We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick but probably wouldn't stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The room we rented was a timeshare which was a bit unexpected. It was clean but lived in as if we were staying at a friend's house instead of a fancy hotel room in paradise. The conditions were fine but the hotel staff were less than impressive with the exception of the concierge who seemed to actually like his job and gave us great tips regarding our road trip to Hana.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a family reunion here because one of our relatives had a timeshare on the property. Because this "resort" is actually a collection of timeshares, you can't expect the usual amenities of a resort - fresh sheets or towels or daily housekeeping. Housekeeping comes weekly and does not do a good job. The floors were sticky and a cousin found roaches in her room. The check-in process was a nightmare. They couldn't find our reservation initially and it took them an hour and a half to locate it. The AC unit was old and very loud - it was difficult to hold a conversation or watch a TV show at a comfortable level with the AC on.

Because we had 2 couples staying in a two-bedroom unit, and one room was much nicer than the other, we asked housekeeping to change the sheets halfway through our stay so that we could switch rooms. They grumbled about this all the way...and later, when we called asking if they could take out the trash...complained to each other "they asked us to change the sheets and now they want us to take out the trash" before telling us we could take the garbage out ourselves. I recognize that I may not have understood how time shares work, but the staff here operated at a level of rude that I don't find acceptable in the hospitality industry. Another word of warning - this place is oceanfront but not beachfront. Stay away if you want something beach front, romantic, or clean. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shau-Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha,

I am the general Manager of the Aston rental program at the Papakea and we represent the largest number of condos here and are located on property. There are about 40 timeshare units on property and a number of time share companies managing those units. They all have different rules and time share typically does not come with any housekeeping at all. Aston does not manage any time shares units on property so there is very little we can do to assist guests in time share units other then call the company.
I am not happy with the fact the guest felt the staff was rude and I assure you we try our best to assist all guests even when they do not stay in an Aston condo.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found a great package deal with flight and lodging in early December. When we checked in, we were upgraded from a studio to a one-bedroom. Our room was on the first floor and was clean and neat. There are grocery stores nearby, a coffee shop and Subway and other little eateries, shops across the street. We either went out to eat or grilled steaks by the pool. No restaurant or servers at the pool, but that was ok since we saved a few bucks by just making our own drinks to bring to the pool. No real beach to lay on, instead you can pull a lounge chair right next to the ocean. When we did want to go lay on the beach or snorkel, we took a car for a quick drive up to the Sheraton and hung out there for the day. The people at the front desk were very nice and easy to talk to. One day my room key wouldn't work and they figured out that the battery in the lock was burned out. They had it fixed for me quickly. I would hope if you go to Maui you are going to explore and enjoy the beauty of the island, so who needs a super fancy room? The TV was pretty small...and the fact that our room was at the corner of a building, you could hear people walking past/talking after we went to bed because the windows above the bed don't shut. Other than that, I'd go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharShaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just returned from our second trip in a year to Maui! This time we stayed at Papakea -- we rented a privately owned condo through VRBO (Vertual Rental By Owner). This is the least expensive way to rent units. I cannot speak for the units owned by Aston, but the unit we had , in Building G was very nice...clean, comfortable, and a great view! (A relative rented a different unit, and it had been completely gutted and renovated...a huge differnce, and beautiful.)
Papakea, is in a good location in that it has a small mall across the road with a large grocery store that is open every day. We often walked over just before dinner to pick up steaks, chicken, or chops to BBQ on one of the 6 BBQ's around the pool. There are few take out restaurants close by, all really good.
You can walk for several miles down the coast along the coastal boardwalk, and along the way stop for coffee, lunch, or Happy Hour. Take the same boardwalk to yur choice of beaches, (or drive and park at public parking areas if you have too much gear). We went to one Happy Hour, and were very dissapointed with truly awful watered down drinks (watered down is expected, but poorly made was not). However; we were delighted to discover the Ka'anapali Beach resort (2 doors down), had Happy Hour every night in the bar, and thought the drinks were watered down, they were very good.
Papakea is quiet, and the grounds are very well kept up. I was impressed to see that all the BBQ's were cleaned every morning as were the pools and grounds. We did not have much contact with the resort staff other than check in and check out, and that was all perfectly good - polite and professional. I would difinitely recommend Papakea through a private condo rental.
The sun sets every night over the ocean, and it is almost always beautiful. It is different every night, and if you are lucky there will be a rainbow as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andiejpg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been staying at this resort and booking with this company for over ten years. Papakea is a beautiful spot. It is centrally located to all the major attractions, fine restaurants, great golf courses and magnificent beaches. We always book our Maui Vacations with Maui Dreams Come True because they are very knowledgeable about the property and the surrounding area. They are always very pleasant, reliable and attentive to our needs and provide an excellent rate for a premium establishment. We shall continue to stay at Papakea for our Maui Holidays and continue to make our bookings with Maui Dreams Come True. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: Request a condo on the third floor overlooking the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

quiet place, great to relax,
not too much activates on site.
you cant use ocean to swim, but its a beautiful view.
they charge facility fee on top of the price i already paid through hotwire.
but overall happy with the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmitri_alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an ocean front condo in building L, great view but if you are not use to hearing waves hitting the shore it can be a lil loud. Wish our condo was updated, would have enjoyed the stay a little more. The grounds are well maintained nice pool and jacuzzi area with bbq's, perfect for a family vacation. 10 min drive to La Haina. Only regret is using Maui Grocery Service to have groceries delivered to our condo. TOO expensive, we arrived to the resort to find out there is a grocery store within a 3 min walk. The price we paid for the food through Maui Grocery Service was way over-priced. Walk 3 mins and save your money. Papakea was an ok resort over all, next time we will spend extra money for nicer condos.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRGTAVILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $196 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing