We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price and views Papakea A203”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in unit A203, an oceanfront studio rented through vrbo. We paid $135 per night and that included parking, wifi and no resort fee. Staying in this building offered the most privacy in the whole resort as it is at the far end and the grassy area in front is pretty empty of people as it doesnt lead anywhere. The pool, BBQs and shuffleboard are just steps away. This unit had a Murphy bed with a very comfortable mattress. Our friends rented in the J building and they thought our location was far better. There is no air conditioning in the bedrooms of most units and they found it quite warm at times. For us we left the lanai door open all night, got the ocean breeze blowing in and listened to the waves crashing in all night - loved it! In suite washer and dryer was very handy. There is an ABC right behind the hotel and a strip mall with a grocery store in it as well as a very funky cafe to eat in with live jazz some nights called Java Jazz. No beach right in front, although we saw people snorkelling there. The only things we found lacking were the shower head which at 5'6 I had to limbo back to wash my hair as the head was probably at 5'7 in the wall and the fact that this condo has a million dollar view and the lanai has two old plastic tub chairs to enjoy it on. The lanai next door has a pub height table and chairs so you had a clear view of the ocean, not looking at it through black bars while you sat. Would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Pick the A building for privacy and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane8656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

So I stayed here over 30 years ago as a kid with my parents for months at a time. Thirty years later things have not changed much. However the place kinda has a retirement home feel to it. I mean I know I am an anomaly because I am in my 30's and I vacation for month at a time, but everyone hear is over 60, or at least it seams like it. The place is nice and well maintained but booking it can be a hassle because some units are owned by private parties or timeshare companies. This makes getting your keys and having a maid service can be a challenge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ocean view and some don't. Make sure you know what building your are booking...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

You can't get a better location - a few minutes from the the most beautiful beach on Maui with the most beautiful views of Molokai, and close to lots of restaurants. The pools an hot tubs combined with the barbecue stations made for a great social environment, and watching the sunsets from the lanais was unparalleled by any other hotel I've been to in Hawaii.

Although the rooms are dated and certainly feel dated rather than retro, they certainly feel good. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and never make you feel like you're wasting their time.

the size of the lanais is a big plus - big enough to have a lounge chair facing the ocean if you're facing the ocean, and have to eat breakfast or dinner on.

The only true downside to this resort is parking. We usually had to park across the resort from our room. Don't let this decide for you, though, it's a great place. I personally enjoyed it because it didn't have the "small hotel" feel that I've come to dislike in my time travelling with a timeshare, but it was small enough that you could chat up the same folks at the barbecue two nights in a row.

Room Tip: Third floor has the views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo (H204) with our friends for three nights and had a great time. The condo furniture and fixtures were a bit dated, but the kitchen had been remodeled, and everything was clean and in good working order. The beds weren't anything special, and on the firmer side, but we still slept great.

The property was nicely landscaped with smaller pools and awesome ocean views.

One caution is that the AC is just a standard hotel wall unit. It will keep the main area cool, but it's harder to cool the bedrooms. When we first arrived, the room was stifling hot, so we slept with the doors open and the AC on full blast. After the first night, it wasn't an issue.

All in all, it was a great place for us and our friends. We'll probably stay somewhere more upmarket next time, but this fit the bill very well for squeezing in a few days at Maui before island-hopping elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank fortneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

great central location.minutes from the great assortment of beaches,that include snorkelling ,swimming,boogie boarding.very neat and well cared for property.we started with 12 family members for 12 days,then just my wife,and finished up the rest of the trip in paradise.can't wait to return.

Room Tip: by the layout of this property you could choose any room.ours was k-401.great view of the pool,and o...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This resort gave us a free upgrade to a one bedroom and it was fabulous. It has air condition which is amazing! We were right by the pool and Jacuzzi and the ocean was visible as well. Just a little walk down to the beach entrance.
The amount of space in here was fabulous as well, we even had a washer and dryer. It was well worth the $100. per night we paid.
The only thing I we were a bit disappointed on was that the Jacuzzi was not even hot at all. They have two on the property and ours was cold and the other was so hot you couldn't sit in it. The other thing is the $15.00 resort fee. I really don't like these last minute resort fees that they don't tell you about until you get there and then they are mandatory and you have to pay them. Seems really bizarre and if they need that money so bad they could just include it in the price!!!! Why create an upset with giving a great customer unexpected charges???

Room Tip: One bedroom also has a pull out sofa but there's only one bed so if you and a friend need two be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Third visit to Maui; favorite condo/resort so far! Booked through American Airlines vacations. Upgraded to ocean front at check in and so relaxing to sleep to the rhythm of the sea just steps from our bed. Unit F107 had everything we needed to relax during a week away from work and the free WiFi is a real bonus to be able to stay connected to family and friends. Expedia concierge desk was pleasant and helpful for both booking excursions and sharing local advice on driving day trips and honest opinions which saved us time and money!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $197 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing