We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unit 307B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at unit 307B. The unit was clean and well maintained, and the resort has nice amenities, well kept gardens, a nice swimming pool, jacuzzi and grills. Grocery stores are 2 minutes away (walking distance) and there are a few sandwich shops, mexican restaurants and and ABC store nearby as well. Convenient location, great view from the property, and reasonable prices (low season).

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are too expensive and only have a view to the ocean, not the beach (no sand beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serafin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon, and it was absolutely terrible. The rooms are simply condos that are owned privately and rented out..that means the accommodations are very out-of-date and in bad shape. The carpet was dirty, the furniture cheap and uncomfortable, the miniature-scale washer/dryer in the room wouldn't even run at the same time without tripping the breaker. We ended up only staying here 3 nights before transferring to a different hotel, and we barely made it through those 3 nights. This place is cheaper than others, but it's still way to expensive for what it is. If you're looking for a budget place, keep looking.

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a good room at this "resort"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveatpapakea, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Aloha,

Well I am not sure that this guest stayed in an Aston unit as it does not sound like it. We do not have breakers tripping as our maintenance department here on property would fix that with one call. The guest is aware of Trip Advisor but did not seek me out so I am to believe this was not an Aston unit. I can only say read the other reviews and draw your own conclusions about this beautiful resort. As I always say if you booked through Aston and you have a problem that the front desk can not solve just ask for Dave the General Manager.

Mahalo,

Dave Schneider
General Manager
Aston at the Papakea Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Aston Papakea the second week of September and had a great time. The units seem to be mostly one bedroom places with full kitchens. The unit had an AC in the living room but we never used it. The units have windows on both sides so there is a great cross breeze. The resort is built in two semi-circles facing the west so all the units seem to have an ocean view of some sort.

The facility itself was also nice -- lots of grassy areas, a couple of pools, flower gardens, koi ponds, etc. There isn't a true beach at this spot, the sea wall stairs go down to ocean shore that's a foot or two deep. But fifty yards south is a beach and 200 years north is one of the nicer state beaches. All the beaches on the island are open use.

Being a condo, the place is great if you want to do your own cooking every so often. And there's a supermarket just outside the resort. There's also a great Costco just off the airport and we got pricier food items there once we picked up the rental car.

The whole area along Lower Honoapiilani Hwy is like a mini town with coffee shops, food places, clothes stores, and such. The Kaanapali hotels and Whalers Village are about a mile south on the highway but we only went down there for a luau and to snorkel at Black Rock -- a GREAT snorkel spot by the way.

The overall price of the place was quite fair for the money. But be warned that they charge $10 a night for some condo fee or another. There is no charge for parking. The Wifi was fairly pathetic but the week we were there they started adding Wifi for each unit so that should help things. I can't comment as to what kind of improvement it will be.

Their activities folks do a presentation the first day that is helpful if you take it with a grain of salt. So overall we would go back to the Papakea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here September 7-11 in what they call their off season. Highly recommend coming during this time. Much cheaper and less crowded. These condos are best way to travel to Hawaii. These condos are mainly individually owned and all are decorated differently and with different updates. We stayed in ocean view third floor one bedroom. Space was perfect for two. Very clean! The condo provided everything from dishes to lawn chairs to bottle openers to shampoo. Our condo had ceiling fans and table fan for bedroom. Housekeeping made beds and exchanged towels every day. Rest of the clean up you are on your own. There was one window Ac in living room which I was worried about at first but it turned out to be sufficient. The weather is so beautiful there! Location is right outside lahaina. If you want to walk out and lay on a sandy beach, this isn't the place to go. There are grassy ledge and sea wall drop to ocean, but you can walk about 100 yards to next resort and lay on beach. Definitely get a rental car! Buy souvenirs at Kmart. Things that we did that were amazing: helicopter tour of Molokai, molikini snorkel trip, drove to Hana, drove up volcano for sunset, and little beach. Would stay here again. The grounds are beautiful! Everyone was very nice! If you are wanting full service and room service and mini bars this isn't the place. But if you like saving money and grocery shopping this is perfect. Hawaii is amazing and I hope you get to experience this amazing place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webuyuglyhouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Papakea resort with a bunch of friends for a wedding vacation, and really enjoyed our time. Condos came complete with everything you'd have at home. Common areas were nice and well kept, pool and spa were always clean and the staff were pleasant.

We were warned about the condo patios being under contraction before we booked, however never really noticed the work being down.

Overall a great place to stay and would defiantly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerBillEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved the Papakea! Much more than we'd bargained for, for the price. Great value for the location and amenities. Clean, clean, clean! Fresh interiors/lovely pools, grounds, koi pools, etc etc etc. We stayed the first week of September, a quieter time for Maui, and our unit was quiet and spacious. Unit fully outfitted with kitchen gear, towels, etc. When we needed to switch units due to a plumbing problem we were given an upgraded room along with a welcome box of chocolates and bottle of champagne all free of charge. We didn't have an opportunity to use them, but there are great barbecue units around the pools free for the use by guests. Staff is extremely efficient, helpful and kind. It was great to have a condo with an ocean view and lovely grounds and kitchen this close to Kaanipali. We will seek out Papakea next time we are on Maui!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Steph14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great stay in Hawaii (our first time). The resort is great overall, clean, friendly service, nice location. But...
There is no beach. It can be a problem, but we went to different beaches pretty much every time anyway. The closest is actually next door (on your left if facing the ocean).
The units are designed to be long and not too wide. The one-bedroom suite has living room and the bedroom at the opposite sides with the kitchen and bath in the middle. The air conditioner is in the living room window and cooling down the bedroom is quite tricky. The rooms have ceiling fans and the nights in Hawaii are not as hot and not humid at all as on the East Coast, but if you are too sensitive, try to stay elsewhere.
The stuff forgot to bring new dishwasher detergent once, but it didn't happen again after we asked for it.
Grocery store is across the street, so are some restaurants (Java Jazz was our favorite). Check out the fruit stand (left from the street entrance if you facing the shopping plaza), mangos are exceptional. The restaurant in the hotel next door is good and reasonably priced, more options in Lahaina (we went to those mentioned in most travel guides, no disappointments).
Expedia local expert on site gives very competitive prices for the activities, meaning, I couldn't find significantly lower prices online if they were lower at all, but check this out, maybe I was too lazy doing my research. The advices we've got were mostly relevant and worked out good for us. Do not miss the presentation on your first morning.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are more expensive, but garden view rooms face the ocean too. We've got the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $206 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing