We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveler rating
607
432
118
77
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
432
118
77
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaway cafebanyan buildingcoconut buildingaloha towerfull kitchenblack rockgarden viewwhalers villagefree trolleysmaller poolbeach walkmain buildingtwo queen bedsgreat beachonsite restaurantstudio condogeneral store
Filter
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Fantastic location, great accommodation. We had 1bed with twin bed apartment - very clean, everything in it you could ask for. Great accommodation for families. Privately owned and owners have gone the extra mile to have everything you need at your fingertips.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Aloha TravellingTia88,

Mahalo for choosing the Maui Ka’anapali Villas for your Hawaiian vacation! We appreciate your remarks on our property and your accommodations and are excited to know that you enjoyed your time at the Villas! We totally agree, the Villas is located on one of the best spots on Ka'anapali beach. Our owners and staff are among the best on Maui and as you mentioned, go out of their way to make our guest’s expriences awesome. We look forward to welcoming you and your ‘Ohana back to the Maui Ka’anapali Villas again soon!

Ā Hui Hou Aku
(Until We Meet Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Overall our stay at Aston Maui Villas was very enjoyable; this is primarily based on the company and the location of the hotel, not the hotel itself. We arrived at about 10:30PM on a Sunday, and were exhausted from a long day of traveling. There was a significant wait to get checked in (about 20 minutes) because there was only one front desk agent. Once we arrived at our room, we were horrified. We were put in a room that was totally outdated (nothing like the photos posted online) on the fifth floor, with nothing separating us from the Highway 30 except the one lane parking lot. It was so loud, we were ready to checkout. The front desk agent offered us a couple other room choices, but all only had Queen size beds. My boyfriend is 6’6 and was not going to sleep in a bed too small for him on vacation. After several requests we were finally offered a King size room (Not sure how it magically became available). By the time we got into the room, it was about 11:30PM. The room was drastically different from the previous, completely remodeled with a Lanai. The only complaint we had about the room itself was the old squeaky mattress, it was like sleeping on springs. The rest of the facility was very clean, and the general store in the lobby was very convenient and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. The restaurant was a little bit better than a Denny’s, pricing also reasonable, but definitely offered the best ocean views in the entire hotel. Also, the location of the hotel was very convenient. It was nestled in between a few major areas, but far enough away that the beach was not very crowded. This hotel would be a good selection for families, as the condo style rooms with a kitchen were in the best locations in the hotel, centered around the pools and the ocean. The few hotel rooms that they had were basically stuck in the corners. All said in done, the hotel was reasonable, but we would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review because it is through feedback from our guests that we can truly get a feel for how we are doing. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the overall quality of our facility and our wonderful beach front location. This truly is a special place!

Dear Lil_TJ,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali!

Please accept my sincerest apology for the initial room we assigned you not meeting your expectations. The category you booked and were assigned was our “Hotel Room” category. I was glad to read that once we became aware of your dissatisfaction with the category you booked we had the availability to upgrade you free of charge into our Studio category. As you point out above our Studio apartments are very spacious, equipped with a full kitchen, great for small families, and are perfect for longer stays. The majority of the units here at the Maui Kaanapali Villas are Studios, one and two bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens and all the conveniences of home.

I thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences while staying with us and apologize again for our missing the mark during your arrival. I'm glad to know that that once we got your room situation worked out you were able to enjoy your stay! I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to redeem ourselves by serving you again someday, until then I wish you all the best!

Mahalo nui loa,

Michael J. Sands
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband, 10 month old son and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011. We came to Maui for a wedding held in Lahaina, and the Aston hotels were recommended as a mid-range hotel chain by the couple. Since we knew we wouldn't be spending a ton of time at the resort, we just wanted something affordable and nice, but not with a ton of resort amenities which you pay for. This particular hotel appealed to us because of its proximity to Lahaina and because it had been recently updated and looked like it had a nice pool and a kitchen in each of the units. We originally booked directly with the hotel, but checked VRBO the week before we were arriving and noticed this unit was available. We contacted the owners who immediately wrote us back and allowed us to rent it for a shorter time period than the normally required 1 week, and they even knocked $20 off the nightly rate since it was short notice, which made the cost of staying in this 1 BR just $25 higher than what we would have paid the hotel for a studio. Great deal!

The condo was clean, airy and we appreciated the updated kitchen and bathroom! The kitchen was completely stocked with any kitchen utensils/glassware/etc you would need, though we only ate breakfast here each day. The view was great, I loved that we had a water view, though it was mostly of the pool - you could only somewhat see the ocean behind the pool. But it was pretty none-the-less. Huge patio which we sat on every day once our son went to sleep. (Unite 291)

The only problem we had was with the Property Management company that the owners use (Whalers Realty Management). One downside of doing VRBO is that you don't get to call the hotel for pool towels, a crib or high chair. We ended up having to rent these separately from a furniture rental company. This added $15 to our daily costs which we had not anticipated. When I asked the Property Mgt company about needing a crib, she said she would look into but we never heard back from her. When I contacted them again, the man who answered gave me the names of two local companies which we used. When we checked our credit card bill after we left Hawaii, we saw another charge from the Property Mgt company - turned out it was for a Pack n Play that they had ordered for us. They never confirmed this with us, we thought it came with the unit after all. Also, when we inquired about a late checkout (we took a redeye home) they were not helpful and didn't even offer us the option to pay for it. They refunded us the money for the Pack n Play, but I will never rent a VRBO on Maui again if they are the management company.

Room Tip: Stay in the Emerald building, great pool views.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EGinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Aloha EGinDC,

Thank you for choosing the Maui Ka’anapali Villas for your Maui vacation. We are pleased to know that you found our facility comfortable and close to, but not too close to the hustle and bustle of Lahaina town and were able to enjoy your time with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us at the Maui Ka’anapali Villas for your family’s next Island getaway and that you may consider booking your vacation with the Aston resort rental program. Like owners who rent their units via VRBO we also offer hotel rooms, spacious studios, one and two bedroom units with fully equipped kitchens. In addition to our beautiful and wide selection of rooms, the Aston rental program provides various resort amenities which enable our guests to relax during their time with us. Things like pool towels, daily maid service and 24 hour on-site staff members willing and able to help with anything you need. We have no minimum or maximum length of stay which allows us to accommodate guests who wish to stay for one night or a couple weeks and have an excellent website, awesome on-site reservation staff and central reservation staff dedicated to helping our guests get the best experience possible at the Maui Ka’anapali Villas. Be sure give us a call when planning your next Maui vacation, we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you and your ‘Ohana in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Kaanapali villas for 10 days and it lived up to the reviews. Although it was among the least expensive of the places on the beach, the grounds and buildings were very well maintained and attractive. The personnel were very helpful and attentive. The beach was a little small, but you only had to walk a few yards up or down the beach to get to a wider part. Two pools kept you cool if you didn't want to go to the beach or you could relax on the lawn overlooking the beach. The Castaway restaurant served good food at reasonable (for Maui) prices. A free shuttle went to Whaler's Village every 30 miutes. One bonus was the west-looking view of the sunset - beautiful. we'd go there again in an instant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Aloha SCBill,
Mahalo for choosing the Maui Ka’anapali Villas for your Maui vacation. Thank you for the awesome review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us! We appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding our facility and grounds, our owners and staff have been hard at work the last few years making some wonderful improvements to the property and are glad to know their hard work has paid off! We hope to welcome you back to the Villas again for another awesome vacation one day soon.

Ā Hui Hou Aku
(Until We Meet Again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were fortunate enough to get 8 days here as a "prize" in a silent auction so we paid well below the going rates - I suspect full fare is probably among the priciest resorts and so the value equation might be a lower given the relatively small size and limited amenities, but not to take away from our experience.. What we experienced was a really nice small resort on a perfect strip of beach in West Maui just north of the town of Lahaina. This was our first trip to Maui so we can't compare it to other properties. These are condo units, often rented out on behalf of the owners by the management. Ours had two bedrooms each with en suite, and critically a kitchen. With the price of eating out being about 15-30% higher than a comparable meal in our home state of Minnesota, the availability of the kitchen saved us a fortune on meals, because we were able to make several breakfast, lunches and dinners. Tip: go to Costco in Kahului and stock up - the local Safeway in Lahaina was very overpriced. If you don't make it to Costco, go North on hwy 30 to the Time grocery store (2 lights north of the Villas) - prices are much more reasonable there for groceries than in Lahaina.

The resort was small - I didn't count but probably 200 units in a variety of configurations. They had a Mai Tai reception on thursdays, and free coffee very morning. The staff were friendly and helpful. The store onsite like any hotel store was expensive but helpful if you're short on something. The Castaway Cafe by the pool area served great drinks and breakfasts (we did not try lunch or dinner there), and the onsite excursion staff helped us book our key events. We had a specific condo unit on the 1st floor which worked out great - I wasn't worried about the view since we only had to walk 100 yards if that to the pool and beach, but if you want a beach view, there would only be a few units (west looking) to choose from.

Overall, we would go back here in a heartbeat, if we could get a good rate. The resort was right on a very nice strip of beach - apparently one of the best beaches in Maui. The water was clear (although no fish to see). If you have younger children, be aware that the beach drops off from paddling depth in the surf to 5-6 feet deep in the space of 2-3 lateral feet from shore, and the backwash from the surf was very strong. Our 10/11 year olds thought it was great fun, but younger kids might not relish being dragged under a wave. And the sand gets in EVERYTHING so be prepared to spend a lot of time in the shower!

Overall this was a great place and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Aloha wiltshs,

Mahalo for taking the time to give positive feedback on your stay with us at the Maui Ka’anapali Villas! Experiencing the beauty of our Island is a definite must and we are happy to have been able to be a home away from home for you and your family while on Maui. Not everyone is privy to how beneficial renting a condo instead of a standard hotel room can be. As you now know, our spacious studios, one bedrooms and two bedrooms are equipped with full kitchens which affords our guests the option of dining in or out; great for families, guests on a budget or those who prefer to cook for themselves. We absolutely take pride in our property and are excited when our guests recognize all that the Villas has to offer, thank you! As you mentioned, our amenities include the One Stop general store, perfect for last minute items or small souvenirs, our very own ocean front Castaway Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner (next trip try the Sosume Pie) as well as the Beach Shack which provides anything from snorkel gear to beach cabanas for fun on the exclusive Ka’anapali Beach—we’ve had recent honu (turtle) and fish sightings right on our beach so you must come back to check them out! Thank you for your kind comments on the Aloha Spirit of our staff and our free weekly Mai Tai party, definitely a hit! Be sure give us a call when planning your next Maui vacation, we look forward to serving you and your ‘Ohana again soon!

Ā Hui Hou Aku
(Until We Meet Again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews