We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable family stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with two kids. Right on the best beach. Nice pool. Not crowded. My shy kids aren't into a lot of resort-planned kids activities so this was perfect. Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Grounds are beautiful. We used the onsite grills to have a cookout. Very clean grilling area. Had a studio garden view condo but could still see the ocean from our condo. Full kitchen saved us money on meals. King bed was comfortable. Sofa bed--well--it's a sofa bed. The only real drawback here is that you can only reserve the class of room that you want. Configuration is not guaranteed. We booked through Costco and thought we had two double beds. But we were given a king bed and queen sofa bed. When we voiced our displeasure they quickly offered a free rollaway bed. This worked out well for our oldest son to sleep in. Wasn't the best mattress around but he was happy. Bottom line--we would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mummiosboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    392
    113
    70
    35
See reviews for
394
422
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family of 4 adults stayed in a studio earlier this year for 4 nights. Although there was a plumbing problem on the first day, they quickly rectified it. It is after all, an old property but we thought the service more than made up for it. The foyer looks great after the renovation and the location is quiet..the beach was not crowded. The shuttle was very convenient.

We would stay there again. It was a good price and great for what we needed. The only down side is that our boys had to put up with a very poor quality fold out bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Aston Kaanapali Villas for 2 nights via booking.com. We stayed at the Westin Maui for 7 days after and couldn't believe what a waste of money the Aston was.
Maybe we stayed in a lousy room (basic hotel room - no kitchen) but we really didn't like the vibe at this hotel. It just seemed like a sad hotel from the 80s that has been neglected.
The pool should be avoided and the beach area is just OK (south of Black Rock the beach is much better).
For $250+ a night I would've expected a tad better. I think you can use your money more wisely elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank shirasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking some time to give us feedback about our resort. This feedback is always valuable and always received with the intent to sharpen our perspective and improve our delivery. I am sorry to see that our property did not meet your expectations.

It appears that the Westin Hotel was more of what you were looking for. I can certainly understand why that resort is successful and why you preferred it. I am not sure if it’s fair to compare the two. The room rates at the Westin are generally 50-65% higher than ours. There are many reasons why they are able to charge more. Perhaps the benefit to the consumers in this case is to have a range of choices that best fit their needs.

I feel confident that our resort is a solid value for most of our guests; however, it was clearly not what you were looking for. Again, my apologies, that we missed this opportunity with you during your visit to Maui.

Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay if you want quiet, beach access, central location and nicely maintained property. We stayed 10 days in an "Oceanside" studio condo downstairs. I was hoping for something on the ocean but this was not. The condo did face to the pool but the beach was only about 400 feet away. It is a great beach. For a price you can get a beach chair or a cabana or a paddle board. You can walk straight out and swim and snorkel in the ocean. It is great beach access. We never even used the pool because the beach was so great, but we are ocean people. We walked to a local organic farmers market which was 3 days a week. The BBQ was steps from our room (185) which was cleaned daily and great to cook on. The room was good and not funky at all.
Two negatives - the bed was really uncomfortable and the air conditioner was loud and there was not great air movement in the room. The lanai looks out on beautiful gardens and pool and had locking screen doors. We locked the screen all night (bottom floor) and felt safe. The bathroom was spacious and the daily maid service great. The staff was friendly and attentive. There is a small restaurant on the premises which is good and convenient. If you are going to want to eat on property every day, this may not be your best choice. We ate there 3 times and liked it and it had a great ocean view. Since the restaurant is right next to the pool it is easy to get something to eat while you are enjoying the outside lounges on the grass or playing shuffleboard.

We took the trolley to whalers village which was really easy and walked back. It was an easy walk through all the hotels and we did not find one we would choose over Kanaapali villas. The beach walk, which goes down the beach and through the all the beachfront properties for a couple miles, also goes the other direction through other close properties and again we were very happy with our choice after looking at the others.

If you want a place with lots of nightlife this is probably not your spot. It is quiet by 10. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. And we were very glad we upgraded to the "Oceanside" location. Worth the extra money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Caibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week beginning of January. We had been staying in Canada and Honolulu in hotel rooms, so was lovely to be able to have some space and relax in a 1 bedroom villa. We stayed in Unit 402, which is a nicely updated villa with ocean views from the balcony. The kitchen was stocked with any appliance we could need and we had breakfast in our room most mornings. The villas are in a great location, and we walked along the Beach Walk path several times to Whalers Village and also to the Luau at the Royal Lahaina next door. Only 10 / 15 mins in the car to Lahaina. Would definatley stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheena_F111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Before making my trip, I had looked at many properties in this area. I was glad to see other people's reviews were mostly positive, although it ranked lower among all the places in the area. Well, let me just say that the overall ranking should be higher! This property was much better than I anticipated. The check-in process was painless, and the lobby was modern, well laid-out, and decorated nicely. The staff was always nice and accommodating, and we had no issues at all with our stay. We were in the "Coconut" building, which although a little away from the beach, it has its own character. It was in fact quieter here versus those rooms that overlooked the beach. We also had our own pool in this area of the property, which was nice (not as busy/crowded as the one near the beach). We did not eat at the restaurant, as we brought and bought our own food since Island food can get expensive. The restaurant looked nice, however, and had a menu with many choices. We'll have to go back! I must also add that even the fitness center was one of the nicer ones I have seen at a hotel. it had modern equipment, weight benches, and free weights to use, and it was clean.

The photos on their site and this site were very accurate in depicting the property and rooms, and when we first walked into our room, we felt right at home. The property was landscaped with many nice flowering plants. It was a treat to smell the plumeria flowers in the morning. Of note for those that do not mind eating in, there is a Foodland grocery store just a few miles south in Lahaina, or, for some better prices, go north to the second traffic light (Lower Honoapiilani Rd) to the Times Supermarket. it is less than one mile away, and they have a nice assortment of products. Avoid the Safeway near the Cannery Mall, as they are nice, but very pricey.

We stayed for six nights, and we have a place to return to when coming back to Maui!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_M76275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
338 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We have been comming to this hotel for over 25 yrs!!!!!!!! This is Maui Laid back style. They have remodeled back in 2010, and it is beautiful!!! The hotel is great, and the staff is wonderful. They have a great reception where you can book all your tours if you want. They have a nice independent grocery store inside the hotel also which is convenient. They sell liquor, to eggs, and meats as well as souvenirs. They have laundry sites in the back of the hotel which is great, and nice BAR B Q spots where you can cook a great steak!!!! The Barefoot Bar is fantastic!!!!!!! Please go and enjoy a wonderful time at this beautiful piece of PARADISE! Every time we go the front desk, and staff know us by name!!!in The Barefoot Bar is a great restaurant with inside and outside dinning with happy hour everyday at 3:00. The fresh fish dinners, Italian and seafood nite are the best!!! To let you know how much we love it here, we live in Sunny San Diego, and we took a cruise out of our port to Hawaii, and since we know Maui so well, we hopped on the little Trolley bus took it to our hotel we always stay at and saw the owner and staff who welcomed us and we told them we were here for lunch, and they thought we were staying at the hotel and we said no, taking a cruise and wanted to come here for lunch!!! drinks on the house!! Went to the hotel, and then booked our room again for July. We were there in April which was great so we could see the whales on our cruise, but to us July through August is the time we enjoy at the hotel. The pools there are two on the site all remodeled and look Awsome!!! Also you can walk into Whalers Village from hotel or take the free shuttle buses. They have the schedules posted. Sorry for such a long review but you will love your stay. We enjoyed our Lania and cooking. The rooms suites are soooo wonderful. Maui sunsets!






Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing