We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place for a family vacation on West Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great place for a family vacation on West Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is our second time here and we will be coming back. This is an HOA resort meaning that all units are individually owned. Some are in the rental pool and managed by Aston and others are managed by the owner and available through VRBO or some similar site. This means that the units are not uniform as with a hotel. Some units are renovated and updated and others are not. You need to do your due diligence on the unit before booking.

This resort is conveniently located in Kaanapali with a fantastic sandy beach out front that is perfect for swiming (no rocks). About 50 meters up the beach (in front of the mansions and the Westin) is a spectacular coral reef that rivals Black Rock. That makes this is an exceptional snorkeling site that is suitable for adults and children.

The resort is about 50 years old but has been recently renovated in the lobby and pool area. It has an "old Hawaii" feel to it that you will enjoy.

There are two very nice pools and the landscaping is exceptional. Lots of sun and lots of natural shade.

The onsite restaurant (Castway Cafe) is great for breakfast and lunch but below average for dinner. If you must have dinner there order off the lunch menu. The restaurant has exceptional wine list that has been recognized by Wine Spectator magazine. Lets be serious though, the Castaway is a "diner" and the wine list is out of place here.

The onsite market is good for most sundries. But the store at the Royal Lahaina next door is better. If you need to book activis there is an onsite person and lots of competition nearby for rentals. Dont buy a snorkel or boogey board or beach chairs. All of that stuff can be rented at reasonable rates. fom Boss Frogs or Snorkel Bobs nearby.

If you want to try some local cuisine for dinner, check out the nearby Ono Kau Kau about a block or two from the Time Market. This is a greasy spoon, but you will enjoy the food.

Room Tip: Some units in the low rise buildings offer views of the pool and the ocean. The tower units on floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tripdaddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    360
    106
    66
    34
See reviews for
363
383
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

we stayed at the Kaanapali Villas in December. Staff was great. Started off with a nice chat with the front desk as we checked in about 9 p.m. Room was clean and the view was great. Best was the beach right out in front. We took a long walk on the beach board walk every night. Snorkeled with turtles at black beach and again at the beach in front of the resort. BBQ area was wonderful and grills cleaned every night. Saw whales from the shore. would stay here again for sure. right next to Westin without the high price. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NativeNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you want to stay in your grandparents retirement home, this is the place for you. Our "ocean view" was okay but our balcony was small and no room for chairs let alone standing room. Our room was decorated in a 1970's style. The bed was hard as concrete so we slept on the pull out sofa, not too much better. I will say the room was very clean, but overall the hotel staff had poor customer service skills. Housekeeping may or may not make it to your room before 5:00 pm. Everyday it's a surprise. The front desk appears to view the guests as an inconvenience. Oh and if you want to park, good luck with that. On average we were about 40 parking spots away from our building. The beach is great. The pool is filled with little children especially the hot tub. If you want to stay at an inferior resort, stay here. If not, spend a little more and go to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khust11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Aloha,
I have been thinking about how to respond to your posting. It is clear that our facility was not up to your expectations and I want to apologize for that. We obviously want all our guests to have a great time while they are here and we were not able to do that for you. If you have an opportunity to reply to this email I would like to know which room you were in so I can take a look at the bedding that your letter refers too. I am not sure at this point if the unit you stayed in was provided by Aston (the company I work for) or through another channel. I was most disappointed to hear that our Front Desk team was not attentive to your needs. I will definitely discuss your comments with them. I would like to address your comments in comparing us to some of the more commercial and modern resorts in our area. You are right that there is a significant price difference between our property and most of our Kaanapali competitors. Our property offers an excellent value for customers who want a kitchen in a low density, beach front resort. I am sorry that we were not what you had hoped for. If I can be of any assistance, please contact me.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had booked a condo at Kaanapali Villas at appx 5 mo in advance and paid a deposit and when we went to check in, at 10PM we were told that we had been moved to another facility down the road. They sent us on our way to The Whaler with instructions for turns but failed to tell us how to get into the parking lot as there was a gate blocking it that required a code. We went to a neighboring hotel who told us how to use the gate. We loved the Whaler and would recommend it to all! When we checked out we were told to go back to the Villas to check out and get our paperwork and the desk clerk had no idea how to get us a receipt. This facility left us with a terrible perception and we would never recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Book at the Whaler not the Villas and you will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Aloha,
Please allow me to start off by apologizing for the circumstances that lead to you being relocated. This was our error and we are very sorry that this was how you started your holiday on Maui. We choose the Whaler for your relocation because it is one of our very best properties and wanted you to receive our best possible alternative. The Whaler is a higher rated property than ours and we wanted it to be an upgrade for you to offset the inconvenience. You said in your posting that you loved the Whaler, so it sounds like that was a good choice. I am sorry that you were frustrated with the process. We took the best steps available to minimixe your frustration, but we were not completely sucessful. I hope that you will see that we took positive steps and did our best to turn a challenging situation around. I also hope that you will consider our property again in the future so we can show you what a great resort we have. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of service.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstreviewqwert
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The positives outweigh the negatives, but first I will get the negatives out of the way - We stayed here with a wedding party and some people in our group were not given the rooms we originally requested and paid for in advance, so the management refunded us the difference, which is good but we were disappointed that they could not accommodate our requests which were made 5 months in advance. So if it is important to you to get a specific type of room, for example ocean view, then you should not stay here because they do not guarantee you will get that room. We even contacted the hotel in advance to confirm our room was ocean view and when we got there they apologized they didn't have any ocean view available. This happened to other guests in our party as well. The only other negative is each unit is owned individually and therefore you don't know what to expect because some have been updated with amazing upgrades and others are so outdated. We looked at 5 other rooms that our friends had and there was a wide variety of styles.
On to the positive, which far outweigh the above complaints. The people who work at this resort are amazing. Some of them have been there for decades. My favorite was Joe... he is so friendly and nice. The cost of this resort is very fair and reasonable. The location is excellent - lots to do and see within 20 minutes driving. The resort is clean, comfortable, and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstreviewqwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Kaanapali Villas- the hotel was exactly what we wanted- right on the beach, next to nice, newer, mega resorts but for half the cost. The room decor was average- nothing special but not a turn off. We had a full kitchen and the room walked out to a beautiful view of the "quiet pool". The bed was comfortable and in general the place was very clean.

Every morning we walked/ran on the beach walk and had breakfast at the Castaway Cafe restaurant. The food was pretty good and prices very reasonable (very much like the midwest).

There is supposed to be a trolley that comes by the hotel on the hour, but we never used it. The hotel is just one mile from Whaler's Village and we walked there every day. From there, you can take a bus into Lahaina, so we never needed a rental car. We only stayed for 5 nights but if our stay would've been much longer I think we would have needed a car.

Most of the other guests were over 40. In fact, 60 may have been the median age. The pool was never crowded, it was always nice and quiet, you could always get a lounge chair or a spot in the hot tub and everything was very mellow. This made for an incredibly relaxing vacation. That's a long way of saying if you're looking for nightlife or looking to meet young singles this is definitely not the place for you.

For us, the price was right, the hotel was just nice enough and we'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Food in Maui is expensive! We saved a lot of money by using our kitchen to reheat leftovers and eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mandys1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Like others have said, every room is different so there is a definite lack of consistency. Our kitchen was not well supplied for plates, cooking utensils etc. They have beautiful barbecues that you can use but our unit didn't have a set of tongs to even flip with meat with! Our unit was 512 in the Aloha Tower.
If you can get a room near the main pool, that is definitely the best spot for families.
The staff was very good and very friendly. One of the gentlemen (he was a bit older-I didn't get his name) at the front desk was so sweet with my daughters. He had just popped a bag of popcorn for himself but when my girls started salivating, he gave it to them. As others had said in their reviews, don't be afraid to ask to see other suites. We looked at another one upon check-in but wound up going with the one we were assigned after all.
I think for the location, it's a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Property: Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing