We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveler rating
607
432
118
77
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
432
118
77
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaway cafebanyan buildingcoconut buildingaloha towerfull kitchenblack rockgarden viewwhalers villagefree trolleysmaller poolbeach walkmain buildingtwo queen bedsgreat beachonsite restaurantstudio condogeneral store
Filter
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The accomodations and ambience of this resort were perfect for our vacation. We enjoyed meeting other guests, loved the water sports available at the front shack, and couldn't take our eyes off the whales playing offshore. The people who work there were friendly and helpful, our condo was beautiful, and we were within walking distance of great restaurants and entertainment. I'll definately plan to stay here anytime I go to Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Just556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Aloha Just556,

Mahalo for taking the time give some awesome feedback on your stay with us at the Maui Ka’anapali Villas! We appreciate your positive commentary on our facilities, amenities and the Aloha Spirit of our staff. We are pleased that you were able experience some of the great things our property has to offer and are excited to welcome you back to the Villas on your next Maui Visit.

A Hui Hou Aku
(Until We Meet Again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We have been here many times, mostly in a garden view, ground floor studio, but this time we stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath with an ocean view because there were 5 of us, including 2 toddlers. All the rooms we have stayed in have been good. We always get a ground floor so we have a patio, grass and can walk right out to the beach or pool without using stairs or elevators. We really enjoy the privacy and quietude here, instead of the rows on rows of lounge chairs and the many people at the big high rise hotels . Also the public areas such as the lobby and main pool have been tastefully updated. As the other reviews have noted, the location is super convenient - right on the "beach walk," very close to "golf," a beautiful15-20 min. stroll to Whaler's Village and close to the "snorkelling" areas. The restaurant "Castaways" is pretty good, but we do like to eat at the Hula Grill in Whaler's Village better, although Castaways fish sandwich and cocktails are good, especially with a $1 off during Happy Hours. Beautiful, relaxing place!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Aloha janl49,

Mahalo for choosing the Maui Ka’anapali Villas for your vacation once again! We are always excited to welcome our return guests back. One of the great things about the Villas is the variety of room types: Hotel Rooms, Studios, One Bedrooms and Two Bedrooms, there’s something for everyone here and we’re happy that we were able to accommodate your growing family! Thank you for your kind comments on the upgrades to our lobby and pool areas! We definitely take pride in the beauty of our property and are pleased when our guests take the time to compliment the wonderful improvements. We’re also glad you were able to experience our very own Castaway Café, a hidden gem for ocean front dining. We hope to welcome you back to the Villas for many more years to come.

A Hui Hou Aku
(Until We Meet Again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed at the Villas from Jan. 25 to 31, 2011. We opted for a one bedroom ocean view suite. We were placed on the sixth floor of the tower with an ocean view at an angle. We were disappointed at not having a lanai, but only a balcony where we could stand, but not use chairs due to its narrowness. The room did not resemble photos on the website for the resort, but we expected that, since many units are individually owned and decorated. All in all, we were happy with the accommodations, which were clean, comfortable and well furnished, including the kitchen. The grounds are very well maintained and attractive. The pool is well landscaped and large. There is a second pool in another part of the property, which consists of five buildings used for accommodations' and we did not use the second pool. The staff was courteous and helpful. The beach area is first class. The resort is well located on the beachwalk and away from more crowded areas. Whalers Village is a 15 minute walk away, and a free shuttle also goes there. Lahaina is about a 15 or 20 minute drive away. I review the restaurant separately ("Castaways"). We were very happy with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Maui...the only disappointing part was the Aston Kaanapali Villas. Our room overlooked the parking lot and the noisy main highway through Kaanapali, so instead of being able to enjoy the hawaiian breezes we had to keep the windows shut and the A/C on because of the noise! But then the A/C would make a loud clunk every hour or so which made for very restful sleep...NOT!!!! Didn't use the pool or the restaurant at all as they just didn't have a welcoming appearance at all! The only thing I noticed that was nice about the hotel was the lobby and the location, we spent a lot of time around black rock which was not even a 10 minute walk. Staff was not terribly welcoming. The whole hotel experience was just BLAH...thank goodness Maui has so much else to offer! If I had to do again I would have stayed at the Sharaton or the Westin like I wanted to in the first place rather than saving the money!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fisch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Fisch78,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

I thank you for taking the time to write your posting and for sharing your experiences with us. Although we obviously missed the mark during your stay, please know that we take your feedback very seriously because our goal is to get these things right. We want all our Guests to have a carefree and enjoyable vacation while here in sunny Kaanapali!

I must admit that this was the first time I’ve heard anyone describe our recently renovated swimming pools, and our oceanfront restaurant as uninviting. But as with the deficiencies you point out in describing your accommodations, please know that we take these comments very seriously and will be doing all we can to make the necessary corrections.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our fabulous location and took advantage of the wonderful amenities and attractions this beautiful resort has to offer. It truly is an amazing place! I thank you for choosing to stay with us in the first place and apologize again for any frustrations we may have caused you. Please know that we would love to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves by serving you again someday. Until then I wish you and your Ohana (family) all the best!

Me ke aloha pumehana,
(with warmest regards)

Michael J. Sands
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 10-day stay at the Kaanapali Villas, and we were very happy with our room. I was hesitant because of some of the negative reviews, but our experience was great. If you like ritzy hotels, this isn't the place for you, but if you want a relaxing vacation and a good value, this place is awesome. Our room was very clean, the full kitchen was great to have, and the beach is ideal for lounging and wasn't too crowded. My only complaint is that the service at the Castaway restaurant was pretty bad - there were 3 or 4 times where it took 20 minutes before anyone even came by to take our drink order. You're better off going next door to the Westin bar & grill. The $13/day extra facilities fee was annoying, but the staff was perfectly nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews