that has been well maintained and has beautiful grounds. It's quiet and family oriented. They are divided into two sections and each has a pool, spa, koi pond, shuffleboard, and putting green. We have stayed here 5 times over 30 years and it has been a great experience each time. In fact, our daughter was married there in 2009 and it was lovely! They were married on the grass by the sea wall at sunset, then we had the reception in the gazebo. The only complaint is the beach. There is a sea wall along the beach front, with some sand, then a reef beyond that. There is a walking bridge over a canal that connects you to the next beach and we walk over there or drive to the nearest park when we want beach time. The weather is usually a bit cooler than the town of Lahaina and you can feel the trade wind kick up as you get closer. This is nice and we don't use air conditioning, just the fans. We had a couple of issues with the unit we stayed in last time, but the workers were there within a very short time to fix them. They DO have very loud bull frogs that live in the koi ponds and we use a white machine to help cover the noise. There is a nice grocery store practically right across the street which is very convenient. If you stay there, be sure and try Slappy Cakes right by the store, the food is excellent!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face West and they can get really hot. We had a north facing room last time and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvergreenDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We rented from Maui Beach Properties and stayed in unit G-207 from April 18-25/14. We dealt with Bree & Dave who are both very accomodating. Before I tell you about the unit just let me say that the resort grounds are impeccable, and the resort has 2 pool areas with a hot tub in each area. There are little creeks stocked with Coy with little bridges crossing the creeks. Just walking around the grounds makes you feel good. Parking on the grounds is not an issue.
As far as the unit tiself, you could not ask for more from this unit. While the lino & carpet has seen better days (it is a rental after all), everything was clean and the view of the pool, hot tub area and the ocean from our 2nd floor lanai was nothing short of spectacular. The appliances looked new and pretty much everything was supplied for cooking your meals. I don't think anyone would find the kitchen lacking. The bedroom had a king size bed and was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and about the only drawback was a small tub the size of a shower (we were told later it was the original and the owner was thinking about replacing it with a more modern shower stall). However, water pressure was good and we took showers in it. The unit also had an apartment sized washer & dryer which worked well. As a real bonus there were 2 beach chairs in the closet (which we used almost every day at the many bays & beach areas around). The resort itself does not have a beach area, but it is a short walk to one. Also left for our use were float boards, noodles and other assorted beach parafanalia. It seems that whatever is left behind by previous renters and is of any use, is left for someone else. We found that really handy.
There is a small mall within a few minutes walk which has a grocery store as well as various shops (pizza shop, souvenir shops, Snorkel Bob's which we frequented). There is also an ABC store within a couple of minutes walk which has pretty much anything you might need in a pinch late at night.
Anyway, I could go on & on but this unit definitely made our vacation very enjoyable. We would not hesitate to go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Units not facing the ocean would have a view of the pool area also. Depending on unit & building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We loved our stay at the Papakea. We had a ground floor 1 bedroom condo that was well furnished and modern.The Lanai looked out over one of the 2 Koi ponds on the property.
There are 2 beautiful pools as well as hot tubs. Very clean barbecues around both pools.
You can enjoy the large shuffle board by the beach or play on the manicured putting green.
There is not much of a sandy beach at this property but we knew that going in.Having been to Maui before we would always drive to one of our favorite beaches anyway. There are lots of lounges and it is perfect for whale watching
The property is within a short walk to a small shopping mall which had a medium to large grocery store with all the amenities you require at reasonable prices.
One of the adventures we did this time was drive the road from Napili all away around to Kahuli where the airport is.
Not for the faint of heart as it is quite narrow in spots and if you encounter a car you may be fortunate enough to be near a small pull out but if not you, or the other driver would have to back up to let the other pass . Very scenic ...It does widen up again as you get closer to Kahuli.
The Papakea is only about 15 minutes away from downtown Lahaina.
All in all this was a great place and would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I've stayed at several places on the island....but I will never return to the Papakea.

First off......got into the room and needed to use the loo.......upon flushing the toilet it was clogged (and no, number one doesn't do that to a toilet). Had to break out the plunger to fix that. Second- uncomfortable as-all-get-out mattress in our room. I mean, the couch was more comfortable. Third- the ac was LOUD! And you had to turn it on via a timer. REALLY?

On top of that, the cable didn't work on our 20" TV and the ceiling fan in the living room didn't either. I can't say much positive about this place except the grounds were really nice, the staff were friendly (even had a friendly way of telling me the tv issue couldn't be fixed), and it was close to my favorite place to eat on the island (the Maui Fish Market).

I had high hopes for this place with all the good reviews....but I guess it depends on which room you get (some much better than others).

Sorry Aston Papakea.....this will be the last time I stay with you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Aloha,

I am never happy when a guest is unsatisfied I wish they would have contacted us as we have many solutions. Beds are such a personal like or dislike which is why we have multiple mattress toppers, we have pillow top top-pers and memory foam toppers so if a bed is to hard or to soft we can put the right topper on it to remedy that.
Please anyone staying with Aston at Papakea please contact us as we really care about your comfort and satisfaction.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Pakpakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The only thing going for unit D 403 is the view of the ocean from the lanai, but there is no beach. This unit needs more than sprucing up - it needs a major overhaul. What Aston had presented as a two bedroom unit was really a one bedroom with a loft so cramped that one of the two twin beds there was pushed up against the wall. The stairwell to the loft was so narrow and steep we were surprised it met fire code. Furnishing were oversized - and gave the appearance of being someone's castoffs. The unit did have a laundry: full-sized appliances stacked one on top of the other. Controls for the dryer were about 7 feet from the floor and impossible to reach. Housekeeping somehow missed the empty beer bottle(s) left by previous tenants. Overall, staff responses to concerns were unhelpful - and at times unfeeling. The final insult came on our last night on Maui - when the elevator failed, forcing us to find alternative lodging for an elder family member unable to climb to the fourth floor. This property is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mqrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Aloha,

I am never happy to read comments from an unhappy guest and I have always encouraged any guest that is not happy to contact me directly while they are at the property so I can have the opportunity to make the guest happy. We have never had a complaint about this unit before and when the current guest checks out I will go and inspect the unit. Aston has minimum quality standards and if this condo needs work we will make sure that gets done.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Unit a204. Beachfront. But no beach . Unit is outdated. Could use a new tv . Upgraded bath towels and a new mattress. Not that bad of a location for sleeping and than heading out though. I would not stay here again . Noise next door I guess they are doing Reno. Nice help desk for excursions. 1 pool is heated. Bye he papakea

Room Tip: Try to get a unit that's been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.2 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $191 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing