We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Condo on the Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Condo on the Ocean”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a nice condo on the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the resort was quiet. These condo's are a little older but they are in good shape. The landscaping is immaculate. There is also a shopping center across the street that has a supermarket in it which is very convenient. The condo also has a small washer & dryer in it which is nice. The bedroom could get a little warm due to only one wall air conditioner on the opposite side of the unit but it does have a ceiling fan which helps.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    383
    167
    85
    51
See reviews for
416
402
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This must be a great place for family reunions because we saw so many of them. The kitchen is stocked with lots of dishes and updated appliances. The housekeeping could be much better. We were here 12 nights and they never mopped or vacuumed during our entire stay. They made the bed, took out trash, and put out fresh towels. Construction was going on the entire time we were here so expect construction noise - but at least they are keeping up the property. We booked with Costco and stayed in c105.

Room Tip: BTW, first floor only is garden view, all other floors are ocean view. We got a ticket for placing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnarueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha,

The work being done is very limited in scope and is for the most part not to disturbing. We do have to paint and keep things looking good.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 10 days with my husband. First time at this location. Booked a garden-view studio to stay in budget. Room was a good size for two, however needed some updating to unit. Shower had very low water pressure and bed was uncomfortable, however the unit was equipped with the appointments one would need for a longer stay (full kitchen, washer/dryer in unit). We were located in B building on ground floor which seemed to be a slightly more quieter area. Great location adjacent to Molokai pool (1 of 2 on grounds). Gardens are well kept and beautiful. All or most rooms essentially have an ocean view due to the layout of buildings so may not be necessary to pay more for "ocean view" room. Staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially when we had an unwelcome visitor (of the Hawaiian insect variety- nicknamed "B-52's") spotted in our room. They relocated us to another (upgraded and recently renovated) room without asking and at no additional charge. The location is excellent and has a grocery store and some good restaraunts across the street. Recommend Pizza Paradaiso for good food, good price and friendly service. Even though we are childless and prefer quiter, adult friendly hotels/condos, this resort would be well suited for families and/or couples. My only complaint would be to have a fitness center on site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFitz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We travelled with family and had 2 units. We stayed in the F building (ocean front), and the others stayed in the J building (garden/koi pond view). Their unit was VRBO, ours was through Aston, and I'm glad we booked through them as we had housekeeping come through eveyday with fresh towels and the beds were made. The grounds of this resort are quite lovely, and I liked that there were 2 pools on the property. We had 3 kids with us ages 5 and under, so having the pools was convenient. Location of ABC and Times grocery store also very convenient, and there was a fish market near by with great quality selection. Our first night in our ocean front condo alerted me to how loud the crashing surf really was, I mean, I had read reviews on this and thought it can't be as loud as some are saying, but it was (for me), mind you, the breeze at night through the place was worth it. Our place was nice enough, with nice kitchen countertop, enough dishes and pots, but no dish soap or sponges, and only a single serving of laundry detergent. The floors were kinda gross, and the carpets seemed way overdue for ripping out (really gross with stains). The beds would be my biggest complaint, as the bed in the bedroom was more akin to a concrete slab, and the pullout sofa bed was akin to a hammock. The family in J building, on the other hand, had great beds, so really, it depends on the individual condo owner as to what you can expect to sleep on. The biggest downside to this place was the lack of beach. I thought it wouldn't bother me, as the kids preferred the pool, but we (the adults) really began to crave it as the week wore on. We had the pleasure of visiting Napili bay and we loved it and realized that would have been a more fitting place for us. It bothered us having to get into the car to get to a decent beach, which you really shouldn't be doing when you're on vacation. Staff were pleasant enough, although, we didn't really interact with them much. Overall, not a bad place, nice and relatively quiet. Would I stay there again? No, as I will want to get my beach fix again, so would go for a property right on a nice beach. And I hear Kihei is more kid friendly......

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha,

We are in the process now of evaluating the condos that are in our rental program. As we do this each year and carpet that needs replace gets replaced, if painting is needed we do it. It is difficult to do in the winter as we are always sold out but we get it done.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked very last minute and didn't have many options. I booked Papakea and crossed my fingers, as the reviews were very mixed.
We stayed in unit B209.
The good:
Beautiful grounds- we enjoyed coffee on the lanai every morning and had a spectacular view. We also took advantage of shuffleboard.
Beach- there is a lot of discussion around the beach at Papakea. If you enjoy gazing at the ocean and hearing the waves while you enjoy a good book, this can be accomplished. There are loungers right on the sea wall. If you are more active and looking to snorkel, you will see a ton of sea life, you just need to take a mini-stroll down the stairs.
Unit B209- kitchen was well-equipped, view was amazing. AC only in the living room, but it was actually sufficient.
Location- walked to ABC store almost daily and a short drive to Kapalua and front street.
Resort amenities- enjoyed being able to rent current DVDs (like from red box). BBQ grills were top notch!

The not-so-good
Construction- a lot of work being done in the building right next to us. After about 8:30, the noise was pretty intense. We made sure we had enjoyed our lanai before 8:30am.
A little out-dated- our unit was in need of paint and new carpet, but nothing that would hamper a lovely trip.

Random notes-
-Some reviewers say the resort is full of kids, other say it is run by seniors. We saw a good mix. If you are not a kid person, don't sweat it...all the kids I encountered were well-behaved and caused no drama. There were definitely some owners that had a vested interest in rules being followed, but I could understand, as it is their home. We were asked to remove towels from our balcony, and another couple was told they couldn't set up an umbrella...nothing major.
- there is no gym, but you can workout at their sister property ka'anapali shores from $10 a day or $40 for a week. The gym is sufficient and has anything you would need.

The verdict-
We had a lovely stay and would return to Papakea in an instant.


The not so good

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank riannasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha,

We are doing some wrok in the A building as we need to keep the buildings painted and in good shape. We do not put any guests in a building that is being worked on. If any Aston guest is unhappy just call the desk or see me to fix it.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Papakea in April for 16 nights in unit E309. We were impressed with the property grounds as they are well maintained so we had the same expectation for our room. It was disappointing to see that the condo was outdated and frankly, quite dirty, especially the carpet. I had to go to the nearby Times grocery to purchase my own cleaning supplies like disinfecting wipes, dishwashing detergent and pot-scrubbers. The view from the lanai was of the garden and pool with partial ocean. We could not see any whales or view the sunset from this unit. It was also noisy and you could hear everything going on outside, people walking up and down the stairs and people talking. During our stay, the condo next to us was being renovated and the noise was unbearable. It sounded like the jackhammering was happening in our room; very frustrating while trying to put our six-month old down for a nap. The toilet in our room would not stop flushing (my husband hand to put his hand in the tank to make it stop) and the Internet signal was weak or non-existent in the bedroom. There is a $1.00 charge for local calls even though there is a $15.00/day amenity fee and only one single-load box of laundry detergent was provided for our two week stay. I had to leave notes for the cleaning staff to remind them to provide me soap and tissue paper when ours ran out. My last bone of contention was one staff member trying to charge us $30 for the use of a crib when we had an email from the manager saying cribs were complimentary. It wasn't all bad, the location was actually pretty good because it was a short walk to Kaanapali Beach, nearby restaurants (Duke's) and a grocery store. One particular front-desk staff member was very helpful, lending us boogie boards and offering suggestions to nearby attractions. Also, the free DVD rentals was nice. In short, if we had an updated, cleaner unit, with a better view and no reno next door, I'm sure we would be back. We booked through Hotwire so we were told that this was our assigned unit as the booking was made through a third-party (no moving).

Room Tip: If you are able to choose your unit, read enough reviews to ensure you are not stuck in an outdated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WpgMBMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha,

Unfortunately we have no control over other condo renovations but if this guest would have contacted me we could have and would have moved them to another condo. That is one of the key elements of renting through Aston we have condos all over the property we can move guests to. Please just ask if you do not tell us we do not know you are unhappy.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in unit J407 for a week in April 2013. Our family of five has three kids under 7. The reviews here are accurate. The place needs updating and you don't know if you'll get a renovated suite. In fact, two bedrooms with twin beds (the combo we needed for our family) seemed to not really be available in a renovated suite. If you expect that you'll get a non-renovated suite, then you won't be disappointed. The photos really don't do them justice as although they aren't renovated, our unit at least was clean and well maintained.

We arrived exactly at 11:00pm. After a long day of travelling, it was disappointing that the registration was not still open despite posted office hours stating 6am to 11pm. They had prepared for us, though; the night security guard was hanging around and was ready to give us the information on how to get into our suite. We were in our rooms at 11:15 but had to come back in the morning to register.

The good:
It's off the main touristy area of Whaler's Village etc. (We really liked that.)
Excellent pool for little ones.
VERY family friendly.
Loved the free DVD service. We watched a ton of movies after the kids went to bed. A small library with complimentary books and jigsaw puzzles is also available.
Lanai had great views of the ocean and pool. Our suite also had a mountain view as well.
BBQ by the pool was a great way to have dinner.
High ceiling on the top floor - very big and open, with tons of light.
Coffee service is actually surprising really good.
Excellent amenities like ABC (1 min walk) and Times grocery.
Walking distance to a playground for little ones.
15 minute drive from old Lahaina.
About 15 minute drive from Kapalua. Excellent beach for kids (even my 2yo went into the water) and snorkelling. Be sure to rent equipment from Boss Frogs near the hotel.
Clean suite. Friendly service. Front desk was very accommodating.
The suite has little touches like four beach chairs and an umbrella.
Loved the mini putt. Note that renting the putters is $3 per hour. They don't time you though, so if you go over, it's no big deal.

The not-so-good:
The rear bedroom (the main one) is LOUD with the hallway and parking lot noise.
The suite can get very hot and the AC and fans aren't powerful enough to combat it.
Suite is well equipped but we had to purchase all kitchen supplies, including salt and pepper.
Housekeeping happened consistently in the afternoon, during my 2yo's nap. We later clued in that we could request them to service our room in the morning when we were out.
It's not completely necessary, but a car definitely helps for day excursions.
Like other reviewers have mentioned, there is NO sandy beach here.
Poor selection of restaurants, but this is solved if you have a car.

Other thoughts:
If you have a small family, a garden front suite might be the best thing so that you can just let them blow off some steam while you enjoy a glass a wine on your lanai.

Verdict:
Great option for young families, especially for the price.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites on the corner and top floor have high 16-foot ceilings and feel open and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing