We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 50th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful 50th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a one bedroom oceanfront condo and we were so very well pleased with the view, the cleanness of the room and facility, the staff, the quite peaceful surroundings, just every thing. Lots of good places to eat and shop. If you you want to get your money's worth, check out the Papakea Resort. We wouldn't even look at another resort on our next visit.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobandDale198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    374
    163
    84
    51
See reviews for
409
391
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked an oceanview Studio for a 4 day side trip from Oahu to Maui. When we checked in, we were offered an upgrade to an available 1 bedroom. Sounded great. Big mistake. The room was in terribble disrepair, no air conditioning in bedroom, 20 plus year old shag carpet, no pictures on wall, old smelly furniture. We tried to sleep on sleeper sofa, but it was broken, unuseable. Bathroom was in poor condition. Closet shelves were all chewed up. We went to front desk and were able to get a Studio next day which was beautiful (different owner), granite countertops, brand new appliances, unbelieavable. After talking to several people staying there I came to the following conclusion:

1). Beware of upgrade to 1 bedroom. Many of the one bedrooms based on conversations don't cool off because there is not air in bedrooms, just in living Room portion of unit. Can be quite hot.
Studios all have air conditioning in main room.

2). Each unit is completely different based on owner. There is no standard unit. We went from one of the worst units A208 I have ever seen 1 star to a 5 star unit A 306 in same building. Chec carefully on unit you are getting if possible.

I gave this a 3 rating because
1). The staff moved us to another open unit.They were helpful.
2). Views are outstanding especially sunset.
3). Grounds are nice.

Beach is not really that good for swimming. There is a Seawall with grass above beach which is nice, but no place to easily swim in ocean for smaller kids. Beautiful views though.

Hopefully this helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
370 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked Papkea Resort through Costco Travel as part of a two-island vacation. (I am planning to retire in Maui next year and this place is on my short list.) I called a couple of weeks in advance, and asked for an updated unit. We also paid a bit extra for "oceanview" rather than a lot extra for "oceanfront", and were satisfied with our choice.
Papakea Resort is not located on a swimming beach although there is snorkeling directly in front of the complex. A 5-minute walk to the south puts you on a sandy swimming beach. I didn't mind this at all, for the tradeoff of lower cost compared to Kaanapali resorts.
The North part of the complex is currently undergoing balcony repairs for "spalling". This is when steel embedded in concrete expands and cracks the concrete. It is both common and expected. Eventually every resort has this work done. We never heard a single sound from the work, and actually had to walk quite a distance to even observe it.
The pool and BBQ areas are great. My only complaint would be that about two-thirds of the pool is pretty deep, leaving most of the crowd concentrated at the shallow end.
We had friends staying at the Aston Mahana, which is more expensive. To be honest, I liked Papakea Resort better, and every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The G building has afternoon shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We paid a little extra to be oceanfront thinking this would be the greatest thing ever. the view was great, but could not just run out onto a nice warm sandy beach. there is a seawall overlooking the ocean. the staff at the front desk, specifically Katie, clearly hates her job. She was the first person we saw on the start on our vacation and she set the mood, unfortunately. We were first put in unit F305. this is a 1 bed 1 bath that was old, outdated with broken furniture dirty floors. We stayed for a few days in this room, until we found the kitchen sink was leaking directly onto the wiring for the garbage disposal. We asked to be moved, and Greg at the front office was kind and accomidating, but again another unhappy staffer felt it necessary to try to tell us how to fix it!!
The next unit we staying in was F205. Much better and very nice inside.
We have a great view of sunsets and the ocean, but I would never stay here again. the grounds are nice, but it is hit or miss on if you get a good unit or not. Not beach right on the grounds. You have to walk to the next resort to get to a decent beach.

Room Tip: if you really want to stay here, get something on the top floor, it has a loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights before heading to a larger resort for the remainder of our trip. We rented a condo owned by an individual. This review is not about that room (A-307, which was an excellent room). This review is about the resort. What you need to know about the resort: 1) Unlike the giant resorts on Maui, this place is low-rise and you can actually get an oceanfront room. This means you can look out your window and see the ocean, right there. Wow! 2) There is no beach in front of this resort. If you have children and want to be on the beach, you'll either walk a little to the south (not a bad walk) or drive to a beach. Neither are a big deal, unless you have very small children and need to literally walk out your door to a nice beach. 3) The front desk staff are either very kind and helpful or they are awful - hard to portray that in simpler terms. I experienced both during my stay. Not a deal breaker, but contributed to the 3-star rating. 4) The grounds are well cared for, which makes things pleasant. 5) There are is some serious renovation going on to some of the buildings, and this will continue through 2014. This makes the grounds loud 6 days per week. This contributed to the 3-star rating. 6) This hotel is located very near 2 grocery stores and several restaurants. Excellent for fetching what you need at the end of the day to cook in, order take out, or go out to eat. Would I stay here again? If I could be ocean front and in a unit as well appointed as A-307, then yes. But the amenities here are sparse and the loud renovations make things non-ideal while at the pool.

Room Tip: If you want something updated and well appointed, find A-307 on VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0c0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved our stay at this property. We arrived at the end of June and stayed through July 5th. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo in Building F and our view of the water, sunsets and Molokai was awesome. The sound of the waves crashing against the seawall just below our condo was so relaxing. Troy at the Activities Desk was terrific - gave us a solid overview of the activities available around the island and helped to plan our itineraries. Every suggestion he had turned out to be spot on. The condo itself had everything we could have needed. The BBQ's by the pool were great; clean and ready for use every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryB071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSM, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've been to Maui on a number of occassions but never stayed here. We like the condo idea and decided to take a chance on Papakea. It's exactly that, ALL A CHANCE. Each condo is as individual as people. You may end up in a beautiful, updated/renovated, clean, and wonderful unit (next door to us) or you may be given one that seems like the owner hasn't done hardly anything since it was built in the 80's, rust on paint where nails/screws once were, a little mold and very used areas of the bathroom shower and toilet areas, and very old (I think original) carpet (like us). Also, as written in previous reviews, it's ALL ABOUT YOUR NEIGHBORS AND YOUR LOCATION ON THE PROPERTY. If you have a quiet couple that keeps to themselves and just tries to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the islands, you've hit the jackpot. However, if you have loud talkers using profanity (and sometimes people sneaking a smoke in these non smoking areas - once was marijuana) on the porch next to you, above you, or close to you; you're by the stairs where you have a lot of running up and down by loud children playing games (both ends of each building are stair locations); close to the pool which could have loudness until 10pm or sometimes a little after; or on a bottom ocean front unit with a constant flow of people walking by, placing lounge chairs on the grass in front of your beautiful view, or standing right in your view of the most beautiful sunsets in the world from your own porch (all of this was us)...you've wasted your money. We truly enjoyed our visit to Maui and all it has to offer. A beautiful island. Unless you have been to Papakea before and know the situation and can pick and choose your own unit that you know, it's ALL A CHANCE! We stayed about 2 weeks at Papakea and have a pretty good idea of what it's like over our time.

Papakea is in a good location and is wonderful property. Plenty of parking and during peek season (summer), plenty of guests. It's a larger complex so many people can be on the grounds. My biggest suggestion is to rent the units on higher floors away from the pool. They seem much more private and tranquil. However, you still don't know your neighbors. Again, it's a chance.

If you know Maui, there is no need to attend the morning session where they try and sell you excursions. That's your call though. If you are not familair with Maui, it might be helpful, but don't make decisions under pressure. Take a little time to research and read brochures. There are multiple companies doing exactly the same excursions.

We made the best of the situations that came our way and enjoyed it anyway. But, it's all about your neighbors and resort guests. Good Luck!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors away from stairs are best. Middle of the building...stairs are on both ends of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing