We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Part of the Vacations International Timeshares. We used my wifes Grandmothers Timeshare and had a blast. Grounds are very well upkept. ( see pics ) they have two pools and some ponds with coy fish. ( see pics ) Great place to stay in Maui. Very large rooms with plently of silverwear and other admentitives you will need for a good stay. Right near everything you will need for a great Maui Stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room D205 - it has no direct sun during the hot time of day. Plenty of fans inside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Papakea Ocean Front Resort, Unit H301 for two weeks in April 2013. We loved the condo unit. It felt like home. We booked our stay through Misty with Maui Dreams Come True. Everything was provided as represented by Misty. Booking our trip through Misty was easy. She was accommodating and we were left alone to enjoy! The Condo had everything we needed, and is a beautiful property that is very well maintained. We thought it just as nice as resorts that cost a lot more money. Snorkeling out in back of the property was amazing. We saw sea turtles and whales right out back of the property. The property was quiet, yet family oriented. We spent out 25th Wedding Anniversary there and hated to leave..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a nice condo on the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the resort was quiet. These condo's are a little older but they are in good shape. The landscaping is immaculate. There is also a shopping center across the street that has a supermarket in it which is very convenient. The condo also has a small washer & dryer in it which is nice. The bedroom could get a little warm due to only one wall air conditioner on the opposite side of the unit but it does have a ceiling fan which helps.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This must be a great place for family reunions because we saw so many of them. The kitchen is stocked with lots of dishes and updated appliances. The housekeeping could be much better. We were here 12 nights and they never mopped or vacuumed during our entire stay. They made the bed, took out trash, and put out fresh towels. Construction was going on the entire time we were here so expect construction noise - but at least they are keeping up the property. We booked with Costco and stayed in c105.

Room Tip: BTW, first floor only is garden view, all other floors are ocean view. We got a ticket for placing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donnarueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,

The work being done is very limited in scope and is for the most part not to disturbing. We do have to paint and keep things looking good.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 10 days with my husband. First time at this location. Booked a garden-view studio to stay in budget. Room was a good size for two, however needed some updating to unit. Shower had very low water pressure and bed was uncomfortable, however the unit was equipped with the appointments one would need for a longer stay (full kitchen, washer/dryer in unit). We were located in B building on ground floor which seemed to be a slightly more quieter area. Great location adjacent to Molokai pool (1 of 2 on grounds). Gardens are well kept and beautiful. All or most rooms essentially have an ocean view due to the layout of buildings so may not be necessary to pay more for "ocean view" room. Staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially when we had an unwelcome visitor (of the Hawaiian insect variety- nicknamed "B-52's") spotted in our room. They relocated us to another (upgraded and recently renovated) room without asking and at no additional charge. The location is excellent and has a grocery store and some good restaraunts across the street. Recommend Pizza Paradaiso for good food, good price and friendly service. Even though we are childless and prefer quiter, adult friendly hotels/condos, this resort would be well suited for families and/or couples. My only complaint would be to have a fitness center on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFitz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We travelled with family and had 2 units. We stayed in the F building (ocean front), and the others stayed in the J building (garden/koi pond view). Their unit was VRBO, ours was through Aston, and I'm glad we booked through them as we had housekeeping come through eveyday with fresh towels and the beds were made. The grounds of this resort are quite lovely, and I liked that there were 2 pools on the property. We had 3 kids with us ages 5 and under, so having the pools was convenient. Location of ABC and Times grocery store also very convenient, and there was a fish market near by with great quality selection. Our first night in our ocean front condo alerted me to how loud the crashing surf really was, I mean, I had read reviews on this and thought it can't be as loud as some are saying, but it was (for me), mind you, the breeze at night through the place was worth it. Our place was nice enough, with nice kitchen countertop, enough dishes and pots, but no dish soap or sponges, and only a single serving of laundry detergent. The floors were kinda gross, and the carpets seemed way overdue for ripping out (really gross with stains). The beds would be my biggest complaint, as the bed in the bedroom was more akin to a concrete slab, and the pullout sofa bed was akin to a hammock. The family in J building, on the other hand, had great beds, so really, it depends on the individual condo owner as to what you can expect to sleep on. The biggest downside to this place was the lack of beach. I thought it wouldn't bother me, as the kids preferred the pool, but we (the adults) really began to crave it as the week wore on. We had the pleasure of visiting Napili bay and we loved it and realized that would have been a more fitting place for us. It bothered us having to get into the car to get to a decent beach, which you really shouldn't be doing when you're on vacation. Staff were pleasant enough, although, we didn't really interact with them much. Overall, not a bad place, nice and relatively quiet. Would I stay there again? No, as I will want to get my beach fix again, so would go for a property right on a nice beach. And I hear Kihei is more kid friendly......

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,

We are in the process now of evaluating the condos that are in our rental program. As we do this each year and carpet that needs replace gets replaced, if painting is needed we do it. It is difficult to do in the winter as we are always sold out but we get it done.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked very last minute and didn't have many options. I booked Papakea and crossed my fingers, as the reviews were very mixed.
We stayed in unit B209.
The good:
Beautiful grounds- we enjoyed coffee on the lanai every morning and had a spectacular view. We also took advantage of shuffleboard.
Beach- there is a lot of discussion around the beach at Papakea. If you enjoy gazing at the ocean and hearing the waves while you enjoy a good book, this can be accomplished. There are loungers right on the sea wall. If you are more active and looking to snorkel, you will see a ton of sea life, you just need to take a mini-stroll down the stairs.
Unit B209- kitchen was well-equipped, view was amazing. AC only in the living room, but it was actually sufficient.
Location- walked to ABC store almost daily and a short drive to Kapalua and front street.
Resort amenities- enjoyed being able to rent current DVDs (like from red box). BBQ grills were top notch!

The not-so-good
Construction- a lot of work being done in the building right next to us. After about 8:30, the noise was pretty intense. We made sure we had enjoyed our lanai before 8:30am.
A little out-dated- our unit was in need of paint and new carpet, but nothing that would hamper a lovely trip.

Random notes-
-Some reviewers say the resort is full of kids, other say it is run by seniors. We saw a good mix. If you are not a kid person, don't sweat it...all the kids I encountered were well-behaved and caused no drama. There were definitely some owners that had a vested interest in rules being followed, but I could understand, as it is their home. We were asked to remove towels from our balcony, and another couple was told they couldn't set up an umbrella...nothing major.
- there is no gym, but you can workout at their sister property ka'anapali shores from $10 a day or $40 for a week. The gym is sufficient and has anything you would need.

The verdict-
We had a lovely stay and would return to Papakea in an instant.


The not so good

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank riannasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,

We are doing some wrok in the A building as we need to keep the buildings painted and in good shape. We do not put any guests in a building that is being worked on. If any Aston guest is unhappy just call the desk or see me to fix it.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $204 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing